Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Claire Aitchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2018

Large, comfortable and clean room. Excellent evening meal and huge choice of breakfast options. Great, friendly service and perfect central location. Would book again.

Michael Hassan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2018

So first impressions on driving up to Hotel Colessio are what a lovely building , it was originally an old bank, and facia is very impressive, also being near to the Castle and other really interesting historical areas. Parking wad quick, and near to the entrance, a warm friendly smile welcomed us at reception, our room wasn't quite ready, we were 2 hours early after all. The weather was not that great at the time , so we decided to have lunch in the restraint, great choice, a lovely 3 courses, and some great wine really went down well after our drive to Stirling. We were advised that the room was ready just after 30 minutes, but we were so relaxed finishing off the wine, there was no rush. I would also thank the staff on at lunch for wonderful service again with a good smile. Our room was on the second floor, I had been anticipating a room with a "wow" factor, from looking at the website, and we weren't disappointed, our superior room, that I paid just a wee bit more for was fantastic. Large, and with very modern decor and facilities. An extremely comfortable king size bed, with lovely linen, also little touches like the coffee maker, Satellite tv, toweling robes, very comfortable lounge chaired all scored extra points. The bathroom was also very impressive, double size shower, deep luxury bath, baby soft towels, all lovely and immaculately clean. Later on we had booked a table for dinner, we were just so luck to be offered a booth, for what was a romatic trip away. The menus offered, again with a lovely smile, offered a great choice, I was impressed with the local produce choices offered, and some lovely sounded international dishes. The meal was fantastic, my duck was exactly pink, and my partners steak was perfectly done. Sweets and great wine all went down well, but the star of the show was the goats cheese starter, this was honesty one of the best starters I have every enjoyed. I would also like to mention, that the remaining cheese board that my patrner had for sweet was wrapped and taken to our room, and the young Italian girl, that was serving our table was a delight. So a few drinks at the bar, then off to enjoy a comfortable, relaxing evening in our room. Breakfast, fairly busy, but we were shown to our table really quickly, the fair was again a good mix of local and continental. Just a quick note, the porridge was really bad, sorry but it was I think the microwave type, and even then not cooked properly, so please show more love and attention to the porridge as you do to the brilliant meals at lunch and dinner. So I would highly recommend the hotel, and we will be back again in the very near future..10/10

Anne Mackay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2018

Excellent Hotel great location all staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom and wet room. Dinner and breakfast was very enjoyable and we look forward to staying again in the future.

Martin Ross said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th October 2018

Lovely hotel, with very friendly attentive staff, food good, so worth eating in. Modern decor in bar/restaurant not to my taste, but it’s a nice place in a central location.

Steven Dock said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2018

Great Hotel in prime location. Excellent value for money. Already booked again.?

Shirley Rawlings said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2018

Hotel and staff were lovely however, room was really small which made the stay uncomfortable. Food was amazing though in the evening and the location was fantastic. Tip:- when going for a walk cross over into Wetherspoons to get down the hill and when coming back up the hill go into weatherspokns ground floor use lift - hey presto your at the top of the hill opposite the hotel xx

A guest said...

57%
60%
70%
40%

Stayed 16th September 2018

Staff very pleasant. Rooms ( Club ) were okay if a bit on the small side. Evening service and food in restaurant very nice. Unfortunately breakfast service and food did not match the evening experience. Long waits for hot beverages and toast. Poor selection of fruit and bread ( sometimes not available at all )on breakfast buffet table. On second day we gave up waiting for a small order of eggs.

ELEANOR FERGUSON said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th September 2018

Lovely hotel. Room was small but adequate. Dinner was perfect and delicious. The breakfast let it down though. The bacon was brick hard and sausage was raw. Apart from breakfast we had a good stay. Staff were lovely.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th September 2018

This hotel has been on my bucket list for some time now and I wasn’t disappointed! It’s set in a beautiful part of Stirling town centre with many quirky pubs around and a 2 minute walk to the shops. Inside the hotel I was blown away with the decor, the bar is quite something and as for the restaurant, it’s so luxurious looking. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and I noticed that they were all young guys and girls working at this hotel. Was supposed to have a bottle of sparkly in my room as part of my package and it took 2 reminders before it arrived but that was ok and certainly nothing to seriously moan about. The room although small was clean, fresh and decorated beautifully carrying on the luxury theme from reception/restaurant. Complimentary shower products were nice and the soft towel robe was a nice touch. Dinner was very tasty although my partner struggled with the choices he picked the beef but that was off the menu. But again the staff were helpful and he chose a lovely steak which would have been out with our deal, but threw in two desserts for free. Had a fab sleep in the bed which was really comfortable and topped the stay off with a delicious breakfast. Needless to say I will be making space on my bucket list for another visit very soon....

