Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Steven Carson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

We had an enjoyable stay and used the pool and sauna and steam room. Didn't give 10 for the bedroom because the bathroom was a bit of a let down with our towel warmer broken and welcome chocs not in a box but on a plate?? The food, well dinner was very good but I think a supplement of 8.95 for steak is a bit on the heavy side. Breakfast was a bit of a let down with overcooked sausage and small portions that said I think all the portions were a bit stingy. Service was at times a bit slow and sometimes a smile was hard to come by. Would we return here? Yes we would but yet again on a special offer- never at full price.

David Leask said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

A very enjoyable stay with excellent service, great food and a nice room. Highly recommended.

Jonny McCulloch said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

had a fab time there, staff were great, rooms were good and food was brill. Thanks

Allison Hewitt said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th May 2013

Wonderfully relaxing short break

W Clark said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th May 2013

We had a wonderful stay

micheline laurie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2013

we had a wonderfull stay everything was fabulous staff were very helpfull at all times and extremely pleasant

Archie McSporran said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st May 2013

Hotel looks tired now. We have stayed there on a few occasions and it has really gone downhill. The bar in particular needs a complete overhaul especially the couches and chairs which are really shabby.

Gillian Prentice said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2013

Fantastic hotel. Great accommodation and food, wonderful views and lots to do.

Barry McDermott said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th April 2013

Stayed in van de velde suite, nice but could do with a bit of a spruce up. We found some crackers in one of the cupboards, presumably from previous guests. Did not eat dinner in restaurant as arrived late on Friday and couldn't get booked in on Saturday til after 9pm, as we had a small child this didn't suit, so ordered room service (which is what food review based on), breakfast was ok, not a lot of choice for vegetarians wanting a cooked breakfast, unless you just had eggs (perhaps introduce some vegetarian sausages or similar)

Mrs Lindsay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2013

Fabulous weekend and the staff were very helpful - the checkin and checkout was effortless - well done Carnoustie.

Mrs Meechan said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2013

very pleasant and enjoyable stay

JAMES BEBBINGON said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2013

Had a very good 2 day stay here. Room very clean and food excellent. Would have liked more on my plate at breakfast.

William Cunningham said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th April 2013

non golfers, golfers would be in heaven ! lovely stay

William Jackson said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th April 2013

Lovely hotel with good facilities. Not the best of rooms for our stay - second floor, overlooking the entrance canopy. Dinners were good but breakfasts were hit or miss. Restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful, as were front of house staff. Would return but would make sure to request a better located room next time. Overall an enjoyable break.

Norman Kerr said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2013

Hotel Staff nice and friendly but not overly so. Good choice of food in both bar and restaurant. Good deal from Classic Britain on late check out. Would recommend and certainly return for another stay.

Alex Patterson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th April 2013

The hotel staff at Carnoustie Golf Hotel, whilst young and clearly still learning their trade, demonstrated a willingness to ensure 100% customer satisfaction was achieved, through polite and courteous service - going that extra mile in every aspect during our 2 day stay. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend, backed up by delicious food from a comprehensive menu selection. We would have no hesitation in returning to this lovely hotel.

Maureen Cranie said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 4th April 2013

Julie Campbell said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2013

Had a lovely stay at Carnoustie during Easter holidays. Hotel rooms a bit tired and could do with updating but restaurant/bar food was really good. Will definitely return.

Craig Corr said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st April 2013

Good size room for 3 people. Excellent service and food in Calder's Bar. Room decor starting to look a little dated but clean.

christine wildish said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Food not very tasty.staff slow with orders .ironing facilities not good.

Christine Gill said...

50%
30%
50%
70%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Hotel accommodation prices are too high for the decoration standard. Rooms very clean but very tired and dated decoration. Food was minimal but tasty. Main hotel reception, public area and restaurant were more updated so felt it concentrated more on the day golfers than the overnighters. Breakfast to a while and guests where laughing at the amount of beans as the were in like a Chinese soup spoon and you could actually count how many beans you had. Food and wine/drinks prices were reasonable.

Margo Reid said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Excellent Accommodation & service

krista MacDonald said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 29th March 2013

The spa was a little disappointing and the decor is starting to look a little tired but the service and location more than makes up for it.

Rosemary Conn said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Great location, great food and great facilities including gym, pool and sauna. Would recommend and will probably stay again. Excellent deal with two nights DBB for price of one night.

Hilary Fairgrieve said...

57%
40%
60%
70%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Rooms were tired and in need of an upgrade. Meal in main dining area very nice. Not worthy of 4stars