Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hotel Colessio, Stirling

33 Spittal Street, Stirling, FK81DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

73%

Donna Byrne said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 15th August 2020

Extremely disappointed that we didn't receive the package that we paid for ,should have received strawberries, dipping chocolate,bathrobes etc and was told due to covid we couldn't get this although it's still being advertised, received wrong starter and was told would speak to chef and yet never came back to us,then received an email saying we should have got all of the above ?

kenneth beattie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2020

Great sray, no complaints at all... Lovely big and clean room, fantastic shower. Meals were excellent and piping hot, especially loved the black pudding on the cooked breakfast, was delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well, all in all a great couple of days away

David Purves said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2020

Very small double room . Could have upgraded to larger room, but why should we have to do this.

A guest said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2020

Hotel Colessio – A Luxury Hotel according to their own signage. A Boutique hotel according to their own website. We stayed here for one night recently in a King Deluxe Room on a DBB basis. Firstly, the staff are a credit to the hotel. Every single member of the team was polite and had just about the right level of attention. The only problem is, with them wearing masks and no staff uniform being worn, it was sometimes difficult to tell the staff from the guests. The dinner again was great. Everything was cooked perfectly and there were 2 empty plates after each of the 3 courses. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel though was rather dated. Not the “luxury” you’d expect unless you want to go back to the 80’s. And so we come to the room. Dated with wooden furniture that wouldn’t look out of date in a UK Budget chain hotel. Door s on wardrobe and drawers which twirl. (Need tightening up). A large stool under the mirror with a hole in it. A plastic bath plug because the one that should be there which goes up and down with the closure mechanism was missing. A gap under the door which, at night, allows so much light in you have to use a bath towel to block the light out. A mattress that has seen better days with hard pillows. Hall carpet that’s fraying in places. This isn’t luxury or boutique! When this hotel originally opened in 2014 I would imagine it was all “wows” but now it seems it has become a hotel where dated décor comes to die. A victim of it’s own former success? Probably, but still charging prices as if it was the “Luxury” or “Boutique” hotel it once was.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th August 2020

Great hotel well sited for castle and town centre. Felt safe to stay in the present pandemic situation.

A guest said...

44%
10%
70%
50%

Stayed 10th August 2020

dull dingy room .No room for table so it was outside in corridor with chair.Lighting in corridor awful.Invoiced for King Deluxe PLUS.Not even as good as a standard room.Rooms not serviced so had to ask for new paper cups for tea.Food average at dinner and had to ask for everything at breakfast butter, sugar brick hard in packets ,orange juice, tea to be topped up.1marmalade and1jam between the both of us.Coronovirus is not an excuse for bad service.Better to stay closed.Have complained to hotel.

Jacquilyn Smith said...

57%
70%
70%
30%

Stayed 2nd August 2020

Hotel was fine but the breakfast was very very poor. I appreciate that times are different but given only a choice of one type of cooked breakfast is not good enough - not so bad if it was good but was very poor quality. This will not encourage future stays. I’d fully recommend a bigger choice ( even a choice!) - and possibly returning to a buffet where staff can serve it into your plate. We also felt that the meal on first night was not chef quality - obvious the chef was on duty the second night as meal in different league.

Jacquilyn Smith said...

57%
70%
70%
30%

Stayed 2nd August 2020

Hotel was fine but the breakfast was very very poor. I appreciate that times are different but given only a choice of one type of cooked breakfast is not good enough - not so bad if it was good but was very poor quality. This will not encourage future stays. I’d fully recommend a bigger choice ( even a choice!) - and possibly returning to a buffet where staff can serve it into your plate. We also felt that the meal on first night was not chef quality - obvious the chef was on duty the second night as meal in different league.

Patricia Mitchell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2020

Lovely hotel.Staff were attentive,friendly & nothing was too much trouble.only slight niggle was our deal included a glass of bubbly with strawberries & chocolate on arrival.We had to ask for both.However this did not spoil our stay.Food was well presented & delicious.Would definitely return & recommend

Catherine McCool said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2020

Hotel was lovely , staff lovely too , location great , food really nice , but they do skimp on the breakfast could have well ate more ?also service was a bit slow

Wilson McQuade said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2020

Just had a one night break and everything was perfect.The staff were exceptional from the front desk to the breakfast service.Room was spotless and the bed was perfect

Wilson McQuade said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2020

Just had a one night break and everything was perfect.The staff were exceptional from the front desk to the breakfast service.Room was spotless and the bed was perfect

A guest said...

