Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

92%

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Hotel and rooms showing their age. Shower was on the small side. Staff very helpful and courteous. We stayed on a Dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The food served was first class and of a very high standard

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th March 2017

We had an excellent stay at the Oban Bay Hotel - the staff were excellent and the very minor issue we has with the shower in the bathroom was rectified immediately Meals were excellent on both nights and a fine array of single malts in the bar for a nightcap

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2017

The hotel staff and the hotel where very clean and helpful we would use this hotel again

Pauline Connor said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 11th February 2017

We had a lovely stay as always in the Oban bay hotel. This time we took our dog and he was welcomed as much as us. The food was lovely the only thing that dissapointed me with the food was the toast and poached eggs this was a bit bland and not up to the usual breakfast at the hotel. The staff accomodated us with eating in the conservatory duue to us having a dog with us. He room was clean but needs a little bit of tlc to bring it up to standards of the other rooms upstairs. We will return as the staff and location are lovely thouroughly good weekend heres to the next one

Gerard Campbell said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd December 2016

We have stayed at The Oban Bay many times over the years

Susan Steele said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2016

There was 6 of us who went away for the weekend to Oban Bay Hotel. The hotel was lovely and very warm ?. Our rooms had a sea view which was lovely and rooms were spotless and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was delicious, we dined in the restaurant one night and in the bar the next night. 3 courses each night were 1st class. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and watched the sun set. The sauna and steam room was very relaxing too. The views from the front conservatory are truly breath taking. Will definitely be returning ?

Mrs Iveson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th October 2016

Really good value break.staff are excellent as always.The room was spotless.The breakfasts are excellent with a superb choice.The choice at dinner is more limited

Mrs Iveson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th October 2016

Really good value break.staff are excellent as always.The room was spotless.The breakfasts are excellent with a superb choice.The choice at dinner is more limited

James Toal said...

54%
10%
100%
50%

Stayed 22nd October 2016

Terrible room. Chaotic restaurant. Wonderful, but unguided staff.

John Colin Davidson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2016

Good hotel but parking a nightmare on site. My wife has a mobility problem and getting to her scooter was inconvenience as the car was parked off site. Very helpful staff and good food beautifully presented. Comfy beds in a good sized room.

Sheila Shovelin said...

24%
50%
10%
10%

Stayed 10th October 2016

The hotel was not very accessible for anyone with a disability. Bedroom we had was accessible and comfortable.Meal service was far from good.We had a meal at 8.30 pm and the staff were cleaning tables around us and spoilt the pleasure of a relaxed break. My meal was reportedly a lobster pasta,never found any lobster just frozen prawns. Needless to say I was ill during the night.My husband is still waiting to receive a bread bun we were offered.The staff presented as being busy but basically were not achieving anything.The front of house staff were very good.Had I payed the full price I would have complained further.

David Wright said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th December 2015

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, we scored everything as a 10 but could do with a higher no for the food it was brilliant

Margaret Gourlay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2016

Lovely traditional hotel in ideal location.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th June 2016

Excellent stay. we were lucky enough to be given a sea facing room, and although it was very hot we thoroughly enjoyed the views. Breakfast was excellent and all freshly cooked. We will be back

Anne Sneddon said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th May 2016

Room was a bit tired, staff and meals were excellent

Scott Brodie said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2016

Service from check in to leaving was excellent. Food was of an exceptional standard. Only complaint was the double room was 2 single beds pushed together so there was a ridge in the middle.

Elizabeth Lapinskie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2016

Great hotel, we had room overlooking the bay, it was fantastic. The meals were excellent, they obviously have an excellent chef!! Choice of dishes both breakfast and dinner was amazing. All staff were very efficient and friendly and we will definitely return on hopefully another great deal.

Janice Bonner said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2016

We enjoyed our stay again at the Oban bay, service and food first class, delighted to see rafel on our arrival excellent bar person so pleasant to everyone, we shall return soon.

Archibald Stevenson said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 20th April 2016

We had a great reception from Mary on arrival who is a superstar, we were not keen on our room as it was very dark being on the ground floor however we were offered another room without hesitataion and I have to say that the service from Mary and Janet was outstanding, they are a credit to the hotel. The service however stopped there, the dining room staff have no direction at all and it really shows and they could all benefit from some inhouse training in particular Jordan., We will not return to this hotel.

Charles Simpson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2016

enjoyed our stay in a very pleasant hotel

A guest said...

70%
30%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th April 2016

Great location, food good ,service fantastic,let down the rooms are in need of upgrading.

Tracey Ohara said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2016

This is the 2nd time we have stayed st this hotel. From start to finish it was superb. The staff cannot do enough for u. The food is absolutely fantastic from the 6 course taster menu to the a la carte menu . Will be returning as soon as can plan another trip to Oban xx

sandra stewart said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th March 2016

good value break. staff pleasant & efficient. hotel very clean but looking a little tired. chairs in lounge areas some torn & shabby. hotel looks out onto bay so very relaxing to look at view with a tail or afternoon tea. parking is very limited & on a first come basis although this site stated space could be booked by contacting hotel direct. plenty of choice for breakfast, we had porridge which was well made but not very warm.the second morning there was no table available this was not a problem as we were asked to take a seat in lounge & within a couple of minutes a young waitress came through & welcomed us to a table.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2016

Really enjoyed our stay. Without exception staff very helpful and friendly, special praise for the domestic staff. Could be better disabled access - we had a ground floor room but still 3 separate sets of stairs to get to reception/dining areas. But we managed. Excellent food, liked being served all breakfast, becoming less usual these days.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2016

A most enjoyable stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. We booked last minute, and hotel was full, very busy - so we were pleased to be accommodated in a relatively roomy, quiet and well-equipped room. The friendly, efficient and characterful reception team made us feel welcome and looked after; likewise, praise to dining room staff, who dealt with exceptionally busy evening and breakfast services with professional calm and friendly efficiency. (The hotel operates a policy which allows guest to reward staff, via contribution, if they wish to do so. We were glad to show our appreciation at the end of out stay). The six-course taster menu is a great idea, if you enjoy trying out a bit of everything on offer from the a la carte - and the quality of produce, presentation, and tastiness is first class. Thank you. We shall be back!