Natalie Gray said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st August 2018

Lovely Hotel beautifully decorated, central location lovely food and friendly staff

Mrs Taylor said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2018

Beautiful hotel, staff very helpful and friendly. Evening meal and breakfast delicious. Will definitely be back for a second stay.

Marie Comrie said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 2nd August 2018

We had a fab couple of days here staff were just lovely and so friendly and making sure we were okay from Check in from Jack we had a fab time great bar, food was amazing and also have to say it was one of the nicest Afternoon Teas we booked for the friday such a nice treat :) so huge thank you from us and defo recommend and we will be back :) Marie & Bill Comrie 2nd and 3rd Aug

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2018

Lovely hotel staff really nice food and service great

Stuart Dobson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th February 2018

A very pleasant overnight stay, which we hope to extend next time. Stirling has lots of history so worthwhile for a visit.Impressed with the food and bar area, particularly with the attentiveness of one of the bar staff......think he was called Graham.We’ll be back!

E Paterson said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 29th October 2017

Breakfast was disappointing with a few standard items missing, Coco pops and Rice crispies? Not what we expected at a 5* hotel.

John Naughton said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th March 2017

my wife and i stayed at the hotel colessio on friday 24th march ,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, couldnt fault the food and service,the only quibble i would say was the size of the room which we felt was quite small

lorraine mcclaughlin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2016

Hotel was lovely, and staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't complain about anything.

A Martin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2016

Fabulous hotel, enjoyed every minute of our stay. Staf very friendly and helpful. Room clean, big and bright. Crisps and sweets never had that before. Dinner and breakfast wonderful. Only small negative was the very small car park, eventually got a space. Would certainly recommend this hotel and we will be back.

A Martin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2016

Fabulous hotel, enjoyed every minute of our stay. Staf very friendly and helpful. Room clean, big and bright. Crisps and sweets never had that before. Dinner and breakfast wonderful. Only small negative was the very small car park, eventually got a space. Would certainly recommend this hotel and we will be back.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2016

My husband and myself had a lovely stay in the hotel for our 5th wedding anniversay. All the members of staff we came across during our stay were friendly and pleasant. The only negative I have is that the room was quite warm during the night, we had to leave the windows open.

A guest said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2016

N/a

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd August 2016

Very nice and very good.

Patrick Doolan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2016

Beautiful hotel and lovely, cheerful and helpful staff. Second visit for us and will definitely be back. Had a beautiful room ,made better by a great deal.

William Malone said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2016

This was one of the most pleasurable short stays we have had. We were informed when booking in that the restaurant was very busy as it was Valentine's but we were delighted to find that the normal £25 per head meal rate had been increased to £30 which covered the price of the set menu.We arrived in our room which was very well decorated. Nice points were the glassware and ice-bucket in the room. We also had a bottle of wine waiting for us which was part of our booking arrangement. After unpacking we had a drink in the bar before getting ready for our meal. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and engaged in what was genuinely friendly conversation. My wife had a fantastic tail from the extensive selection. The meal was of an exceptional quality and I was delighted to have the half lobster without a supplement. We had a great sleep and went to breakfast. We were not disappointed. Self service for juice, cereals, yoghurt and fruit. The main breakfast choice was one of the most extensive we have had and was delicious. Without a doubt we shall be returning here. Thanks to all the staff and management. I would happily recommend to anyone.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th February 2016

Stayed with my husband for 1 night could'nt fault anything about the hotel.Very polite,friendly and attentive staff,very clean comfortable room.If I was being very picky the seats in the dining room are too low for the table but everything else spot on.Would recommend this hotel highly and look forward to a return visit.