Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Holiday Inn Hotel Dumfries, Dumfries

The Crichton, Dumfries, DG14ZZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

91%

Eric Link said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2012

The hotel was warm and comfortable and clean

Simon Wheeler said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 27th December 2012

There were 5 large collapsable dining tables stored in our (Executive)room when we 1st entered. However, soon moved after request....but an inauspicious start. Room clean and comfortable tho' tv didn't get stations listed on in-room card. Two large holes- in back and bottom- of storage cupboard rendering it tricky to use! Service & all staff excellent. Food poor on two nights but pretty good on the 3rd night. Small restaurant for number of bedrooms so meals served in "sittings" every 30 minutes....but not really a problem. Seemed a family-friendly hotel.

eric smith said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2012

Everything we expected.(as the tin says 3-1st). Lounge did not lean to guests mingleing.

E McKay said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2012

Very comfortable.Food excellent. Beautiful location.Bar prices a bit expensive.

Janice King said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2012

Another excellent stay at the Aston. Staff friendly and service very good. Room spotlessly clean.

Lorraine Bishop said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2012

Had a lovely 2 night break at the Aston hotel, room very comfortable, food great only downside was no Earl Grey tea!! thought that might have been resolved by the second day but no.

William Garrett said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2012

An excellent couple of days. Hotel and staff were first class.

Kenneth Stewart said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th October 2012

We have stayed at the Aston many times and have never found it anything other than excellent.

Mrs Watts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2012

We were extremely disappointed on arrival that our specific booking (for 3 twin bedded rooms), had not been honoured and that we were being bumped to a king bed and sofa bed. We had booked back in March, specifically telling the hotel we had chosen them BECAUSE we could book twin bedded rooms. However, the hotel did deal with our extreme disappointment very well and managed to sort out the rooms situation to our satisfaction. Thank you hotel staff. Thereafter, we were very well treated and thought the staff were well trained and friendly.

Stephen Moss said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th September 2012

A lovely relaxing hotel with friendly and obliging staff. Definitely a hotel we look forward to returning to.

Eileen Boyd said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2012

Lovely hotel the staff were very friendly and the food was very good would certainly go back again.

Robert Robertson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2012

Food excellent, staff very friendl, all inall a brilliant place to stay for a relaxing break.

John Caldwell said...

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 7th September 2012

No problems with room and food although we were made to wait ten minutes for our breakfast table on the forst morning as the tables were not getting cleaned very fast

wendy doyle said...

60%
70%
60%
50%

Stayed 26th August 2012

lovely location- sunday night special- but wedding was on- service poor - no sirloin steak at all meat overcooked- very small portions. not enough staff to cope. shame - it could have been much better.

ian hewie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2012

excellent hotel, staff friendly and very efficient.

David Simpson said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th August 2012

Very comfortable hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. Food excellent and very plentiful helpings.

D Shaw said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2012

great value for money on our three night stay. helpful friendly staff.

Alex Barrowman said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2012

This is the best hotel we have stayed in Staff were excellent & very well mannered I will definately be going back money cant buy this hospitality. Food was excellent & plenty of it. Thank You for a brilliant experience *****+

Alan Tulloch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2012

Lovely quiet location in massive grounds (we only explored some of it!) The hotel is only a short walk (10-15mins) from Dumfries proper. food is excellent and plenty of choice for ALL three courses

Debra Potts said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Aston and found the staff extreemly pleasant and very helpful. The rooms were well presented and cleanliness was of the highest order. The food was of a very high standard and i would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

I Downie said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th July 2012

I would have no hesitation in using this hotel again. Excellent food for evening meals, spacious well-appointed bedroom and set in pleasant surroundings.

Morag Fleming said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2012

Perfect weekend break. Beautiful rooms, great food and attentative staff. Definitely 5 star service - we'll be back!

N Gillespie said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th June 2012

This was our second visit to the Aston and again we paid extra for a superior room with a sofa. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We stayed 4 nights on this occasion and found the breakfasts and dinners to be very acceptable. We did have one or two niggling things i.e. no vodka in the bar one evening, slow service in the dinning room a couple of evenings. Dinning staff brought meals to the table, but returned to the kitchen empty handed, instead of picking up empty plates from nearby tables. Double the walking! However, it did not spoil our overall enjoyment and we will be happy to return.

Kenneth Simpson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2012

Nice comfortable stay after attending a wedding at the nearby Easterbrook Hall. Highly recommended

Robert McClymont said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2012

Lovely hotel, with friendly helpful staff, the food in the restaurant was excellent