Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

A guest said...

44%
40%
60%
30%

Stayed 11th March 2020

Hotel was understaffed but the ones who were working were helpful to a point,at dinner my partner ordered gammon steak she couldn't eat it as it was far to salty dinning staff didn't even ask what was wrong,there also was a mix up with our room we were up at six in the morning with the noise above us.When ordering our meals we were told we could only order off a certain part of menu as we were on the cheap deal well that did piss me off as I had just paid £198 to them.so would i go again that's a no.

Madeline Kavanagh said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2020

Had a really enjoyable stay. Food was really nice. The staff where so helpful and couldn't do more for you. The room was clean and comfy. I enjoyed using the facilities such as the pool and spa bath. The area has lots to do and see. I would recommend staying here.

Nicola Sharp said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2020

Had a lovely relaxing stay at Angus Hotel, staff friendly and helpful.

mitchell pyper said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Rooms nice size only comment is their to many lights that’s not needed ,comfy large bed, Lovely bathroom with large walk in shower but short of shelve space for toiletries

Fiona Stewart said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th February 2020

Although I have stayed at this hotel before this was the first time we went to a tribute night. this was very well organised and the the Motown brothers were really good. we stayed for two nights and had a really great time.

anne lyall said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 28th February 2020

We stayed at The Angus Hotel with family on a 2 night tribute break(Motown brothers). All rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast & dinner on both nights and entertainment were all very good. However there was a very strong smell in the corridor and bathrooms of our superior rooms for the duration of our stay. I was told it was damp due to water leakage from shower curtains not used correctly by guests. I would suggest it was blocked drains. I even got the odour outside the hotel. It was really disappointing as I could not recommend the hotel which is a shame. Staff work really hard and the new function room is lovely. It is a 3 star hotel and would meet that level if there was no strong odour. Very disappointing.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2020

My partner and I recently stayed at the Angus Hotel Blairgowrie and had a lovely 3days there. The hotel is old fashioned and in need of an uplift but it is spotlessly clean and an extremely warm place to return to after a long walk and browse around the village. The staff were all very cheery and pleasant to chat to and nothing was a bother to them. The chef and his staff certainly know how to serve a lovely meal and the food could not be faulted. We will certainly return another time to the Angus Hotel

Donald Frost said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2020

Stayed on the stay 2nights and get a 3rd free excellent value for money the facilities we're excellent will be returning

william logan said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Party of three stayed from Friday 21st to Monday 24th February we each had a single room which was clean and spacious in good locations with comfortable beds. The standard of food at breakfast and dinner was good and well cooked with a decent choice although service at the Tribute night dinner was slow in starting and crumble dessert would have benefited from the addition of some sugar Chicken main course was delicious and piping hot. Entertainment was provided by 70/ 80s singer who was far too loud dance floor too small and we much preferred previous lay out of round tables new lay out too much like a school dinner hall to get imum people in . Need more bar staff when function suite so busy and £7 for a small bottle of Prosecco is outrageous . Staff in Reception, lounge bar and room cleaners excellent . Swimming Pool, Sauna and Hot Tub facilities for this class of hotel really good . As previously mentioned new seating arrangement in Function Suite puts us off from returning .

A guest said...

67%
30%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th February 2020

Had the potential to be a really good stay- price amazing, food great, staff friendly but rooms were tiny hotel "smelled" in some corridors and a party going on next door till the wee small hours with hotel staff unable to stop it did marr the experience

Lorna Hainey said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2020

We had a fantastic 3 nights at the Angus hotel the food was great the staff very friendly and helpful enjoyed the pool area too will definitely be back

KIM MCMILLAN said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 9th February 2020

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and food were good. My children particularly enjoyed the pool and the location was good. Only criticism would be the wifi did not work in the room.

Janet Rennie said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 7th February 2020

We were at the Angus hotel Blairgowrie for an 80th birthday weekend and had a wonderful time. Thought it was great value for money with decent quality environment, good quality food, good entertainment & comfortable spa area. Our party will certainly be returning. Thank you for the birthday girl saying she had her best birthday. Janet Rennie

X Ccarol Hindman Smith said...

60%
60%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 10th February 2020

Reception staff great . Bar staff not very attentive waited an hour for main course. Breakfast cold.

Nicola Ramsay Hazlett said...

