Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Moira Corbyn said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th October 2015

Room very nice. Dinner excellent. Breakfast not so good, eggs like rubber, bacon unappetising. Standards of breakfast cooking at this hotel have virtually remained hit or miss for a long time. Waiting service and house staff very good.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2015

Excellent hotel . My only gripe is the potholes in the entrance road - need filled urgently before cars are damaged!

Jen Clarke said...

54%
50%
30%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2015

A warm welcome at the hotel which was lovely after such a long drive. The room was ok but I wouldn't go as far as describing it as a great room. Smaller and more dated than I expected it to be for the price that we paid.We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but had a few drinks in the bar upon our return. This was lovely and quiet. Unfortunately one of the female staff members came through and very openly 'moaned' about her working hours to the bar man and porter. It was evident that she wanted the bar closed ASAP - Incredibly unprofessional and unwelcoming. Breakfast was great and thoroughly enjoyed by the window overlooking the loch.

Stephen McCullagh said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 20th June 2015

We were very glad we got a refurbished room as the non-refurbished ones are desperately in need of upgrading. The public areas in the hotel are pretty run down too in places. The food was average at best and extremely over-priced. I'd have been very annoyed if I wasn't on the DB&B rate. The hotel staff were extremely nice, so no complaints there.

Angela Watt said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th June 2015

The restaurant had lovely views over the loch and the food was excellent. Staff were friendly and the service was good. Unfortunately we had not realised when we booked that this was a pet friendly hotel. As my husband has allergies to dogs and cats we are unlikely to return.

Andrew Evans said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 6th June 2015

Food was outstanding. As good as anything I have eaten in any Scottish hotel. Waiting staff very good. Front of house / reception staff OK, no problems. Bedroom in urgent need of a painting. For the money paid, the bathroom left a very poor first impression, though in fairness, it was spotlessly clean. I would stay here again.

john moran said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th April 2015

had a very enjoyable weekend here, been before and was not disappointed. Staff excellent as well as the food and also the rooms. Will be back.

Bernadette Milloy said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2015

Absolutely amazing weekend at Stonefield Castle. Staff were very friendly and so helpful. Hotel is beautiful with sensational scenery from every window. Will hopefully return one day.

Katy Findlay said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th April 2015

A relaxing, friendly hotel in a lovely location .

Torsten Stein said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th April 2015

Stonefield Castle at its best again. Service excellent and the food was very good as usual. The rhododendrons were stunning as well (even in the rain).

Mary Claydon said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2015

Hello, Our stay was wonderful, but spoilt by one thing. As you sit in the conservatory near to the kitchen end looking out the window all you can see is rubbish. in amongst the bushes are large blue and black plastic bags. I realise that work is being done on the gardens but this looks as if it has been there for several weeks.

James McFadyen said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th April 2015

Lovely hotel with lovely views.Excellent service

John McKinlay said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th April 2015

Both my wife and I enjoyed our stay at this excellent hotel with stunning views overlooking Loch Fyne. All members of staff were helpful, friendly and our large bedroom ticked all the boxes.

william gavin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2015

Problem with noises guests in next room dealt with quickly. The staff could not have been any more helpful.

Raymond Murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2015

This is a true gem of a hotel

NETTA HIGHET said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th March 2015

Lovely relaxing couple of days. Hotel location, super within 60acres of grounds . Wonderful restaurant with breathtaking views over Loch Fyne. Staff very courteous and try to make your stay as relaxing as possible.

Robert Hewitt said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2015

What beautiful hotel my wife and I stayed there for one night and new we had to go back, we went in March and booked up for may, all the staff were excellent nothing was to much trouble fantastic place recommend it to one and all

Anne Cunningham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2015

A charming hotel with stunning views. Very helpful staff and delicious food. My husband and I have stayed there a few times and are always keen to return. We have been lucky with upgrades and even had a suite on one ocassion.

J McDonald said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th February 2015

We booked a late deal for DBB at the Stonefield Castle Hotel. The room was lovely with views of Loch Fyne. Great food and very helpful staff.The views from the restaurant are stunning. Only problem for some people could be that you don't get a mobile phone signal, and the wifi very rarely worked. The hotel informed that you can use the phone in your room to make calls if required, and there would be no charge. Overall it was a very pleasant stay, and we will definitely book to stay at the Stonefield again.

jane clunie said...

64%
60%
50%
80%

Stayed 20th February 2015

i was disappointed to be given a ground floor room with a partial loch view this was a birthday treat and we hoped to have a traditional room. our radiator did not work but was attended to by the staff twice and there was no phone in the room.we paid extra for a loch view and feel this was a waste of money. when we went to pay on checking out the computer and printer were not working so we had to leave our bank details,not good policy, what is yoyr view on a partial refund or money off future bookings through classic britain?

Malcolm Stewart said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2015

Another very pleasant stay at the Stonefield Castle

cristian lazaroaie said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2015

100% scottish experience my first water sunrise in 11 years in scotland

STUART GIBSON said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2015

The staff at the hotel made us and our dog feel very welcome. Its a rare occasion where pets are so welcome in a hotel enviroment. The rooms werelarge and clean. the breakfast was lovely and the location is perfect for local walks.

Malcolm Stewart said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2014

Another very enjoyable stay at our favourite hotel.

Elizabeth Burnett said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2014

Excellent location, ambience and attentive staff. Only downside, for us on a D,B&B basis, was the fact that the dinner menu does not change (3/4 monthly we were told). Menu fine for those who like seafood/fish however little choice for "meat eaters". We were able to ask for stake and ale pie from the "Bar Menu". Perhaps this option could be made clear to guests.