Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

jackie lafferty said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2017

Took my parents here to celebrate their diamond wedding anniversary, I asked the hotel if they could give them an upgrade which they upgraded them to a beautiful four poster suite with red wine my parents were over the moon. After dinner we went to the Scottish entertainment which was really good the guy in the drums announced their anniversary and presented my mum with a bouquet of flowers and a lovely card from management and staff. Can't praise this hotel enough.

Andrea O'Sullivan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2017

Thank you to all the Staff at the Cairndale for looking after us and making our stay a wonderful one...From checking in to using the facil in the Leisure club and all meals in the Restaurant the staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable ....Douglas and Amy truly are an asset to the hotel and our Daughter Alexandra loved chatting to them, Nothing was to much trouble and we can't wait to return...Thank you from the O'Sullivan Family...

A guest said...

57%
30%
70%
70%

Stayed 6th May 2017

I booked the room as a gift for my Mum for her Birthday and despite a friendly and attentive welcome from the Hotel Receptionist the stay at Cairndale has got to be classed as a disappointment for my Dad and her. The room was very basic and certainly didn't justify the money that was paid for it, the bathroom was very dated and appeared not to have been cleaned properly with dirty fingerprint on the hand basin and bath areas. It is a shame that the flagship hotel of Dumfries has let it standards drop as low as it has. Things must improve.

Mrs Burns said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th October 2010

Stayed at the Cairndale Hotel for our wedding anniversary and weren't disappointed. Lots to do in the area. Staff very friendly and our room on the ground floor was very nice.

Samuel Ball said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th May 2015

Managed request for a front room, which was a nice corner room ,we were situated at the nend of a corrido,r ideal for our 3 rooms. Meals were excellent.

Fred Burke said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 1st May 2017

Really nice hotel central location in town easy walking distance to town shopping area. Reception staff welcoming and informative. We were allocated room with a recently refurbished bathroom really modern/stylish with a tv at the foot of the bath and an integrated radio in the mirror.The room itself was fine spacious, clean and tidy though not quite the same standard as the bathroom. Evening meals in the restaurant were good and decent selection on the fixed menu, a la carte had more choices which we opted for on the first night and only incurred a small charge for going over our allowance we went for the fixed menu on second night and found no difference in the quality of food I felt that service was a bit slow but that's probably a personal thing, breakfast was typical buffet fare and plentiful other options were cooked to order ie kippers, porridge, poached eggs. Overall a nice break.

Jim Harrigan said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 29th April 2017

Friendly welcome from staff who are happy to help in any way however better organisation within the dinning room and attention to detail/ dinners needs would improve the overall experience hugely.Proactive and delegation training would improve the staff's ability to anticipate all customers dining experience and prevent certain staff doing all the work while others set up tables ignoring customers eye contact. Dated furniture/ decor match the buildings age but clean and more than adequately equipped for your stay. Enjoyable weekend .

Donald Morrison said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2017

Beautifully refurbished, friendly and efficient staff excellent food reasonable drinks prices. Great location. Only one complaint. My wife is not very mobile and path along the front of the hotel the disabled access is very poor. The path along the front of the hotel is very poorly maintained and the access doors are narrow.

A guest said...

95%
90%
N/A
100%

Stayed 27th March 2017

We enjoyed our short stay at The Cairndale hotel, the staff are very friendly, the food is very nice well presented,the room was very spacious, and cleaned every day, and the sports/swimming/etc is excellent.

Mary Canning said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2017

Had a lovely weekend break at the Cairndale. Hotel was good and staff excellent nothing was too much trouble. Beatles tribute on the Saay night was excellent, John and Paul interacted with the crowd and were a good laugh. Would go again to the Cairndale.

Mr McNellan said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th March 2017

Very small rooms, only main lights, no bed lights for reading,very poor mattress in room 88,otherwise clean and tidy. This was supposed to be a tribute night to Lionel Richie but as I'am a fan I was very disappointed as it was clearly a Motown night, the singer Richie Penrose was good but not what I was expecting. I complained to the manager who refunded £20.

E Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2017

Found this Hotel spotless - check in was no proble at all, reception staff could not have been more helpul - our room was in the attic but was huge - also had great few over to the Church and hills in the distance. Went for a walk after checking into our room, but weather was awful so came back for a swim Meal on the first night was superb - all staff were very pleasent, nothing was any bother - then walked too nice pub which was about 2 streets away. On the Saat had a lovely breakfast - then went on Robert Burns trail with a stop off at the Church for coffee morning - had 3 cakes which we did not need after our lovely breakfast at the hotel - after being out walking for about 4hrs returned to hotel for a nap then for another swim Meal at night one again was 1st class - also the Beatles trip act was superb - the boys work so hard - you would think you were looking at Paul & John - well done boys great stuff Breakfast in morning again 1st class - did not eat just as much as we were heading home on the bus to Glasgow I would use this hotel again

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th March 2017

Good hotel situated near centre of town. Lovely meal on Friday night, but let down with poor meal on Saay at Tribute night. Tribute act, Just John & Paul, were fantastic and made for a wonderful weekend.

William Stewart said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2017

We enjoyed a great weekend. Good food and good entertainment. The staff are first class and we could not fault anything. Although we didn't use them there is a spa and pool. We will look out for further tribute nights although the talented Saffron will be hard to beat.

William Stewart said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2017

We enjoyed a great weekend. Good food and good entertainment. The staff are first class and we could not fault anything. Although we didn't use them there is a spa and pool. We will look out for further tribute nights although the talented Saffron will be hard to beat.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2017

Great weekend. Hotel and staff lovely. Cabaret was good and enjoyed being allocated to table with other guests. Would love to go back.

J Dempsey said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th February 2017

Had a very good weekend at the Cairndale hotel, my only criticism was that the rooms were very cold. You have to upgrade your heating system. All the staff were very nice and helpful, will definitely be back again. Keep up the good work at the Cairndale.

Katrina Ruddy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th January 2017

Fab birthday weekend.Party iof 8.. Excellent staff, food and entertainment.

Mary Bunyan said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 20th January 2017

Very comfortable hotel food and service very good would go back again

kate mccristall said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 6th January 2017

Room was freezing on arrival as heating did not come on till 5pm and the windows were open it is after all January. Asked at reception for batteries for remote so had to go down on knees to work tv ( still waiting on them) The lift did not work on the 2nd floor to go down so going down with a disabled daughter was not good at all. There is no bar open in the daytime so we had to go out to eat unless you wanted to eat in the pool area. Dinner both evenings was very good (even if we did pre book a table ) but couldn't get it as they were too busy with a large party so we had to wait. Breakfast was a washout too many people at one time. Tribute act was good.

Brian Leighton said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2017

We all had the most wonderful time the staff, food and the entertainment were First Class. Thanks again Brian & Sheenagh.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2016

Nice hotel very handy for town centre and railway station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good in restaurant breakfast buffet good selection. Will return soon.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2016

Nice hotel very handy for town centre and railway station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good in restaurant breakfast buffet good selection. Will return soon.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2016

Nice hotel very handy for town centre and railway station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good in restaurant breakfast buffet good selection. Will return soon.

F Pearson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2016

Nice hotel very handy for town centre and railway station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good in restaurant breakfast buffet good selection. Will return soon.