Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon

West Bay Promenade, Dunoon, PA237HU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Paul Nelson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st December 2017

A really good value 2 night break over the New Year. Staf very helpful and friendly, great to see the owners rolling their sleeves up and helping out. Lots of effort put in to make it it a special occasion; piper/toasting the haggis, dancers, pier and fireworks at midnight. Only negative was the singer who assumed everyone liked the music he did from the 1950's and 60's. Guests might well have been in their 50's and 60's but like music from the 80's onwards!! Cannot fault the hotel though for the price paid.

Cathryn Crawford said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2017

My husband and I had a lovely stay. A pretty room with sea view that you just can’t buy and the staff were great and really friendly. The food wasn’t fancy but it was very good for the price. Breakfast was very good. Some parts of hotel are a bit tired and old fashioned but they are obviously refurbishing as our room was lovely. I would definitely return. A wee gem.

Janet Crombie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The staff were excellent and the food was very good. We stayed in room 308 next to venue hall. It was a nice clean twin room and although it was noisey with the entertainment we didn't bother, as we were on holiday to enjoy, as others were. My mum and I will return.

Alan Butterfield said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2017

All very good and staff very pleasant and helpful

Maria Butcher said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2017

We had a very enjoyable weekend at the Esplanade with our family, twelve of us in total. The hotel was busy but nothing was too much trouble, the rooms are comfortable and very clean, the food and service was excellent. Great value for the money.

george mcveigh said...

50%
30%
70%
50%

Stayed 18th August 2017

although room (366)was clean and tidy and had recent paintwork caried out,it was still a bit dated.we didn`t like the strict meal time of 7pm exactly.the staff were all very friendly and helpful and breakfast was pretty good.

lilian mcpheators said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2017

Hotel was booked for 2 nights with luxury accomodation , which included a four poster bed , this was the main reason it was booked as it was for a 30th wedding anniversary, very disappointed when arriving that we didn't have this , it was just an ordinary bed , when i complained to reception i was told they only have 3 luxury suites and the room with the 4poster had already been booked before i made my booking , yet on my booking form it states that i had a luxury suite with four poster bed , receptionist told me there was nothing more she could do as the hotel was fully booked , i paid £208 for my 2 night stay which l felt wasn't worth the money as the suite wasn't what was advertised ,

Thomas Millar said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th June 2017

Although hotel was not the standard that we had booked, the hotel was very clean and rooms were nice. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2017

Fabulous weekend at the Esplanade. All the staff from reception, restaurant staff and lovely barmaid all very professional and welcoming. lovely food and a sea view room. Would recommend a bar or waitress staff in the upstairs entertainment room.

Maureen McCallum said...

37%
60%
40%
10%

Stayed 28th May 2017

Very dissapointed in hotel .Arrived at hotel 3.45 pm given keys to room which was still dirty ,unmade beds dirty towels in bathroom and rubbish in bin .Went to reception and was allocated another room .We went on DBB basis fortunately I took booking form with me as we were questioned in front of entire dining room if we had paid for it .I had to go to room to get paperwork I have never been so embarrassed .Dinner consisted of a piece of paper on table where we had to tick our choice of meal 3 starters 3 main and 3 desserts .Food choice not good .At breakfast next morning we almost had a repeat of the night before but for the waitress remembering us.Unfortunately breakfast wasnt any better I order juice fruit and toast with scrambled egg which all arrived on tray at same time

Evelyn Davidson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2016

Went for a short midweek break at a great price. We had a great room 344. The view was excellent. The food excellent(you must try the fish pie), and the staff very friendly. Breakfasts brilliant, plenty to choose from. Lovely walk into town. We went to the Isle of Bute and really enjoyed it. Dunoon Castle worth a visit which is a short walk from hotel. Would definitely go back.

Gordon Meiklejohn said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2016

Hotel was a wee bit dated but it did add to the charm of the place , beautiful gardens , room spotless and very spacious and could not fault the service, food and customer care would diffently return only downside was trying to find it in the first place

Mrs Shelbourn said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd September 2016

A really friendly hotel. The staff did all they could to help make our visit excellent. The rooms were all clean and well equipped. The food was very good with a good choice. My only slight disappointment was the way my husband's coeliac disease was not catered for initially. He needs gluten free food and this was requested when I booked. For the first day he just was expected to miss out the food that had gluten with no alternative offered. This meant no roll with his soup, no sauce with his meat, no toast for breakfast. By the second day things were much better.

Lindsay Patrick said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 3rd September 2016

Lovely hotel. Room OK, on 3Rd floor right next to lift which wasn't a problem until bus load of people had early checkout at 6am and we're standing right outside our door. Decoration wise the room was clean but a little dated. Food was really nice and the service was good.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th August 2016

not pleased at having an old fashioned shower we coud not get it to work they had get a plumber to fix the boiler surely in this day in age they should have electric showers the receptionist said you have to request it

Mrs Lawless said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 13th August 2016

For the price Hotel was great onour first vist we had a great room with a great view at front of hotel, our second visit the room was fine but very small all right for a couple of days. only comment is the overflow car park which is a disgrace, I dont think it would take much to tidy it up, it is enough to put you off, I almost turned away the first time, but I am glad I did not as the hotel is fine. Staff are great.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th August 2016

Staff very nice pleasant stay at the hotel.

tracey west said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 4th August 2016

Horrific!!!! I'm not one to complain, but from "restaurant" staff arguing with customers regarding beans,being told to eat the toast(one slice) i have before ordering more, to previous guests rubbish left in the room, 1 hand towel and one bath towel for two, guests being allowed to create mayhem on the 2nd floor for 6hours. Then when complaining to reception when checking out to be told from the receptionist "oh well"!!! I would not recommend this hotel. I would not recommend eating here, do not order soup, white vegetable soup which resembled wallpaper paste to a roast beef salad consisting of HAM, half a plate of iceberg lettuce, 4 small pieces of tomato and coleslaw, the chef needs sacked. Was maybe a cheap deal but i have paid less and got so much more from a hotel. Oh and penny pinching to the extreme is not having 4 screws in the door handles. This place could be an absolute GOLDMINE but choose to let staff speak to guests with the utmost disrespect, feed us food you would not get in a prison (as seen on TV), and allow potential good customers to walk away disgusted and horrified at wasting hard earned cash on that. Disgraceful. Oh well as they may say, that was my review. Must also thank them for my "thanks for visiting email" addressed to West!!! Classy establishment, no idea where all the good reviews came from.

Allan Robertson said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

excellent hotel staff were great as was the food and whisky.

STEVEN WILSON said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2016

great service and good rooms , first impression misleading as entrance is at the back of the hotel and car park was very busy but nothing at all to complain about over the two nights

A guest said...

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 17th July 2016

The hotel was very clean. Staff friendly, bar prices great. The only think I felt was the food could have been warmer.

audra baxter said...

80%
90%
100%
50%

Stayed 16th July 2016

In need of refurbishment. Although we asked for and got a refurbished room. We had a nice stay but won't return all staff were very good

bernard kelly said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th June 2016

lovely hotel staff were very good .i would go back only thing that ruin it was the weather

Mrs Lawless said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 24th June 2016

Hotel was great, but they need to tidy up spare car park

A guest said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 18th June 2016

had a pleasant stay, hotel could be doing with being updated a bit and the food was average.