Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2017

Nice hotel , pleasant attentive staff and reasonable food. However the room we were allocated , although spacious , was dated and tired looking. Given that though , I would book again , especially for the murder mystery weekend, which was a hoot

brian howland said...

54%
50%
50%
60%

Stayed 20th February 2017

When booking at the argyle hotel I also took the Sunday night saver on the 19th On the understanding I would be staying in the same room for the week ,at breakfast next morning I was told to go to reception . I was then told if I wanted to stay in room for rest of stay I would need pay more money . So they moved my wife and i to another room . Having to pack bags etc and unpack again.we had plans to leave early that morning to visit Isle of Bute ,we decided to leave it for another day. We decided to have a day in dunoon instead , when we arrived back at our room I could here music be played very loudly . Thought it was out at first,but realised it was coming from hotel somewhere ,I went to reception and complained did nothing We then went Down to lounge in hotel sat for a bit then went back to our room to get ready for dinner that night and could still here music played loudly in our room went to reception again to complain she said it could be coming from rio restaurant directly below us and she would tell the staff to put music down abit (which they didn't actually put music louder We went for our dinner we were in the rio restaurant having our meal and music was louder . After meal time and mentioned to a young lad waiter about the music being to loud he done nothing seemed he hadn't been told .i then went to reception again be followed to the reception by the young lad reception asked him i he turned the music down . His reply was that's the lowest it can go I then asked to be moved to another room. We got moved to another room again on second floor ,so had pack bags again Late on at night . My wife and myself are not happy with the mix up between the booking and the hotel and attitude of some staff members at hotel Yours mr b howland

brian howland said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 19th February 2017

Was put into room101 Campbell suite first .we had booked for another 4 nights dub to follow on . We thought that we would be in that room for the rest of our stay. But was called to reception after our breakfast to be told that if we wanted to stay in that room we would have to pay extra .or move to another room . I was not paying extra as the agreed rate was given when we booked . So we got moved to another room .when arriving at room everything seemed ok ,packed or luggage and relocated to room 110 not as good a room as 101 bed very small .but we not aware we were directly above the rio restaurant.the noise of the music from opening timid until after 10 pm was unbelievable Ime and my wife came holiday for relaxing quiet break but could not get to sleep because of the music .i reported this to reception and she said she would send someone up . He stood outside the room and said he couldn't here anything . I then reported it again in morniing to different person she said she would tell them to turn it down a bit.we dined that night in the rio and the music was louder .so I mentioned it to a younger chap at the restaurant ,I then went again to reception and the young chap followed me . He was insisting that the music was down to the lowest it could be . I then asked for a move to another room 3rd move in 3 days . So had to pack suitcases again and got moved to 2nd floor room 121 which was ok .the question I would like to ask why we got moved in first place .i have been used your company fr booking holidays and never had any problems,thought it was best room available at booking obviously not in this case . The is empty just trying to squeeze more money out of customers My wife and myself were not to pleased with mix up and attitude of some staff members I can't fault the hotel it is ok food and location good and good price . But didn't think we would have all this commotion. Hope to here a reply of you soon my mobile number is 07746453053 or home number 01324483549 home address 5 Devon street Grangemouth 38hg Yours mr B howland

Stephen Grant said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2017

Very nice stay, staff were excellent, very friendly. The hotel is a fair age but that did not distract from the overall experience. The location could not be better, close to the ferry terminal yet close to the town centre.

A guest said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 10th February 2017

a couple of things let this hotel down ,firsty the mattress in our room had seen better days when you wake up with a painful back its not good. regarding the food we had a 3 course meal on both nights but the main course on both nights was disappointing somoverall I cannot recommend this hotel to family or friends

A guest said...

57%
50%
70%
50%

Stayed 13th February 2015

Ordinary

Mr Lucas said...

