Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Atholl Palace Hotel, Pitlochry

, Pitlochry, PH165LY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Corina Oosterhof said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2013

Beautiful place but not real friendly service.

James Murphy said...

44%
70%
30%
30%

Stayed 15th August 2013

Needing a bit of money spent on it. Food very disapointing.

Mrs Hamilton said...

64%
90%
20%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2013

This was a simply beautiful hotel, in stunning surroundings. The entrance area and corridors are palatial so the hotel is aptly named. Our room was gorgeous and although the bedroom was quite small, we had a sitting room attached and all new looking, very well maintained and spotless. The only fly in our idyllic stay was the attitude of one of the restaurant supervisors, who I will not name on here, (But an email is on it's way) who was incredibly brusque to the point of rudeness and has yet to either make eye contact with us or smile in any degree. When my wife and I asked to be seated away from the corridor, we were TOLD to wait in the lounge and he'd see what he could do, the subsequently stuck his head round the corner of the door and shouted "That's your table ready!" He proceeded, after the second time of asking to bring a wine list and twice got my single drinks order wrong. Now, this is not the level of customer care that one would expect from a hotel that in every other degree attempts to be excellent. What is worse that this individual is setting a very poor example for a young, polite and enthusiastic staff, all of whom waited superbly. As this was the only issue we had, albeit a major one, we will try the hotel again. It's too beautiful not to!. I'm marking the service as a 2 only because of this individual, otherwise service was worth a 9!

Chris Mackie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2013

We had a wonderful time in Pitlochry mainly because of the attention to detail from all staff members at the hotel. The room was

william logan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th July 2013

noise from kitchen vents/fans was disturbing when they came on @ 06:10--directly below my open window 232 No trouser press in 231 apart from that rooms were adequate and comfortable Great menu, location and amenities and friendly,courteous staff staff

ronald nisbet said...

47%
60%
80%
0%

Stayed 16th June 2013

I have posted a lengthy description on Tripadvisor regarding the diabolical food. Possibly the worst description/presentation/content ever !!!

Irene Tervit said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th June 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Atholl Palace - grounds lovely and we were lucky enough to get good weather. Leisure pool was very isolated and would have felt better if an attendant was there as I was the only person in pool.

Kirstin Mrugalla said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th May 2013

Beautiful surroundings, very nice hotel. Wonderful quiet!

Janice Henderson said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 3rd May 2013

There were 2 weddings at the hotel the weekend we were there and it would have been useful to know this beforehand as we may have booked an alternative date as the hotel bar restuarant etc were very busy because of this

stuart mclelland said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st May 2013

We returned after 35 years as we honeymooned there. The staff were very nice and welcoming particularly the manager who in the restaurant was particularly helpful and made us feel at home.

William Fleetham said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay at the Athol palace my wife and I wanted a relaxing break. It's our first visit and hope to return our room food and staff were all excellent we were so well looked after staff were so friendly. Lovely gardens to relax in . Many thanks..

Allan McEwan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd April 2013

We have stayed at the Atholl Palace many times and have always enjoyed our stays. It is definitely a favourite of ours. Staff are friendly and helpful. The old place (135 years and going strong) is looking very spruce this year. You have to make some allowance for the age and character of the place. The grounds are wonderful for walks with many gigantic specimen trees. As vegetarians we find the menus quite acceptable though the choice is limited.

J Tyreman said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Ronald Aitken said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th April 2013

no information on arrival from any of the staff about the use of facilities (spa etc.)room did not bear any resemblance to any picture on the internet still had an enjoyable experience

Tom Scoular said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th April 2013

Very friendly staff. Asked what you did that day and were interested in your comments.

fleming mcgawn said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2013

heating very poor in bedroom the staff gave us a small electric fan no use

Ross Anderson said...

44%
50%
60%
20%

Stayed 10th April 2013

Did not meet expectations.

Mary Kain said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 5th April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. The only criticism we have is the breakfast food. While there was a very good selection of both hot and cold dishes most of the "hot" food was cold. The last morning I had to ask a waitress to take my meal and put it in the microwave. My friends just did not finish their meal because it was cold. The dinners were very good and all staff were very attentive.

scott wells said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st April 2013

Pleasant hotel would recommend to get a feel for the scottish highlands

jean short said...

80%
90%
60%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2013

My wife and I had a good stay at the Atholl Palace Hotel. The spa facilities were great and the food delicious. The room was lovely and clean. Parts of the hotel look a bit tired and the service was inconsistant ranging from great to poor.

Linda Macgregor said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 22nd March 2013

I can understand why this hotel has an "Approved" rating rather than "Commended". We had a room which had been recently decorated -could still smell the paint!-which was comfortable and warm, thankfully, on a very wintry weekend.Good breakfast buffet and a pleasant meal on both evenings.Although we did enjoy our stay, compared to other hotels of similar standard, there was nothing exceptional to make us rush back.

Kay Muir said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2013

An enjoyable stay. This was my second visit, the previous being about 3 years ago whilst hotel was being renovated. Very nice now. Our room was quite small but adequate. I requested a walk inshower on my booking form and this was provided. Would go again

Colin Robertson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th March 2013

Service on the whole, very good, with the exception of having to wait for some time between courses at dinner on the first night (30 mins) between main course and sweet.

Janice McFarlane said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 10th March 2013

Our stay was very pleasant however the only criticism was trying to get a drink from the bar. It was hard to find a barman and stock was limited as there had been a wedding at the week-end.

andrew sanders said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2013

Excellent stay; hope to return.