Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

joyce locke said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st March 2019

Stayed for a second time at this hotel and the recent refurb that has been done makes the hotel stunning from we walked in the door we were blown away the service was second to none and also our room was decorated to a very high standard too our food was great also will definatly be returning again

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th March 2019

This is the third time I have stayed here and it was excellent as usual. Rooms are spacious and the food outstanding.

ruth woodhall said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2019

A lovely stay....thankyou.. you have a wonderful chef and helpful staff.

Anne Marie Bergin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Excellent value for money, 2 nights B and B with 2 course dinner on the first. Hotel is being upgraded, the room we had was very clean, modern with crisp white linen and fluffy towels. Tea/coffee making facilities available. Beautifully decorated restaurant served really good food so much so we ate there by choice on the second night, prices were reasonable. Breakfast was cooked to order with a variety of other things laid out buffet style. Helpful, pleasant staff. Only problem we had was no on check out day due to a plumbing issue. Will most definitely return.

C Paterson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th March 2019

Second night here it was great staff very helpful

C Paterson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd March 2019

Fabulous stay for our Wedding Anniversary staff and food was excellent

Kathryn Hilland said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th February 2019

We spent a lovely couple of nights at Hetland Hall Hotel. All the staff were very friendly, the room was very comfortable and freshly decorated. The food was delicious.

Barbara Harrigan said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

Lovely hotel and accommodation with grounds to relax in. Room spacious and catered for all your requirements. Room had a jacuzzi bath which was heavenly and large shower. Food lovely and varied choice for dinner and breakfast. Only grumble would be we stayed in the Penthouse Suite and Bath robes would have been the finishing touch and breakfast dishes could be cleared quicker from the table as not enough room on a table for 2.

Andrew Campbell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Just back after spending 5 nights at this beautiful hotel we were in the deluxe room which was clean and modern and very spacious the food was excellent and the staff vere very friendly and helpful will definitely be back

kathryn Moralee said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Beautiful hotel, food was lovely. Room very nice although bathroom was freezing but that was the only fault in a perfect stay Would definitely return

lynn mackenzie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Absolutely beautiful . The grounds were amazing the rooms were beautiful . the staff were fantastic and the food was gorgeous the breakfast and dinner we had was spot on we will definitely be back to this amazing hotel it was that good we didn’t want to leave ??????????

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Amazing hotel. So staff 1st class. Accommodation lovely. Bed so comfortable. Great nights sleep. Very peaceful. Good excellent. Only negative. Supplement for eggs Benedict at breakfast. Have never had the before. When I asked about it at reception couldn't really give an answer as to why.

Julie Doyle said...

87%
100%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

On arrival we were advised that our room was above the function suite and that they'd been unable to advise us due to booking via a third party (I find this hard to believe but accepted as aware hotel was full before we arrived and therefore unable to move and after a 2 1/2 hour drive we didn't want a fuss as there to relax). Fast forward to 12 o'clock and we're back in the room feeling like we're at the wedding reception it was so loud! Called reception for earplugs and when unavailable asked for two es to be brought to the room as obviously not going to sleep anytime soon. es delivered in open glass bottles which promptly fell over and from the tray whilst being passed over to my partner at the door. e over my partner, the carpet and the ceiling. So there's us, a dribble of e in each bottle and me scrubbing the e off the carpet as it's everywhere (you couldn't write about it.....we can laugh now and i bet you are)! Function finished after around 1am and fell asleep only to be woken at 3.30am, and constantly for the rest of the night, to doors banding. The result of a wedding guest having folk coming and going all night. The doors to the rooms are very heavy and near impossible to close them without a bang, we tried! Hotel and grounds lovely, food overall really nice, service a bit hit and miss, bar closes a bit early in my opinion at 11pm and difficult to get service thereafter. We would return but just not to a room above the @@@@ function suite. Disappointed to be honest at being charged the full rate for the first night as it was in no way what we expected, wasn't relaxing and somewhat ruined our next day as very tired. As we were away for my other half to relax due to long working hours and as it was our actual anniversary the day we checked-out, I didn't query the fact that there was no offer of reduction aside the removal of the room service charge. PS We stayed under two bookings so arrived Sat 16th and left Mon 18th. No dramas on the second night thankfully