64%
50%
90%
50%

Stayed 12th January 2017

We had picked the Argyll because we wanted to go to the Cowal peninsula, having never been. So the hotel was a great starting point. The hotel was clean and tidy, the staff very pleasant indeed, helpful to boot. We stayed in 106 which was at the front and neither were put off by the outside light illuminating the room. We were somewhat perturbed by the uncomfortable beds, but name a reasonably priced hotel that has tempur matresses? So we managed and slept okay! The bathroom was spot on, replenished with clean fluffy towels. We had dinner included and the reception girl said that it was pub grub and it was, but absolutely fine. You are not going to get Egon Ronay, however it was hearty fayre and on cold nights more than acceptable. You get what you pay for and at 160 sterling for the two nights, well that seams about right. Would we go again, yeh probably........

WILLIAM SIMPSON said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th January 2017

Good value for the money we paid,good food and nice staff,got a room upgrade on arrival without asking

linda walker said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd December 2016

lovely friendly staff and good food. rooms a bit dated but clean and confy and great value for money. the staff were brilliant nothng was too much bother for them

David Lambie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd December 2016

Cannot fault anything in our stay. Food was fantastic in both Hotel and the Rio Restaurant. Staff were very friendly. We did the 2 for 1 deal. One of the best deals about. Will certainly be doing it again before deals ends. Regards David.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2016

Really enjoyed our short stay. Staff were very polite and helpful. The tower room was the best able to see Dunoon from all three sides of the hotel. Would recommend hotel.

E Lepkowski said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2016

Had a great time at The Argyll. The room was to very nicr standard and very spacious. The Rio restaurant food was of a very high standard. The hotel staff were all very nice ,polite and helpful and are a credit to the hotel group

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Wonderful stay at a lovely hotel. Beautiful room overlooking the Clyde with a panoramic view. The staff couldn't have been more peasant or attentive. Food was excellent - all in all a great value break. We had a relaxing weekend and will definitely come back.

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 16th September 2016

This was a very pleasant hotel and the food in the Italian restaurant was lovely.some areas need a little bit of attention and our room on the top floor was rather dark but had a lovely view.breakfast was ok but not any continental choice ie croissants but otherwise a pleasant stay

ian greenhalgh said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th August 2016

the Argyle hotel was very welcomeing the food in the Italian restaurant was excellent the weather was appalling but you can't fault the hotel for that we did enjoy our stay and thank you to all the staff in the Hotel

laura ann wilson said...

57%
70%
30%
70%

Stayed 8th August 2016

Just had a few nights stay with family visiting from ovas. The hotel in itself is pleasant enough and clean enough. The staff were very helpful in reception . However the main issue was in both restaurants . There were 10 of us in our party which can be difficult to serve however the service in the Italian restaurant was very poor . It was clear our waiter could not really understand what we were asking for and eventually after nearly a 2 hour wait on a Pizza we had to ask the management of the hotel to deal with this. They were very helpful but it did make our dining experience quite unpleasant with everyone al eating at different times. A bit more efficiency in both dining rooms would have meant a far better stay. The food itself was actually quite good in bothe restaurants when it was finally served

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th July 2016

Very nice hotel staff really nice will sertanly go again

Michael Rooney said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Only complaint is the size of the room. We were given a room on the third floor which was an attic room with no window worth speaking of. The girl on reception advised to phone ahead and ask for a room on the first or second floors on any future visit.

Michael Rooney said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Only complaint is the size of the room. We were given a room on the third floor which was an attic room with no window worth speaking of. The girl on reception advised to phone ahead and ask for a room on the first or second floors on any future visit.

Michele Crawford said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Well my first visit to dunoon and what a lovely place to stay ...friendly cheery staff and food was lovely too ..thank you so much ..I will defo be back xxx

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th July 2016

Very good value for money - large, clean and tidy room (upgraded). Friendly staff. Highly recommended!

Daniel Mitchell said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Had a fantastic overnight stay with friends. Staff are wonderful....so hard working, cheery and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was fine with a hearty Scottish breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. I will be back.

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 14th July 2016

Wonderful situation great views of the water from our room. Food, room and service all very good and a special mention to the Receptionist who was extremely helpful and pleasant.

wayne hanna said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th July 2016

Friendly welcoming hotel.

A guest said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th July 2016

The staff were competent and helpful. The food was excellent and represented excellent value for money, however the room was very poor it appeared to be a single room with a double bed squeezed into it. The my hotel break.com claim that customers get best room available has in my experience never been applied. There were clearly better rooms availabke at this hotel.