50%
10%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Arrived late due to work commitments and had problems parking , no spaces in any of the hotel car parks . Were given room 75 which was up the lift along a corridor down a few steps and along a long hallway . As soon as we reached the door to the final corridor the heat and smell of chlorine hit us . This continued into our small but compact room . We had to open the windows immediately. Obviously the heat and chlorine smell was coming from below us - the leisure facilities. We had to keep the windows wide all weekend because the fan we had only circulated the hot air . Ate in the bar on Friday pleasant friendly staff and enjoyed our bar meal although we were told there was no slimline tonic after our first drink . Hotel was very busy due to tribute weekend and hen parties and at times quite noisy . Breakfast was fine when we eventually were seated very minimal staff around . Only scrambled eggs available. Evening entertainment was extremely busy and we were squashed into tables of 10 - a bit like eating on a plane . We asked to eat in the bar because I can get panicky in very busy places , which the manager was happy to accommodate . Didn’t stay for the tribute it was very loud and that was from the bar rather than the function suite . Lots of people left and relocated to the bar/lounge area due to this . Checkout was very busy with disputes over payments . Would return to the hotel but obviously not a tribute weekend and in a different room .

Mandy Doran said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Really enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, and had everything we needed for a couple of nights away. We loved the pool, spa bath, sauna - though the changing rooms and especially lockers need upgrading. Service was very hit and miss, and the only disappointing part of our stay. The room next door to us ordered room service, we returned to our room at 10pm and passed their tray on the floor of corridor with left over food. The tray was still there when we checked out the next morning at 11am. Left over food should never be left around like that for over 12 hrs, it's disgusting. On mentioning it to staff when we went for breakfast around 9am, we were told it was OK they knew it was there and housekeeping would pick it up 'later'. Although this didn't spoil our break, I do find this unacceptable, and it makes me think twice about returning.

angelo biello said...

10%
20%
0%
10%

Stayed 5th February 2020

Really disappointed with the hotel short on staff breakfast also disappointing had to pick through to get half decent food especially the bacon no fried eggs on breakfast menu either and what staff their was when asked about it reply was management did not allow fried eggs at breakfast also confusion at night regarding what we where entilited to I.e up to £17.50 a head or 2 courses all in all very disappointing experience

Marshall Douglas said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Great overnight here, staff were very nice and helpful ( Especially the Receptionist), room a wee bit dated but spotless, spa was very good as was the food. def recommend and will be back.

Tracey Gilmartin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Staff welcoming and attentive. Lovely stay as always. One of our favourite hotels and will be back soon.

A guest said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Meals were cold at the self service on the Friday night. Squashed up at the evening table on Saturday night at the Cabaret ..

Thomas Mcneill said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Had a lovely overnight stay at Angus Hotel. Friendly staff, room nice and clean. Comfy bed. Food was very nice also, with quite a variety of dishes available. Our room was above function room, though a bit of noise from the music being played, we didn't mind. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break. Swimming pool, sauna and spa was a bonus.

Mrs Foster said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th January 2020

It's all change at the Angus now, apart from sleeping everything happens in the Function room. Breakfast and dinner are both buffet. Dinner to me was always in a dining room with waiter service, and to crown it all no eggs at breakfast apart from scrambled. If you don't like scrambled eggs the attitude appears to be tough. This hotel is now geared mostly for coach parties.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Lovely stay for our Christmas at the Angus hotel. The only issue was the door handle on the bedroom door wouldn’t always lock and was quite loose. Food was great and nice relaxing time in the sauna and jacuzzi. Great value for money with everything we had included, canny beat it!

A Murdoch said...

57%
70%
20%
80%

Stayed 28th December 2019

Having used this hotel with yourselves in the past , we were very disappointed with the level of service . Tribute Night guests seemingly get priority treatment and to finish off - the piped music was left on in the hotel until I tried to report it by phone (without success) eventually dressed and went looking for night porter who found switch at 3 am !!!! Reported to management in the morning who seemed unconcerned with our complaint!!!

A guest said...

75%
70%
N/A
80%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Stayed on 27.12.19 in room 18. Nice warm room and food was good. We have been twice before and will go again. However, didn't get to sleep until 1.30am because of the noise next door so tried to find paperwork for a number to phone reception to complain but no information in the room. So had to suffer the noise for 1and 1/2 hours.