Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

New Lanark Mill Hotel, New Lanark

Mill 1, New Lanark, ML119DB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

93%

michelle kewley said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2015

A lovely hotel. Staff so helpful

Larry Connelly said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th February 2015

Excellent value for money have stayed here the last 3 years with no problems and will continue to book again.

Kim Russell said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 31st January 2015

When we arrived wedding guests were standing at front entrance smoking, we made our way literally through the wedding party to reception , on checking in I was told we had been moved to the cottages. I said I had booked 3 rooms (back in November) the receptionist just kept saying we were moved into two cottages. I said we had wanted to be in the hotel to avoid having to put boots and coats on to go to restaurant or leisure facilities (cold and snow on the ground) but she said they were full and gave us they keys for the cottages. We did not want to go home as it was a present for my daughters' birthday which was on that day and the reason for the 'treat'. The cottages both have steep stairs (16 in total), this was difficult as both of my daughters have mobility issues. (no one had even considered/asked this)The cottages are okay but could do with a refurb . There is only one TV which is in lounge, tea and coffee can only be made in kitchen, there were no wee extras such as biscuit or shortbread which you would normally get in hotel room. The only mirror in our bedroom was above the sink in the room, couldn't dry/style hair there! The restaurant staff were lovely but a few mistakes were made and wrong food was brought out, also the cheeseboard was one of the poorest I have seen. Consequently we were not charged for our drinks. We used the swimming pool in the morning which was nice (towels were pretty ragged and quite small though- I am not a big lady). At breakfast the buffet area was busy and too small for the amount of guests. We were making our own toast (only two slots worked on toaster) and jam had to be dolloped onto a saucer. I ordered a full breakfast which came with the food piled up, potato scone with beans on top then haggis on top of that then scrambled egg on top of that! The plates seemed too small, it became a mess as I tried to eat it and I was put off and could not eat very much of it. When we checked out there was some money taken off our bill. I

George Coppock said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th January 2015

A wonderful place in every respect. Superb hotel - public areas, bedroom, pool & leisure facilities. Lovely food. The breakfast was excellent. What an interesting area with so much to do and see. We will definitely be back and next time will bring all the family. A hidden gem and all the staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful.

Irene Donnelly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th January 2015

Love this place absolutely amazing, staff are lovely and friendly food first class too Will definitely be back

Janice Carlyle said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th January 2015

Lovely hotel. Our stay was excellent value for money. Service in the dining room for dinner was first class.

May Reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th January 2015

We used the disabled room and would recommend it, on the 6th floor but down the lift and right next to the bar, turn left and into the leisure facilities, lift at the restaurant. Staff excellent, food very good, only negative and slight at that, the wetroom floor had slight marks on it, the bed may be a bit too high if transfering from a wheelchair.

sharon lee said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th January 2015

we have a lovely stay .Staff vey helpful and friendly

Margaret McAuley said...

77%
90%
100%
40%

Stayed 9th January 2015

Enjoyed my stay dinner excelent didn't enjoy breakfast

Lynne Potter said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th January 2015

Amazing value for money.

john crossan said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th January 2015

excellent location well worth visiting

Colina Weir said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th January 2015

Had a very pleasant stay. Rooms were clean although there was a constant noise like pipes or a fan running (we put it down to being an old building) . Staff very attentive. Food very nice.

Thomas Mills said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th January 2015

awesome hotel and Angela the service desk manager is to be highly commended for her professional skills in dealing with a little inquiry i had

Alison Blackadder said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th January 2015

Had a lovely stay. The rooms were good altho' some additional double glazing would have helped in room 12 as it was a very windy night.The pool facilities were excellent. Great service and food. Would definitely recommend for another stay.

Lesley MacDonald said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th January 2015

Love this hotel!!!

Morrison Cloney said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th January 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only one observation. We stayed in room 33 and the control on the room heater was broken and we found the room colder than we would have preferred.

M Coyle said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 8th January 2015

Very good hotel.....

E Milsom said...

64%
100%
70%
20%

Stayed 5th January 2015

The Mill can be hard to find as there are very few signs up. But once located it is very impressive and looks the part. The rooms are large and more than adequate. Lunch was very nice and we received a discount as my wife didn't enjoy her meal (Not her taste) so that was very good of them. Evening meal was a disappointment as the restaurant was not open, good job it wasn't a special evening (Anniversary) as I would have been upset. I booked an early morning call (0900 hrs) and this was missed so we slept in. We were offered breakfast and that consisted of an egg each. To say I was disappointed was an understatement. The hotel must have the only kitchen in Scotland that doesn't have bacon, beans, tomatoes, black pudding, mushrooms and sausages in it after 0930 hrs, very strange. The Mill it self is a great place to spend the weekend with lots to do in great surroundings and the staff on the whole are pleasant.

Carolyn Lothian said...

60%
90%
0%
90%

Stayed 4th January 2015

Lovely stay at this hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is fabulous, we had a great time at the museum. Bit disappointed with children's pool times, we didn't have an opportunity when we arrived as pool was closed to children, then in the morning children could get in from 10 but check out was 11.

B Fairbairn said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd January 2015

really enjoyed our break .everything was first class.only slight issue was the sink in our room as we coulnt get the stopper to work !!!

Margaret Duncan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2014

Had an excellent stay and enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities. Would definitely stay again.

Maurna Cassells said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2014

We are return visitors to this hotel and thoroughly enjoy every stay. There is some very subtle upgrading going on to make it even better. The staff are always friendly and genuinely welcoming and the manager can be seen regularly speaking with visitors for honest feedback. The dinner menus have a good choice for everyone and the quality is superb. We definitely recommend this hotel and the leisure facilities in a beautiful setting.

Sandra Duffy said...

67%
100%
100%
0%

Stayed 22nd December 2014

i went with my daughter and we both enjoyed it very much I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as well as classic Britain. The breakfast was lovely as well and the bedroom was first class.

W Bradey said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st December 2014

Good location, excellent service,great food, good facilities, my two daughters were disappointed at booking hour long spa treatments, then only to find half hour treatment booked in, might be best to double check. would highly recommend a visit and will definitely return

allan andrews said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st December 2014

we book every year with family and enjoy it every year