Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

Patricia Watson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th April 2019

Family break, hotel lovely, location picturesque. Rooms beautiful, staff really helpful and attentive. This was my second stay here, will definitely be back again. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

Mrs Ramage said...

70%
20%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th April 2019

Lovely location and hotel unfortunately we were given a room overlooking the buckets which were overflowing with rubbish which was collected at seven in the morning along with bottles as it was only one night we did nit complain but any longer stay would have been unexceptionable

james lynch said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2019

Hotel very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good food .. Room was very clean spacious.

karen charlton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2019

Second visit to this hotel and wont be the last. Beautiful rooms, friendly staff and good food.

jane kinnaird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2019

We had a fantastic break at hetland hall and would certainly be returning

Muriel Meikle said...

75%
N/A
80%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Staff at hotel were excellent and very professional in all they did. Bryce in particular was superb at helping us get sorted out. Unfortunately on booking in we did not get a twin room as I had requested on your booking form and as the hotel was full all they could give us was a room with a standard double and a sofa bed which was like a Zbed. This was not ideal as 2 women sharing, however we had little choice and staff said they would try to get us another room the next day. This they did and gave us a beautiful room with 2 king size beds. They were most apologetic and said they had not been informed of request. In view of that they were exceptional at dealing with it.

Anne McIntosh said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Fantastic hotel with great staff. Food at breakfast and meals at night were very good , freshly cooked and plenty of choice. Room was clean with good shower. Only slight negatives were that room was small and bathroom floor was freezing. Would definitely recommend

Hazel Manderson said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2019

We spent one night at Hetland Hall. Our room was large and recently decorated......though the window was disproportionately small making it seem a bit gloomy .The restaurant serves an affordable varied menu.Good choice of drinks (including tails) available at the bar. Breakfast was fine....decent selection and quality. Staff were pleasant. Overall, a pleasant stay and well worth what we paid for it through

sarah quinn said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Location & hotel both beautiful. Easy, friendly check-in. Dinner & serve was superb only downfall was service at breakfast. Server failed to give us menus & take our order for 20 minutes. Food very good! Will be back :)

A guest said...

90%
90%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 10th April 2019

Never thought I would have to write this after having stayed before and had a lovely time. Hotel is very clean, rooms are first class but for everything else it was a disaster. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had afternoon tea which was the worst we've had. Bland sandwiches, i asked for the choices and it was as if it was a bother as my sister in law is allergic to some foods after choosing cold meat sandwiches we were given all the things she was allergic to. No teaspoons for 4 people, asked for them and was handed 1. Cakes were carmel shortcake and brownies which were shop bought and dusgusting..went in the bin. Had been at the Carlton hotel last week and had afternoon tea which was first class. Dinner was no better. Table booked for 7.15, starters at 8.15 and main course at 8.50. When it came the burgers were all burnt, chips were disgusting. Fish was overcooked and awful..could not see the fish or chips for the tin of peas on the plate. Didnt bother with a sweet..god only knows when we would have got to bed. Break fast was not much better. Toaster not working right, no butter, no plates, no fruit only 2 cherry yoghurts. Cooked breakfast was all over cooked and took 45minutes to come, asked for another pot of tea and was given a pot for 1 with 4 of us at the table. Gave dinner tonight a miss just as well as everyone in the bar was complaining a family of 6 walked out and left theres after waiting 90 mins for there main course. Girl said they were under staffed and apologised...no sign of a manager anywhere. Staff are full of excuses and I'm still waiting for someone to speak to me about our meals.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

We had a lovely 2 night break here. Room was modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Evening meal and breakfast was excellent.

A guest said...

87%
100%
70%
90%

Stayed 7th April 2019

Room was outstanding. Service at the lounge bar could have been better (no one around, had to look for bar tender) but it was a Sunday evening so that might have had some bearing on it. Would highly recommend the hotel.

J Tansey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2019

Had a fabulous time and would like to thank Julie and Michael for changing our booking at short notice. All the staff were excellent and the upgraded room was fantastic. Lovely hotel and setting easy access to,a75 and a variety of attractions would definitely stay again.

Alan Kelly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2019

One of the best hotel we have stayed in Just perfect

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2019

We had a lovely stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and comfortable and both breakfast and evening meals were delicious and very good value for money. I would happily return for another break.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st April 2019

Very enjoyable 2 day stay .Beautiful hotel room , front facing towards Solway Firth . Hotel decor of a very high standard . Excellent food and pleasant staff.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2019

Loved our break! A comfortable, friendly hotel nicely refurbished. Service was excellent and the food first class! Only one comment (constructive - I hope). Staff should not be discussing wedding arrangements in the bar, in a loud voice which can be overheard by guests. Such planning should be discussed in a private room.

Linda Lee said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st April 2019

Really lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Room very spacious and luxurious. Food excellent. Will definitely return.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Love this hotel and getting married here next year. It's stunning, staff are amazing as well as the food. Deals are well worth every penny. Highly recommended

Emma Rae said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2019

hotel was beautiful, staff were lovely 10/10

Dorothy Coupar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2019

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband to finish off my Birthday Celebrations This Hotel has the WOW factor the décor is fabulous We had a superior room which was huge it was decorated in grey with beautiful furnishings The bed was comfy as was the pillows our bathroom was a wet room again well decorated with white fluffy bath sheets and lovely toiletries The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the staff The Hotel is on the A 75 in its own grounds there is a Garden Centre near by Again we have not been disappointed with your choice of hotels Looking forward to our next one

A guest said...

50%
100%
10%
40%

Stayed 25th March 2019

We had a lovely room,staff were friendly.Service in restaurant both nights was poor.Meals on first night was dreadful.We would never return.

Steven Nish said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2019

excellent hotels room fab meals were superb 10 out of 10 staff also great.

Gail Bowie said...

90%
100%
80%
N/A

Stayed 20th March 2019

Fabulous Hotel, welcoming staff, beautifully decorated, fabulous room, lovely food, what more could you ask. We really enjoyed our break at this hotel and hopefully will be back soon.

jackie boyd said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

I had a fantastic stay at the Hetland Hall Hotel. It was a birthday treat for my mum. The hotel is absolutely stunning and décor throughout beautiful. Food very good too. Staff were all lovely and so helpful and even swapped us rooms as my mum couldn't climb stairs and required a lift floor. I have recommended this Hotel to friends and will definitely be back