Elizabeth said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th February 2019

Had a fantastic stay in this beautiful hotel. Hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and everywhere is looking great...from the comfortable seating in the bar to the large and very comfortable rooms. Had dinner both nights and it was very enjoyable and breakfast was also very good. Liked the fact that the hot food at breakfast was to order rather than buffet style, and therefore piping hot. We did receive an upgraded room but had to ask for it. Receptionist didn't seem to know about this website's 'best available room' offer so maybe this needs to be made more clear to staff. However, all staff were very helpful and obliging throughout the hotel. Can't wait to return very soon!

William Campbell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2019

Beautiful hotel, well worth the upgrade to the superior room, stunning decor. The lounge bar and restaurant very inviting and appealing. The food in the evening was also beautiful, breakfast also lovely. My husband said that the eggs benedict, £2.95 surcharge, were the best that he has ever had. Staff charming.

John Douglas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2019

What a first stay at Hetland Hall and certainly not our Last. Lovely peaceful country setting. The hotel is a mixture of old country house and new modern hotel. Our room was in the old part and the room was stunning. The bed could have taken 4 people and is one of the most comfartable i have slept in. Breakfast fresh cooked and plenty. Dinner first class.Lastly the staff. It is a pleasure to stay at a hotel where all the staff are so freindly and helpfull. We hope to be back soon.

Susan Kelly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2019

Our recent stay at Hetland Hall was excellent. The room we had was lovely, bright and spotlessly clean. Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. We will definitely return.

John Paterson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2019

We had an enjoyable 3 nights at Hetland Hall, decor of rooms are really bang up todate, very clean and tidy, all the areas we saw have been recently refurbished, food was excellent, staff are very attentive and friendly. Staff discovered an issue with the shower drain in our room and asked if we could move to another room. Of course we said yes and when we returned to the Hotel in the afternoon, we were surprised to find out that we had been moved into the honeymoon suite ! All in all a great small break , we thoroughly recommend this Hotel, will definitely be back another time.

John Nisbet said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2019

A big thank you to Myhotelbreak.com and a big thank you to Hetland Hall. One of the nicest weekend breaks we have ever had. Friendly staff, beautiful hotel and food to die for. PURE DEAD BRILLIANT!!!!!!

Bryan Vardy said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st January 2019

Stayed on a Thursday night , hotel is fantastic and has been upgraded recently, very comfortable, food very good and great service, will return.

Tracie Wilkie said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Stunning place, beautiful decor, food was lovely, a bit expensive for alcohol, and staf far to young and need extra training esp in the bar. A boy to young to serve alcohol should not be left behind the bar by himself, and the other bar staff (tall gent with blonde hair and glasses) was actually not much help to anyone.

Margaret Reid said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th January 2019

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. The staff are wonderful and can't do enough to help. Our room was very comfortable and the refurbishment is excellent . Hope to come back soon.

marilyn hollinsworth said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2019

Fabulous weekend at this lovely hotel.rooms are very modern with huge beds. The hotel is spotless and the wedding room looked amazing with panoramic views over the garden. The staff were very helPaul and couldn't do enough for us. The food was amazing. Would definitely visit again. Xxx

sharon hunter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th January 2019

FABULOUS ! Lovely friendly staff immaculate rooms and outstanding food :-)

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2019

Our first ever stay at Hetland Hall was phenomenal. Upon arrival we were greeted by the most amazing Christmas tree I have ever seen. The grounds in where it is situated are amazing with a little wooded park for the children. It was clear frosty day and couldn’t have been any more of a delight. The check in girl was very welcoming; the room was spotless with top quality furniture and accessories. I was really delighted with The Scottish Fine Soap Company products in the bathroom. The dinner was delicious, as was the breakfast. We were provided a booth on both occasions and were made to feel extremely welcome.