Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Scotlands Spa Hotel, Pitlochry

40 Bonnethill Rd, Pitlochry, PH165BT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Matthew Smart said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2016

Nice room and facil, food was great, stayed in 303 unfortunately the lift was broken on first day this improved my steps for the day,10000 easily reached. Staff very friendly and no rush getting you out the restaurant. Will stay again

Karen Gammie said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2016

Our stay was lovely and our room was great. Very spacious and clean. Meals were beautifully presented and there was a fine selection at breakfast. Something for everyone. Only criticism was the position of the leisure facil in relation to the dining room as you were often eating your evening meal and users of the pool etc would walk through the dining room. There is also strong smell of fish that lingers in the dining room. Apart from that I have no complaints and my mum and I had a great 2 nights staying here. Will definitely be back.

Aileen Jamieson said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2016

Great location very near the high street and about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. We booked a twin room but were given a lovely big family room overlooking the town, railway etc. The room could benefit from a couple of minor repairs before the winter season e.g. hole in window frame, hole on inside of door and also a slightly annoying flickering light in the bathroom but overall a very comfortable and spacious room with tv, hairdryer, ample towels and tea and coffee etc. Limited toiletries provided. The quality of the food served at breakfast and dinner was excellent with compliments to the chef but this hotel is obviously short-staffed which saw some guests waiting too long to be served breakfast and no hotel lounge bars staffed at night. Our booking stated dinner was 6 courses but this was not the case, although in no way did we feel under-fed. We enjoyed using the jacuzzi and pool but unfortunately found it hard to get booked in for spa treatments, presumably due to lack of staff in the spa. The staff are very hard-working, welcoming and friendly at this hotel but are clearly working under a lot of pressure. This great hotel could be a superb hotel and hopefully Crerar will recognise this and take positive action.

Alexander Watson said...

44%
50%
30%
50%

Stayed 12th September 2016

A very mixed experience. We were allocated an executive room which was no more than average. It was not large and the toilet blind and window did not operate. The dining experiences were likewise mixed. On the second night of our dinner we waited 1 hour between starter and main course before being served cod that was extremely dry and tasteless. I spoke to the duty manager who offered his apologies and said we would be compensated. We were not! We left before dessert. To be fair the third nights dinner was served promptly and was indeed very good. Breakfast was also very mixed with slow service but good food. In my opinion the catering side is extremely under staffed and lacking leadership.

andrew sanders said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2016

Hotel a bit tatty - especially the lift and corridors a bit "fusty" ; but overall a very enjoyable stay made so by a superb staff - I hope they are being well paid ! - and very tasty and interesting food at a reasonable price. Chapeau to the chef !

Mrs Adam said...

47%
50%
20%
70%

Stayed 9th September 2016

Food was good and well presented .Staff in dining room were pleasant enough but service was very poor They were very disorganised at breakfast and dinner. bedroom clean and comfortable apart from the bumping noise from pipes in bathroom when you turned on taps or flushed toilet.

MARILYN HAY said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th September 2016

hotel was nice & clean food was good staff were pleasant

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th September 2016

We enjoyed our time at The Scotland's Hotel. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, there was a good choice on the menu. I enjoyed a swim in the pool before checking out of the hotel. I was pleased to see there was a life guard on duty even although I was the only person in the pool. The pool area and changing room were spotless. The only comment I would make is that the residents lounge and bar area is a little old fashioned and could do with some TLC.

John Elliott said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2016

Hotel is old with character, very nice laid out restaurant serving good food.Staff were all very welcoming and willing to be of service.Rooms were corporate design lacking charm.Found shower unit on the small side,plenty hoer and very clean all over.Did lack a view but pleasant a big BONUS 2 chairs in the room.Only problem was the T.V signal vanished one night at 11.10pm.Would suggest STEAK KNIVES with your steak.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th August 2016

Hotel is a little tired. Staff are nice and seem to try to give good service, seems they are overworked which has impact on service.

