Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dunkeld House Hotel, Dunkeld

, Dunkeld, PH80HX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

John McKelvie said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 26th March 2017

Room quite small and devoid of a hairdryer.Service was very good with food being rather average.

Hotel reply...

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always striving for excellence and will take your review on board to improve. Regarding food, we have recently recruited a new head chef and pastry chef and would love to welcome you back so you can try for yourself.

Alan Jarvie said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th March 2017

Spent 2 nights 24/25 March, hotel has been tastefully renovated, ambiance and food excellent, staff could not be more helpful. Would definitely return to this gem.

Hotel reply...

Hi Alan, thank you for such a wonderful review! We hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

alan fortune said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th March 2017

This is our favourite hotel and its going to be amazing once all the renovations are complete. Friendly, helpful staff, good food (apart from the black pudding in the morning!) and a wonderful location. A gem.

Hotel reply...

Hello Alan, thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review for Dunkeld House Hotel! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd March 2017

Great spot. Better to have a car as hotel is about a mile out of the town. It is possible to walk along the riverbank into the town which is a lovely walk and not so far as the road. Hotel setting is lovely and staff were always very helpful. Would go again for a short break.

Hotel reply...

Hello William, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again in the future.

A guest said...

70%
100%
50%
60%

Stayed 25th February 2017

Stayed at this hotel on Saay and when booking was not advised of any refurbishment getting done to the hotel. We only realised this once in room and went down to this tiny makeshift bar, they were low on alcohol and no atmosphere at all. The restaurant didn't have a menu until 5pm when our table was booked for 6:15pm (only times available were 6:15pm or 9:15pm). Food was average. Was extremely disappointed as we only heard good reviews but didn't feel as relaxed as so hoped for. I spoke with the reception staff and addressed my issues, our reply was 'they had put on there Facebook page about the refurbishment' my partner booked the hotel as a surprise and doesn't have 'facebook'. Room was really nice do would give 3*

Kate Guzzan said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2017

Having stayed in many Hotels within this area and in Scotland I was absolutely delighted. During an extensive renovation programme in this establishment the staff and management were first class and made sure we were all catered for. The lady on our floor looking after all laundry and rooms was superb. At breakfast even when things a bit chaotic again staff fantastic especially the senior gentleman who organised all. I take my cap off to all the staff. Absolutely fantastic hotel,setting and staff. Thank you. Kate Guzzan and family for a superb break.

Hotel reply...

Hi Kate Thank you so much for a lovely review! I'm sure our staff will be happy to hear your feedback. Kind Regards Dunkeld House Hotel

A guest said...

70%
100%
50%
60%

Stayed 25th February 2017

Stayed at this hotel on Saay and when booking was not advised of any refurbishment getting done to the hotel. We only realised this once in room and went down to this tiny makeshift bar, they were low on alcohol and no atmosphere at all. The restaurant didn't have a menu until 5pm when our table was booked for 6:15pm (only times available were 6:15pm or 9:15pm). Food was average. Was extremely disappointed as we only heard good reviews but didn't feel as relaxed as so hoped for. I spoke with the reception staff and addressed my issues, our reply was 'they had put on there Facebook page about the refurbishment' my partner booked the hotel as a surprise and doesn't have 'facebook'. Room was really nice do would give 3*

A guest said...

54%
70%
60%
30%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Lovely location, staff friendly, hotel lacked atmosphere, disappointed with portion of starter - far too small, breakfast was the worst I've ever had, presentation was disgusting and it was cold and unpalatable so couldn't eat it. Such a pity as the Hotel could be a little gem, opportunity missed from an avid Hotel visitor.

joyce young said...

50%
90%
50%
10%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Hotel undergoing a refurb and if we had know this we would have gone elsewhere. Room was gorgeous but we had to end up sitting in our room after dinner as the communal areas were full and not great. Food was absolutely awful, especially kids and they ended up only eating bread rolls. Could be a fantastic hotel but they need to address these issues immediately.

A guest said...

54%
40%
50%
70%

Stayed 18th February 2017

We had to wait a while for our room. There was no where to sit and wait as they were renovating. No where said this otherwise I would not have booked. The description on the rooms were a lovely river view (100) rooms anyway. Obviously we were not one of the ones. Our room was looking out towards scaffolding. It was not the best stay I've ever had and felt very rushed. Hopefully my next adventure will be better.

James Gilmour said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Hotel was nice. Some building work being carried out but did not cause much inconvenience. Meal was good starter portion of fishcakes a little small but rest good. Had a really nice room which looked to have been upgraded recently. Would like to return when renovations complete. Would recommend hotel.

Karen Gammie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2017

Very nice Hotel only thing I would say it was cold in the dining room for dinner and breakfast.

A Gemmell said...

74%
100%
60%
60%

Stayed 16th February 2017

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Clearly a lot of work going on which most people we met were not aware of. Our bedroom had been renovated and was very appealing. Was about the cleanest bedroom I have ever seen; the bath itself was sparkling. Staff were very pleasant . I felt the evening meal to be very poor value for money. although included in the DBB offer, the actual amount of food was small. My starter was melon and parma ham. the melon was cut so thinly that I reckon one melon would have covered over 50 plates! I am convinced that the Parma Ham was NOT fresh; indeed - OFF! There was no point telling the waitress as she would not have understood. I did ask her for a large scoop of icecream with my excellent sticky toffee pudding, but got a small half scoop in response. All in all, a hotel in an excellent setting, but really quite pricey. I did speak to the very pleasant Austrian owner about the refurb and he assures me that once this is all done, the place will be really beautiful. Potentially, I feel it could be as nice as Cameron house in a different setting off course.

ann insh said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 14th February 2017

Beautiful setting, efficient check in. Rather disappointed by the room. It was at the back of the hotel with a rather grim view of a skip, being loaded with rubbish from the hotel refurbishment. We felt the hotel would have been better to close to carry out the improvements. Also, were we given a room at the very end of the corridor because of being on a 'hotelbreak'? The restaurant was really not appealing. Quite dark & gloomy, again being in the midst of renovation, bquite depressing. Efficiency in the dining room was erratic, no one seemed to be in overall charge. The staff, although pleasant, did not appear to be well trained. Overall, enjoyed the setting but very disappointed with the delivery.

Martine Turner said...

74%
90%
80%
50%

Stayed 14th February 2017

Room was lovely newly refurbished but the configuration of hairdryer and mirror needs looked at. I am veggie and I wrote this in my booking.There is nothing on the menu to say what is veggie I nearly ordered beetroot royale which the waitress did not know what it contained it turned out to be jelly which veggies don't eat. I risked the cleric soup it wss lovely One main course option which I could not eat the cheered me a veg crepe which was nice but one crepe with two tiny rosettes of potato left me gry. So please put a v against veggie things most places do now. My husband throughly enjoyed his meal. We went to go for a swim but swimming lessons on and rest of pull full of kids so we never went in as no room to swim lengths it looked nice.. It is in a beautiful setting and when all the refurbishment is finished it'll be lovely.