Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

gerry mccanny said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 11th July 2019

stayed overnight whilst travelling to Lake district, stayed here twice before, it is now in new ownership and has been given a much needed revamp, friendly staff ,rooms much improved . Couple of points however, there is a lift but its at other end of hotel -a long walk for people with mobility issues then had to walk back the length of hotel to get to room. waited over 20 minutes after being seated for dinner till meal order taken. lastly when i went to check out next morning I was presented with a bill for 2 coffees charged to my room account at 4pm the previous day -a purchase not made by me and whilst it was resolved quickly it left me rather annoyed (enough to write about it here) jusch you bill at check out.

Irene Hewitson said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2019

we had a lovely break at hentland hall the gardens were amazing a lovely place to sit and relax.our check in was anytime after 2pm ,we arrived about 2.15 to be told our room was not ready would be about 15 mins .we were offered tea or coffee while we waited,it was about 2.45 when we were told our room was ready ,it was on the second floor .we asked if there was a lift the receptionist said no i will get you a room on the first floor minutes later she came with the keys for room 109 the room was amazing /out of this world we could not have asked for anything more.we were asked if we needed help to our room.Dinner was included in the deal and it was great only tiny fault was with breakfast in the morning the bacon was cold i did mention it to the waiter 2 mins he returned with another rasher it was still cold ,i just left it a that ,i probably should have said more because full breakfast was quite cool, The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and very helpful,we hope to return in the future

CHRISTINE ANDERSON said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th July 2019

Beautiful surroundings and close to Dumfries, Gretna and Carlilse. Food was good and good choice for breakfast don't think you should have to pay extra for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and other breakfast specials,been to lots of hotels who have this on the menu included. A note for disabled. There is a ramp at the front which takes you to a tiled area to enter at the side. This is ok if in a wheelchair but husband uses 2 sticks due to a disability and he slipped twice on the tiles because of the rain. A handrail at the front door would have made thinks much easier. Staf very helpful and friendly.

Geoffrey Leatherland said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2019

enjoyed all aspects of this hotel.the staff couldnt do enough for you the food and bedroom where spot on i would recommend hotel and visit again.

Neil Robertson said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2019

The Hotel has had a major refurbishment and it is quite impressive. The rooms were lovely and to a high standard. In general the staff were really nice and helpful, but at breakfast there was one lady member of staff who had obviously got out of the wrong side of the bed and didn't appreciate being asked if she could assist us. However this didn't detract from the overall experience. The food for both dinner and breakfast was very tasty. We will be back.

Murray Jamieson said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 7th July 2019

Lovely break check in a bit slow but otherwise lovely hotel and excellent food.

Janette Faulkner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th June 2019

Went here with some friends as a treat for a friends birthday. My husband and I have been three times before but my friends had not. We all thoroughly enjoyed our overnight with dinner and breakfast. We had superior rooms which are lovely with first class fittings and decor. Can’t wait to return.

Martin Feeney said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th June 2019

Lovely room and breakfast. Very good WiFi, free in all areas of hotel. Beautiful setting but also just off main road.

Janice Waugh said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th June 2019

Lovely Hotel room was excellent clean and tidy, we had dinner on first night And breakfast both mornings couldn’t fault anything we had an enjoyable stay.

lauren swanson said...

70%
80%
40%
90%

Stayed 16th June 2019

My partner and I stayed over for father’s day. It is a nice hotel, clean & modern, although we were extremely disappointed and have raised a complaint in return from our stay to the hotel and still awaiting a response 4 days on, due to the lift being broken and no one informing us of this prior to or on arrival when we asked where the lift was it was then when we were told it was broken and wouldn’t be fixed for a few days, being new parents to our 3month old baby isn’t ideal on a hotel stay to have to carry a pram, travel cot and luggage up stairs to our room as they do not have any rooms on the ground floor so I would recommend phoning ahead if you are staying at this hotel and need the lift to access your room as they don’t inform you of this and especially if you are travelling a distance to get there like myself I drove nearly 2hours to stay here and was disappointed to have travelled and to be faced with this inconvenience. It was more stress staying here than being at home I don’t need to climb stairs. The food and restaurant was nice although the restaurant service was a little slow and unorganised in regards to table service. We were asked by two different people to take our drinks orders and two other people to take our dinner orders. No one seemed to have a specific job which meant people were asking for orders when they have already been made. I hope to hear back from the hotel regarding my stay and hope this helps anyone planning a stay in the future either parents or anyone with a disability requiring a lift so they don’t have a wasted drive.

