Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

David Wright said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th December 2015

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, we scored everything as a 10 but could do with a higher no for the food it was brilliant

Margaret Gourlay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2016

Lovely traditional hotel in ideal location.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th June 2016

Excellent stay. we were lucky enough to be given a sea facing room, and although it was very hot we thoroughly enjoyed the views. Breakfast was excellent and all freshly cooked. We will be back

Anne Sneddon said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th May 2016

Room was a bit tired, staff and meals were excellent

Scott Brodie said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2016

Service from check in to leaving was excellent. Food was of an exceptional standard. Only complaint was the double room was 2 single beds pushed together so there was a ridge in the middle.

Elizabeth Lapinskie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2016

Great hotel, we had room overlooking the bay, it was fantastic. The meals were excellent, they obviously have an excellent chef!! Choice of dishes both breakfast and dinner was amazing. All staff were very efficient and friendly and we will definitely return on hopefully another great deal.

Janice Bonner said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2016

We enjoyed our stay again at the Oban bay, service and food first class, delighted to see rafel on our arrival excellent bar person so pleasant to everyone, we shall return soon.

Archibald Stevenson said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 20th April 2016

We had a great reception from Mary on arrival who is a superstar, we were not keen on our room as it was very dark being on the ground floor however we were offered another room without hesitataion and I have to say that the service from Mary and Janet was outstanding, they are a credit to the hotel. The service however stopped there, the dining room staff have no direction at all and it really shows and they could all benefit from some inhouse training in particular Jordan., We will not return to this hotel.

Charles Simpson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2016

enjoyed our stay in a very pleasant hotel

A guest said...

70%
30%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th April 2016

Great location, food good ,service fantastic,let down the rooms are in need of upgrading.

Tracey Ohara said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2016

This is the 2nd time we have stayed st this hotel. From start to finish it was superb. The staff cannot do enough for u. The food is absolutely fantastic from the 6 course taster menu to the a la carte menu . Will be returning as soon as can plan another trip to Oban xx

sandra stewart said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th March 2016

good value break. staff pleasant & efficient. hotel very clean but looking a little tired. chairs in lounge areas some torn & shabby. hotel looks out onto bay so very relaxing to look at view with a tail or afternoon tea. parking is very limited & on a first come basis although this site stated space could be booked by contacting hotel direct. plenty of choice for breakfast, we had porridge which was well made but not very warm.the second morning there was no table available this was not a problem as we were asked to take a seat in lounge & within a couple of minutes a young waitress came through & welcomed us to a table.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2016

Really enjoyed our stay. Without exception staff very helpful and friendly, special praise for the domestic staff. Could be better disabled access - we had a ground floor room but still 3 separate sets of stairs to get to reception/dining areas. But we managed. Excellent food, liked being served all breakfast, becoming less usual these days.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2016

A most enjoyable stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. We booked last minute, and hotel was full, very busy - so we were pleased to be accommodated in a relatively roomy, quiet and well-equipped room. The friendly, efficient and characterful reception team made us feel welcome and looked after; likewise, praise to dining room staff, who dealt with exceptionally busy evening and breakfast services with professional calm and friendly efficiency. (The hotel operates a policy which allows guest to reward staff, via contribution, if they wish to do so. We were glad to show our appreciation at the end of out stay). The six-course taster menu is a great idea, if you enjoy trying out a bit of everything on offer from the a la carte - and the quality of produce, presentation, and tastiness is first class. Thank you. We shall be back!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2016

stay longer next time

J Dempsey said...

74%
70%
50%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2016

Myself and my party had a wonderful time at the oban bay hotel, the food was very good and the staff in the dining room were very helpful. My only gripe was that the young polish girl at the reception when we arrived was a bit abrupt. The manageress was a lovely person very helpful. My other gripe was at the bar on the Friday night, guy serving the bar do not know what nationality he was again a bit abrupt, I asked for a glass of lemonade out of the Schweppes bottle but he told me he could only use that for shandies how ridiculous he then told me I would have to buy a small bottle of lemonade at £1.55 pence. He then charged me £13.50 for two glasses of rose zinfandel wine strange what a rip off.

Andrew Walker said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2014

Outstanding. Food and the views topped off with fantastic staff. Can't wait to return.

George Young said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th January 2016

Enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely hotel, great staff, what more can you ask for.

Catherine kane said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Excellent stay. Staff attentive, professional but friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Great views from lounge.

Hotel reply...

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, your kind comments were much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Sharon Houston General Manager

Kathleen Rooney said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th November 2015

Nice hotel

David Wright said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2015

One of the best hotels we have stayed, we will be back

Elizabeth Maclennan said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th May 2015

Great food very friendly service

thomas napier said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2015

Great meals, good staff, some of the decor rather tired. Did not like having to pay to use a debit card, this is the first hotel to charge.

Mrs Mackie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th April 2015

Found Hotel clean and staff very friendly. Everyone was helpful. Had a single room being on my own but it was very nice with sea view which was lovely. Couldn't fault anything. Food was excellent and staff couldn't do enough for you.

Stephen Nisbet said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th April 2015

Staff were all friendly, the hot tub bubbles weren't working and the mussles I had one evening were a little short of flavour, everything else in the hotel was nice and I would stay again.