34%
30%
40%
30%

Stayed 16th February 2020

Hotel was not 4 star in my opinion. Had a distinct average feel. Staff shortages didn’t help and restaurant experience disappointing. Won’t return.

Patrick Doolan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Our 3rd visit to this hotel, great location, friendly & helpful staff & lovely food, definitely be returning.

Roger Dart said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Great location at good price. Hotel well appointed but breakfast service slow and disappointing! Room comfortable but very warm.

Mary Hendry said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st December 2019

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here on Saturday and were so glad we did. The hotel staff were so friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. Due to this we will definitely be staying again.

Hazel Culbert said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2019

The hotel was very beautiful with a contemporary and well finishef room. Staff were warm and friendly at both reception and in the hotel restaurant .. they couldn't do enough for you. The food was also excellent; I expected it to be much more expensive than it wad due to the star rating and calibre of the hotel so wad pleasantly surprised. Even discovered they have a menu offering 2 courses for £16 and 3 courses for £20 .. will definitely be back for a meal and for another night away. Highly recommend this hotel.

Emma Rattray said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Our room was a bit small however was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was really spacious. Food was lovely and bar and restaurant area was decorated to a high standard. Staff very attentive and friendly. Only complaint was checking out the following morning, only one woman checking out which resulted in us waiting in quite a long queue. Manager said she was the only one trained on the computer so would suggest other individuals are also trained to ensure this process is smooth and less time consuming.

isabella darge said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st December 2019

Lovely clean hotel room was nice and clean also although our room was rather small and as it was on the ground floor and looked onto the function room garden and we had to keep curtains closed which was not so good as the lighting in the room was very poor as only one little spot light on ceiling

A Quinn said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Very central hotel, Reception staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Food was very good and the £25 allowance gave us a 3 course meal from the table d'hote menu. There was a slight problem with kitchen staffing and our meal was delayed but the waiter was most apologetic.

A guest said...

34%
40%
40%
20%

Stayed 29th November 2019

I’m afraid this hotel did not live up to expectations. I’m not sure what room we had but it was definitely not spacious. The large (and very uncomfortable) bed took up most of room and I was glad I only had an overnight bag. The bathroom was a bit better and more spacious! Although a lot of cracked tiles and a sink plug that didn’t work. The restaurant really let the place down however. Almost 1/2 hr wait for cold starters, my steak wasn’t great and when I mentioned to the manager she didn’t even apologise or attempt to recompense. Several tables around us were complaining too. At breakfast we had to ask for toast and it was a few minutes before waitress told us where to find breakfast items. Plates were cold and range not fab. This was the third hotel we stayed at and in comparison the worst. We wouldn’t return.

Linda Jackson said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

This was a lovely hotel and rooms were nice. Unfortunately we were on dinner bed and breakfast and although meal was lovely service was awful. It took over 2 hours to get dinner and it was not overly busy. We’re told they were short staffed but still not acceptable. Breakfast was pretty poor with no one informing us that there was an option of fried or poached eggs so therefor the only choice was runny scrambled eggs. Asked 3 times for toast and was told each time it would be 2 or 3 minutes after 20 minutes wait at 3rd time of asking decided not to bother. This was a shame really and spoilt our stay.

Linda Jackson said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

This was a lovely hotel and rooms were nice. Unfortunately we were on dinner bed and breakfast and although meal was lovely service was awful. It took over 2 hours to get dinner and it was not overly busy. We’re told they were short staffed but still not acceptable. Breakfast was pretty poor with no one informing us that there was an option of fried or poached eggs so therefor the only choice was runny scrambled eggs. Asked 3 times for toast and was told each time it would be 2 or 3 minutes after 20 minutes wait at 3rd time of asking decided not to bother. This was a shame really and spoilt our stay.

A guest said...

40%
50%
N/A
30%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

hotel decor was lovely and staff helpful. Bedroom was very small with no space to put clothes or suitcases. Restaurant food was poor.

CAROLINE MCMAHON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was my 60th and we had 5 rooms on a DBB deal . The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was just great the breakfast was cooked there and then not buffet which we all liked. We will definitely be back.