Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

John Ian Stewart said...

74%
70%
100%
50%

Stayed 16th November 2016

Lovely setting. The entrance from the main road is in need of repair so drive slowly. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. If you are not a seafood lover then the restaurant is not the place for you. Bar meals are available all day and there are different options from the restaurant. Views in the morning from where breakfast is served are stunning

Elizabeth Burns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2016

Excellent hotel set in beautiful surroundings with fantastic views over Loch Fyne. Could not fault this hotel in any way, all staff very welcoming and polite, lovely warm room with all facil and comfortable bed, the food is absolutely delicious whether you eat in the dining room or have a bar meal and the breakfasts are superb! The whole character of the castle, especially at night is just magical. We will definitely be returning again.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2016

Lovely hotel and super location. Have visited many times and never tire of it. Food first class and staf very pleasant and helpful. Very comfortable bedroom with lovely outlook. Would highly recommend.

Douglas Cruden said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2016

Stayed 1 night(14/10/16)reception friendly, had to wait 30 minutes till our room(18) was ready, quite small with a lounge, first time we've had 2 TVs, one in the bedroom, and one in the lounge, tea & coffee tray, decent size bathroom with shower, as with the rest of the hotel, everything needs upgrading, but a very impressive building, it's been a very grand house in its day, and has a lot of the original fixtures and fittings, easily the best feature of Stonefield Castle is the food, we ate here at night, and our dinner was superb, great seafood, quite pricey, but well worth it, most of the staff are foreign , polish I think, but very attentive, also a great breakfast in the morning, very expansive grounds for walks, reaches right down to Loch Fyne, enjoyed our overnight, recommended.

A Legowski said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2016

Have stayed at this hotel many times before and it is still one of our favourites. From the minute we checked in the staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Hope it's not too long until we can come back.

Tom Scoular said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2016

Lovely setting with very helpful staff. Good choice of food available although we felt is was not always cooked to perfection. We would go back to his hotel without any hesitation.

Malcolm Holmes said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th April 2016

Very friendly staff and a most enjoyable stay. The food was excellent and the room was very comfortable with lovely views of the lochfyne.Thank you

campbell leslie said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2016

Everything about this hotel was exceptional, from the location overlooking Loch Fyne, to the service and the food. If you wish to holiday in this area, this is the hotel for you.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st February 2016

Another very comfortable stay with luxurious lounge areas and a nice log fire. Food was very good and a welcome addition to the bar is Loch Fyne beer.

Malcolm Stewart said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2016

Very comfortable stay in this stylish hotels. The log fires in the public rooms were much appreciated.

Pearl Gillespie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2015

Beautiful location, stunning views and pleasant walks around the hotel. Hotel warm and inviting, beautifully decorated for the festive season. Very comfortable lounges for relaxing. Cosy bedroom with sea view. Meals excellent. All hotel staff friendly, efficient and very helpful. All-in-all a great visit. Thank you.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2015

Can't fault our stay - food was especially good

Anne Cunningham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2015

My husband and I have enjoyed this hotel for short breaks for a few years. We have never been disappointed with the experience. Staff are lovely and the atmosphere is great. A very relaxing experience.

W Clark said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th November 2015

Stonefield castle is always good.

W Clark said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2015

This was our 4h stay at Stonefield casle and as always the food and service was first class

Malcolm Stewart said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2015

Another enjoyable stay in this very comfortable hotel.

Lesley Goodwin said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2015

Hotel staff and food as all brilliant

mabel morris said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff are brilliant and so very helpful. brilliant.

R Macleod said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2015

Outstanding views from the dining room on a beautiful sunny autumn morning only added to an enjoyable stay. Staff were very approachable and friendly.

Moira Corbyn said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th October 2015

Room very nice. Dinner excellent. Breakfast not so good, eggs like rubber, bacon unappetising. Standards of breakfast cooking at this hotel have virtually remained hit or miss for a long time. Waiting service and house staff very good.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2015

Excellent hotel . My only gripe is the potholes in the entrance road - need filled urgently before cars are damaged!

Jen Clarke said...

54%
50%
30%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2015

A warm welcome at the hotel which was lovely after such a long drive. The room was ok but I wouldn't go as far as describing it as a great room. Smaller and more dated than I expected it to be for the price that we paid.We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but had a few drinks in the bar upon our return. This was lovely and quiet. Unfortunately one of the female staff members came through and very openly 'moaned' about her working hours to the bar man and porter. It was evident that she wanted the bar closed ASAP - Incredibly unprofessional and unwelcoming. Breakfast was great and thoroughly enjoyed by the window overlooking the loch.

Stephen McCullagh said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 20th June 2015

We were very glad we got a refurbished room as the non-refurbished ones are desperately in need of upgrading. The public areas in the hotel are pretty run down too in places. The food was average at best and extremely over-priced. I'd have been very annoyed if I wasn't on the DB&B rate. The hotel staff were extremely nice, so no complaints there.

Angela Watt said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th June 2015

The restaurant had lovely views over the loch and the food was excellent. Staff were friendly and the service was good. Unfortunately we had not realised when we booked that this was a pet friendly hotel. As my husband has allergies to dogs and cats we are unlikely to return.

Andrew Evans said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 6th June 2015

Food was outstanding. As good as anything I have eaten in any Scottish hotel. Waiting staff very good. Front of house / reception staff OK, no problems. Bedroom in urgent need of a painting. For the money paid, the bathroom left a very poor first impression, though in fairness, it was spotlessly clean. I would stay here again.