Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

New Lanark Mill Hotel, New Lanark

Mill 1, New Lanark, ML119DB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

93%

Alan Tulloch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2014

Hotel staff went out of their way to minimise the disruption caused by the closure of the ONLY access road into the hotel. Alternative arrangements had been made if needing to park at public car-park. We parked at the Youth hostel area and so did not need to make use of this. The road closure was on our booking confirmation. We would certainly return to the hotel on a future date as this is our second visit to such a fabulous place / hotel.

Michelle Harkins said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th April 2014

Had an excellent time great value for money and lovely views and spa facilities and beauty treatments great. Highly recommend a visit!! Food great too!

Gillian Savory said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2014

Just a little disappointed that we were not told about the major roadworks around the hotel an grounds until after we had booked. The walk up to the public car park was very steep and would not be appropriate for those who are infirm.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your comments. There are major roadworks being carried out on the access road to New Lanark Village, however we have endeavoured to inform all of our guests and make them aware of the situation since the 27th February. Details of the road closures have also been on confirmation letters. We have also been providing updates throughout on our website. Alternative parking has been provided for our guests during any periods of full road closure. For guests who are unable to tackle the walk from the car park to the hotel we do have a vehicle on standby. I wish to assure viewers of this review, particularly those who would be unable to tackle the walk that I have staff on standby to assist throughout the day and provide the necessary transportation in order to get you to our hotel with the minimum inconvenience. Should you require further information please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel on 01555 667 223 or alternatively see the information displayed on our website concerning the road works. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager

fiona calder said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2014

Staff very efficient and friendly and food was excellent. We were on a spa break and used all the leisure club facilities , all staff were really helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return.

William Robertson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th April 2014

Really enjoyed stay. Staff were excellent.

Doreen Logan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night break at the Hotel with our Grandchildren. Our room was bright and spacious and kept clean by efficient room service. The only downside was bathroom a bit dated and needed refurbishment. The Hotel were in the process of refurbishing the rooms directly opposite to ours ( which we were not informed about) so presume they are doing upgrades throughout. Only complaint was sofa bed very uncomfortable. Last time we stayed the children had bunk beds which suited us better. Food was excellent with a varied menu and staff really helpful and friendly. They were really obliging when my husband had to stay in room with our grandson who became unwell. They allowed me to take breakfast up to our room for my husband without any problem. Swimming pool and spa area very good and clean. This is our 2nd visit to the Hotel and we would return again. Also Classic Britain make arranging your break easy and stress free.

Stuart Kennedy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2014

A great stay, no complaints at all.

Robert Reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel and all the facilities.

Aileen Philip said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2014

Third time back to New Lanark. Had a lovely few days there again.

Linda Morris said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2014

We enjoyed our one nights stay and will be recommending to family and friends.

Douglas Robertson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd April 2014

Very friendly staff. Rooms will be excellent once the bathrooms are completed (upgraded)

David Constable said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2014

Even though the hotel was refurbishing bedrooms and the road down to the hotel was under repair this did not stop us enjoying our stay.

Mrs Thomson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2014

Hotel, meals and staff all high standard, very impressed. We shall return

Donald Cameron said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th March 2014

Everything about the hotel, location, staff, food, was well above average and made for a very pleasant stay.

John Ramage said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th March 2014

We have reserved with C B many times before especially at Lanark Mills Hotel. I would recommend the Hotel to any of my friends and family and look forward to my next visit. John Ramage

Tracey Lunn said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th March 2014

Beautiful hotel. Surrounding amazing and food superb. Will definately be back.

A keenan said...

80%
100%
80%
60%

Stayed 16th March 2014

Large bedroom, clean and comfortable with great view of the Clyde. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent but my dinner was disappointing, main course of lamb was very sinewy and a good bit of it was not edible in hindsight I should have sent it back. I did complain and was given an apology. We did enjoy our stay and would use the hotel again, I would be careful choosing my meal next time.

Ann Marie lafferty said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2014

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Hotel interior nicely decorated. Restaurant and bar service excellent. Food lovely with good menu. Will definately return in the future.

D Rait said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th March 2014

Excellent service many improvements since our last visit. Interesting menu, looking forward to our next visit.

Joseph Christopher Ramsay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2014

Beautiful room. Fabulous food, well presented. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a restful and relaxing stay.

William Garrett said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2014

Excellent value. Made to feel very welcome and comfortable.

Gillian Gordon said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th February 2014

Great weekend had by all. It really wouldn't take much to make this a 4*.

William Miller said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st January 2014

Lovely setting, nice big room and fantastic food. A bit cold though and difficult to find out how to adjust the heating to a decent level in the room. Seemed clean, although bathroom looked a little "tired", if not dirty. Biggest gripe was the very poor pressure and very cold water from the shower, which unfortunately we didn't discover until late on at night. It was the same in the morning. When we queried it on checking out we were told that sometimes the hot water gets used up quickly if someone in a neighbouring room has a shower or bath first. Very poor excuse in my opinion. Other main complaint was the lack of WiFi or internet connection in the room. Its 2014 - would expect some sort of internet connection in a substantial hotel like this. I do appreciate the thick old walls are likely to be an issue, but there's always a workaround. Staff were pleasant and helpful, although the (head?) waiter was perhaps a little irritatingly over-attentive. Not sure I'd go back here, especially if it was at full price.

Alan Guthrie said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2014

This was our 2nd stay and we enjoyed our 1 night stay this time to celebrate the wife's birthday. Rooms were large and warm. Beautiful views of the river. Free use of the sauna and steam room. Food in the restaurant was nice and used the bar for a few drinks afterwards. Located in a lovely rural setting. Would highly recommend.

Elizabeth Galbraith said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th February 2014

Great setting, lovely clean facilities and fab food.