Hugh Duddy said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hetland hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly couldn't do enough for you. We had dinner both nights and the food was very good. We will certainly go back.

Andrew Thomas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2019

First visit but we will be back stayed before the rad group took it over but what a difference so up to date with decor,rooms so comfortable food and service could d not have been better,

sarah deacon said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th May 2019

Staff amazing, couldn’t do enough for you. Rooms spacious and clean and finished to high standard. Amazing views around hotel. Only slight room for improvement could be a wider choice for veggies on the set evening meal. However food was lovely

linda nicolson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2019

Excellent hotel. Really very comfortable and the food was great as were the staff so friendly and helpful. Can’t wait to have another stay.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2019

Great hotel and staff very welcoming and nothing is to much Hassel , food was fantastic , room was beautiful and we loved our stay defo be back

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2019

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds which were shown to their best advantage with the glorious weather we had during our stay. The owners are doing a fantastic job in restoring the hotel and the new wing which were in is really modern and fresh. I have only a couple of minor negative things to say 1. With an over the bath shower I think they really need grab rails to assist getting in and out. I know it’s probably not the look they are going for but given the age of most of our fellow guests it definitely needs consideration. 2. I am sure given that the showers are of the waterfall type most ladies would appreciate a shower cap to be provided. 3. This will possibly only be my view but what kind of glasses I have a drink out of is a very important part of my enjoyment of the drink. The gin glasses were absolutely spot on however the wine glasses in the dinning room were very disappointing. There should be room for your wine to breathe in the glass. It should not be filled to the brim. They were far too small to allow for full enjoyment of the wine. It little more attention to this area would be greatly appreciated by me at least. All in all we had a very enjoyable two night stay. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and always seemed happy and cheerful.

Gordon Mckinlay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2019

Staff,Room and food were all 1st class,thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay will definitely be staying in the near future again,next time will upgrade the room.

Mr Morgan said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 16th May 2019

We had a lovely night at Hetland Hall for our anniversary. Our room was clearly recently refurbished to a high standard and spotlessly clean. The staff were very welcoming and great to chat to and the food was great too.

craig scott said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th May 2019

rooms and meal was lovely and staff made you feel welcome

Jeanette Roberts said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th May 2019

lovely hotel, staff also attentive and only issue was in room design. In the room we stopped in the shower panel had been put in the wrong side so shower sprays out into shower room rather than being contained in the cubicle and only plugs are by the bed so unable to put up the ironing board

Brian Henderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th May 2019

lovely place, staff very helpful, beautiful scenery ,meals to die for, couldnt have asked for anything better

GEORGE SMITH said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th May 2019

We had the fortune to upgrade to a suite at a reasonable price ( 107 ) . All I can say is from check in to check out everything was as expected plus more . All staff members were very polite , cheerful , informative and very helpful , the room was of very high standard . The food was excellent , again this must be down to the produce used and the well trained chef or chefs . waiting staff very efficient , friendly and polite . Nothing was any trouble regardless of what you were asking . This is a definite must return too hotel .

Mrs Johnstone said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th May 2019

This is our 3rd time going to this beautiful place...we were really pleased with our room and how the decor has changed what a vast difference from our previous visits...staff are very helpful, informative and eager to please which is a positive...meals are beautiful too...would highly recommened a visit....as we will be back .

Elizabeth Watson said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Beautiful hotel and surroundings. We had a great stay.

john snelling said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2019

This hotel is excellent,it should have a 4 star rating.All the staff are helpful and obliging. All the pubic areas inside and outside ie gardens are are very clean and well maintained. Room 106 was excellent.