Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Tina Walker said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th December 2017

We had a lovely time at this hotel and staff were so nice and so was the food and entertainment

A Legowski said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th November 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in what is a lovely hotel on a visit to see family.. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a superior room with a view and this was perfect. Staff very welcoming and helpful. and the food was delicious. We would certainly go back.

Tracy Lanaghan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2017

Our stay at the Argyll Hotel was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. The room we had was very comfortable. It was everything we hoped for. A good traditional Scottish getaway.

John Cowie said...

47%
30%
50%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2017

Room poor Food good Staff nice when they get to you

Roger Wood said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 11th September 2017

Nice traditional hotel.Friendly staff.Clean rooms. Menu rather limited,but food ok.Shame they do not have a proper lounge

Mr Kidd said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 30th August 2017

Hotel Staff very helpful and polite. The Hotel is an old traditional building and has character. It is situated in the centre of town so easy access to shops, cafe's and ferries. It doesnt have parking but there are ample free parking spaces in very closeby surrounding areas. We had the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package. The food on the first night was fine but very disappointed with it on the second night - it was really poorly presented and lacked taste. The bedroom was adequate for the price but the TV was mounted too high up on the wall. We mentioned this to the Manager who advised that this is being addressed. Overalll our stay was satisfactory and we would stay at the Hotel again should we visit Dunoon in the future.

A guest said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2017

Very good hotel in a nice location!

Joanna Diamond said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2017

Booked a few days at The Argyll Hotel for my birthday .. fantastic hotel, staff are all very helpful and rooms very clean. We booked a room with sea view which was fabulous. Breakfast and evening meals very enjoyable ... booked again for September !!

A guest said...

60%
70%
70%
40%

Stayed 9th August 2017

Hotel was ok, good location and a nice room with a view of the water. Food included in hotel was nice, small menu but hearty portions. Hotel was busy with elderly people and when we went for dinner, the staff started clearing the dinning room at 8 (dinner served till 8.30pm) so that the cabaret could be set up. This was a tad awkward so we went to their sister restaurant the next night. Rio serves Italian and tapas. Please note do not go the tapas, it was cold and not nice at all. Restaurant was busy with prole being served pizza and pasta which all looked lovely! Overall was ok and I would go back for the room only.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2017

Very pleasant stay, and a great value DBB offer. Room was clean and tidy. A good powerful shower, and good size TV. Breakfast and Dinner were excellent. Good quality, and decent choice. Staff very helpful. All in all, a really good experience. We would definitely go again.

Myra Mitchell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th July 2017

My room was very comfortable. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the meals provided at breakfast and evening time. Entertainment was very good. Very good value for money.

Helen Conacher said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th July 2017

Had a fantastic time at the Murder Mystery weekend. The hotel was excellent with friendly, helpful staff and a spacious comfortable room. We even had a view over the Clyde. Service was second to none and the Murder Mystery and additional entertainment were excellent. Would not hesitate to come back and would definitely recommend both the hotel and the Walking Theatre Company.

Deborah McAughey said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 22nd July 2017

Had a fantastic stay visiting friends... would recommend. Really central and convenient.

richard mann said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th June 2017

Stayed here for a Muder Mystery Weekend and we could not fault the place.

Brian Simpson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th June 2017

Stayed for 2 nights dinner bed & breakfast and was met at reception by Mgr Lorraine and one of her team. Very friendly and made us feel welcome from the off. We were given an upgraded room which was fantastic. Room very comfortable and clean with lovely views across the water and beyond. Food was good and every request was met by Lorraine, who was very helpful. Hotel is more suited to a quiet break, with entertainment geared more to an older generation, if you want to party, this is not the place for you. Overall we had an excellent couple of days relaxing and would definitely come back next time we are in Dunoon.

Jean Webb said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th June 2017

Was given a premier room (seaview). Views were quite amazing - the river clyde & the hills in the background. Fun watching the western ferries pass by and the gourock passenger ferry arriving/departing at Dunoon pier. A few dishes on the menu weren't that great. Staff so friendly, very willing to help with anything. Enjoyed our stay.

CLAIRE COATES said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 26th May 2017

Absolutely fantastic stay for Tipsy Towers Murder Mystery Weekend. Staff soo welcoming & friendly. Lovely 4 poster bed in room with waterfront view. Room not luxurious & in need of a little updating but lovely & clean & comfortable. Only downside was no hoer on our first morning, but no major deal. Entertainment for murder mystery weekend second to none, soo much fun & lots of laughs... thank you Argyll Hotel for a fabulous stay, will definitely be back!

Mrs Burns said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th June 2013

Went by car and took the ferry from Gourock to Dunoon which is just a short trip over the River Clyde. This is a nice hotel and we had a room wth a four poster bed and our room looked out over the river. Staff lovely and the meals were varied.

Sandra Cuthbertson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 30th April 2017

Great value for a trip over to Dunoon. We received a complimentary upgrade, three course dinner, bottle of wine and breakfast for an absolute song. Check in was friendly and efficient and room had a gorgeous sea view. Some parts of the hotel (the stairs in particular) let the rest of the surroundings down but overall it was a great overnight break. Wie will definitely be back. A quick tip for other travellers would be to remind the staff of the deal / booking you've made on check in and check out. We made ours at the last minute so the price and deal didn't seem to have reached the hotel. Not a problem for the helpful staff but we had to let them know that we had booked to include dinner and wine . Another wee reminder of the price was also required. All in - great value and lovely hotel and the foood was great

A guest said...

34%
20%
30%
50%

Stayed 30th April 2017

This hotel is in need of upgrading. On arrival the room in the tower was not reflecting in the price we paid. Windows very dirty, television only 2 rds of the screen working, plug did not fit sink properly in the bathroom , damp smell in the room. cleaner came into room without knocking stating she had not hovered properly. Will not return

James McPherson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2017

Good hotel. Great location. Excellent choice & quality of food. Nice helpful staff. Beside passenger ferry terminal.

Jerry Ravey said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 9th April 2017

Pleasant hotel and staff, rooms nicely done and overall clean hotel Dinner at Rio restaurant within hotel not the best but edible, breakfasts not hot enough, Would stay at Argyle hotel again...

irene cranston said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th March 2017

Great hotel with really good staff and good food. Rooms were comfortable and well stocked with all you need. Bathrooms were lovely and modern and it had a wonderful Italian restaurant

Elizabeth Cooper said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Had a lovely stay at the Argyll hotel the food served was excellent room beautiful decor staff very pleasant and couldn't do enough for guests I am definitely going back

yvonne stewart said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 24th February 2017

Arrived at the Argyll hotel about 7pm, in torrential rain and winds, only to be told they only had a single room, after booking 7 weeks previous, and had to go to another hotel over a mile away, this was booked for part of my partners birthday, so was not impressed and I wouldn't book through this site or hotel again, was very disappointed.