Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

72%

E Lepkowski said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2016

Had a great time at The Argyll. The room was to very nicr standard and very spacious. The Rio restaurant food was of a very high standard. The hotel staff were all very nice ,polite and helpful and are a credit to the hotel group

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Wonderful stay at a lovely hotel. Beautiful room overlooking the Clyde with a panoramic view. The staff couldn't have been more peasant or attentive. Food was excellent - all in all a great value break. We had a relaxing weekend and will definitely come back.

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 16th September 2016

This was a very pleasant hotel and the food in the Italian restaurant was lovely.some areas need a little bit of attention and our room on the top floor was rather dark but had a lovely view.breakfast was ok but not any continental choice ie croissants but otherwise a pleasant stay

ian greenhalgh said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th August 2016

the Argyle hotel was very welcomeing the food in the Italian restaurant was excellent the weather was appalling but you can't fault the hotel for that we did enjoy our stay and thank you to all the staff in the Hotel

laura ann wilson said...

57%
70%
30%
70%

Stayed 8th August 2016

Just had a few nights stay with family visiting from ovas. The hotel in itself is pleasant enough and clean enough. The staff were very helpful in reception . However the main issue was in both restaurants . There were 10 of us in our party which can be difficult to serve however the service in the Italian restaurant was very poor . It was clear our waiter could not really understand what we were asking for and eventually after nearly a 2 hour wait on a Pizza we had to ask the management of the hotel to deal with this. They were very helpful but it did make our dining experience quite unpleasant with everyone al eating at different times. A bit more efficiency in both dining rooms would have meant a far better stay. The food itself was actually quite good in bothe restaurants when it was finally served

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th July 2016

Very nice hotel staff really nice will sertanly go again

Michael Rooney said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Only complaint is the size of the room. We were given a room on the third floor which was an attic room with no window worth speaking of. The girl on reception advised to phone ahead and ask for a room on the first or second floors on any future visit.

Michael Rooney said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Only complaint is the size of the room. We were given a room on the third floor which was an attic room with no window worth speaking of. The girl on reception advised to phone ahead and ask for a room on the first or second floors on any future visit.

Michele Crawford said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Well my first visit to dunoon and what a lovely place to stay ...friendly cheery staff and food was lovely too ..thank you so much ..I will defo be back xxx

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th July 2016

Very good value for money - large, clean and tidy room (upgraded). Friendly staff. Highly recommended!

Daniel Mitchell said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2016

Had a fantastic overnight stay with friends. Staff are wonderful....so hard working, cheery and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was fine with a hearty Scottish breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. I will be back.

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 14th July 2016

Wonderful situation great views of the water from our room. Food, room and service all very good and a special mention to the Receptionist who was extremely helpful and pleasant.

wayne hanna said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th July 2016

Friendly welcoming hotel.

A guest said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th July 2016

The staff were competent and helpful. The food was excellent and represented excellent value for money, however the room was very poor it appeared to be a single room with a double bed squeezed into it. The my hotel break.com claim that customers get best room available has in my experience never been applied. There were clearly better rooms availabke at this hotel.

Yvonne MacLean said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2016

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was great and bottle of wine was an added bonus.

John Bulloch said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 24th June 2016

enjoyed our stay nice pleasant staff

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th June 2016

Had a really nice time, staff very friendly, hotel very clean and food was great and generous portions

A guest said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 18th June 2016

Literally the room was a shoe box. With an attic window that showered you with what I can only describe as bird mess an sloping roof and floor. Couldn't get into the room even with 3 keys and "the manager" absolute joke. Asked to switch rooms an were told a blunt no with a look of how dare you. Not to mention we had to jam several pieces of paper into the card slot so the room light / power was not actually like some dodgy 80's disco. Absolutely appalled. As for "Rio" wouldn't even bother. The starter was cold, the main was mouldy and the desert was actually off. So that was great. If your looking to drop a few pounds I would definitely stay here. If the food doesn't make sick, the room might & the hotel manager most definitely will.

Audrey Galloway said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2016

Had a fabulous overnight stay at the hotel, arrived early and were allowed to check in early, food was fabulous in the Rio restuarant and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Room we were allocated was the Maclachan Room with a lovely four poster bed overlooking the town square. Will definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone

Eric Donaghey said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th June 2016

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends as we found it excellent value for money and very friendly staff.

Y MacLaughlin said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th June 2016

We had a lovely stay in a great room with sea views. Staff were all very helpful and polite. Would certainly recommend this hotel. We used vouchers which were reissued because of a terrible stay elsewhere and were delighted with our stay. Ian the manager even let me change choice from set menu to accomodate food preferences. Bar, reception and waiting staf very nice. We will be back later in the year for a friends birthday.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th June 2016

My husband and I had a great stay here. The value for money was amazing. The food was delicious and the staff were helpful and happy. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay again!!!

brian howland said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th June 2016

My Mrs and me really enjoyed our stay at the argyle hotel Dunoon , location of hotel is nicely situated for access to town and waterfront, the hotel itself , was welcomed by very pleasant and helpful staff ,our room was clean and well equipped with all you need . The choice of menu was fantastic .plenty of choice on menu .in both restaurants .would definetly go back .

A guest said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 29th May 2016

Good spacious room needs TLC, friendly and helpful reception and breakfast service, dinner service and food has considerable room for improvement

Linda Calderwood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2016

This was a very quaint hotel, the staff were all so friendly and very helpful, cld not do enough. We ate both nights on the River restaurant and I must say these food was fantastic and very big portions. If I could score more than 10 for food, I would...