Sisir Banerjee said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 7th August 2016

Brief comments: Accommodation: Nice room and bathroom Food: Breakfast -very good to excellent Dinner - good to very good Service: Could be better at dinner (I wonder if no. of staff is adequate at times) Bar: good but Men's toilet could be improved vastly

A guest said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Staff great. Dinner in resturaunt first night and food good. Food in bar night 2 and food good. Breakfast not good. Had the French toast.it was disgusting. Worst French toast ever. Greasy and not a hint of cinnamon at all. Room was clean. Pillows like bricks so glad had own. July and bar closed ! Had to use bar in the pub. Have been before and will go back again.

Anne Scott said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2016

The staff at this hotel are really brilliant. Our room was a bit small but the bed was comfortable. The shower wasn't great though. The food is great, we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Valerie Oddie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2016

Had a lovely weekend at Scotland's Hotel, the staff were very helpful and the bedroom in the annexe spacious and comfortable. All the meals were excellent and the waiting staff were very efficient. Had spa treatments as part of the package which were a real treat.

Tom Caird said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Pitlochry. We usually visit twice a year and stay at the Hydro, but decided to try Scotland's for a change. We look forward to our next visit, in late summer / autumn and may book with you again if the price is right. Regards Tom & Mary Caird

edward calvey said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2016

loved this hotel,some areas were a bit tired looking and in need of a little decoration. but all the staff were great very friendly and helpful.nice dinner and breakfast.good location. bar meals were excellent. would definitely stay here again.

jananne don said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd June 2016

just had two night stay at scotlands hotel.great time welcoming staff fabulous food especially dinner both nights.loved the pool and spa. definately coming back in the near future..

Linda Adam said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th May 2016

Good Location, leisure pool lovely but feler a bit chilly. Rooms well equipped but quite small so a bit stuffy to spend any time in. staff very friendly and helpful and food excellent! Overall would highly recommend but suggest upgrade to better room if available.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Rooms in need of upgrade but spacious. Food was excellent. Leisure facil extremely disappointing as gym is outdated and in poor repair with no treadmill.

A guest said...

74%
70%
60%
90%

Stayed 19th March 2016

Hotel is a bit dated, could do with a spruce up! Our room.was a suite which was nicely laid out with nice views but could do with a lick of paint. We had a problem with hoer which seemed to get colder as our stay went on!! The hotel in general lacked any atmosphere, none of the bars in the public areas were open other than the bar next door. The restaurant seemed more of a function suite but the food for dinner and breakfast was delicious. Service was a bit chaotic though! There is a nice spa at the hotel where we had a lovely back massage. The pool area has seen better days, was very dirty and never seen it once get cleaned or tidied up (pool toys, cups, chairs everyehere). Lifeguard just sits there staring at you swim, very uncomfortable!! Staff in general seemed a bit all over the place or came across quite rude!! This could be the making of a beautiful hotel with some TLC and better trained staff, such a shame as so much competition in the town.

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2016

Food was excellent, breakfast and dinner . Didn't seem to have enough waiting staff serving breakfast as we waited a while both mornings for our order to be taken . Room was nice as was the wine and chocs we were given !!

pauline mcmichael said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 13th March 2016

Just returned from a 2 night break which overall was great and excellent value for money. The staff were lovely, the rooms were lovely but some areas in the hotel are tired and in need of updating. Service in the restaurant could have been better, just a bit more organisation required.

George Davidson said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay especially the spa facil. Only a minor fault, it would have been nice if the bar was open longer than 9 pm .

A guest said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th January 2016

We were in the annexe which had water dripping through the door frames from roof, absolutely stank of dampness. Room was exceptable but certainly not executive upgrade they told us we were getting. Very disappointed. Booked in for two nights with dinner at McNabs on second night, reception should advise booking as it's extremely busy, we did but many had to wait for some time on tables. On a positive staff were very helpful & friendly, very hard working. Food was very enjoyable. But don't think I would go back. Had taken two other couples & felt a bit let down, stick to Fishers which I've booked with your selves for about the last six years & enjoyed our stays there

Heather Beekman said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 29th January 2016

Hotel clean enough, bathroom was tired looking though. Food and service first class.