Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Yvonne MacLean said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2016

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was great and bottle of wine was an added bonus.

John Bulloch said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 24th June 2016

enjoyed our stay nice pleasant staff

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th June 2016

Had a really nice time, staff very friendly, hotel very clean and food was great and generous portions

A guest said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 18th June 2016

Literally the room was a shoe box. With an attic window that showered you with what I can only describe as bird mess an sloping roof and floor. Couldn't get into the room even with 3 keys and "the manager" absolute joke. Asked to switch rooms an were told a blunt no with a look of how dare you. Not to mention we had to jam several pieces of paper into the card slot so the room light / power was not actually like some dodgy 80's disco. Absolutely appalled. As for "Rio" wouldn't even bother. The starter was cold, the main was mouldy and the desert was actually off. So that was great. If your looking to drop a few pounds I would definitely stay here. If the food doesn't make sick, the room might & the hotel manager most definitely will.

Audrey Galloway said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2016

Had a fabulous overnight stay at the hotel, arrived early and were allowed to check in early, food was fabulous in the Rio restuarant and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Room we were allocated was the Maclachan Room with a lovely four poster bed overlooking the town square. Will definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone

Eric Donaghey said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th June 2016

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends as we found it excellent value for money and very friendly staff.

Y MacLaughlin said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th June 2016

We had a lovely stay in a great room with sea views. Staff were all very helpful and polite. Would certainly recommend this hotel. We used vouchers which were reissued because of a terrible stay elsewhere and were delighted with our stay. Ian the manager even let me change choice from set menu to accomodate food preferences. Bar, reception and waiting staf very nice. We will be back later in the year for a friends birthday.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th June 2016

My husband and I had a great stay here. The value for money was amazing. The food was delicious and the staff were helpful and happy. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay again!!!

brian howland said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th June 2016

My Mrs and me really enjoyed our stay at the argyle hotel Dunoon , location of hotel is nicely situated for access to town and waterfront, the hotel itself , was welcomed by very pleasant and helpful staff ,our room was clean and well equipped with all you need . The choice of menu was fantastic .plenty of choice on menu .in both restaurants .would definetly go back .

A guest said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 29th May 2016

Good spacious room needs TLC, friendly and helpful reception and breakfast service, dinner service and food has considerable room for improvement

Linda Calderwood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2016

This was a very quaint hotel, the staff were all so friendly and very helpful, cld not do enough. We ate both nights on the River restaurant and I must say these food was fantastic and very big portions. If I could score more than 10 for food, I would...

INNES SMITH said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th April 2016

Stayed here with my wife and four friends on a 2 NIGHT DBB, 3RD NIGHT BB (FREE) Deal. This deal was great value for money and the location of this hotel, the staff and food were all excellent. With choices from the Bar Menu, A la Carte and an Italian on site restaurant there is something for everyone and the cooked Argyle breakfast is among the best, however the management need to make sure that when these dine inclusive packages are booked that waiting staff can explain how the deal works, we were given three different versions from the two waiters on duty on our first night and the receptionist. Other Guests were given similar conflicting versions. I had to approach Dev the manager who confirmed that there was a set allowance per head ( £15.95 ) and that anything over this value was charged as a supplement.Our room overall was of a good size and very comfortable, there was a bulb out at one side of our bed and the light above the bathroom mirror did not work, the shower head inlet fitting leaked reducing the water flow to the head but given that these were not big issues I did not complain. I am sure however had I chosen too that they would have been rectified very quickly. The Argyle is showing signs of its age in some areas but overall is a nice place to stay with nice friendly staff.We would certainly visit again.

Mary Canning said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2016

My party of eight had a great time in Dunoon. The Argyll Hotel was an excellent base for our Murder Mystery Weekend and would have no hesitation returning or recommending to friends. Well done Argyll Hotel.

A Lightbody said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2016

The only downside was the car parking we had to park in the car park across the road which wasn't very handy when we arrived it was raining. We had a sea view room and in the morning it was lovely only thing about looking out the window was the pigeon poo on window sill. There was not really a lounge to sit in, the dining room was a bit dowdy and there was a bit of noise coming from the kitchen when we were having our evening meal. On the whole it quite a pleasant stay.

drew semple said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2016

great weekend,great food and staff,many thanks guys.

Robert Harkness said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st April 2016

Really friendly staff,very good menu, reasonable bar prices and free room upgrade to the Campbell Suite with a four poster bed

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2015

all good - will definetly go back

suzanne pettigrew said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2016

Excellent value for money.we checked into one of the clan rooms could not fault very clean,beautiful view all staff very polite and friendly, food in restaurant was lovely too.would definitely return to this hotel

roy tattersall said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2016

really enjoyable stay from the moment we arrived till we left the staff couldn't have been more helpful, we could not fault the hotel at all

Michael Rollo said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2016

My wife, myself and members of our extended family had a very pleasant stay at the Argyll. The staff were most helpful. The food was excellent. The beds were very comfortable. We had a sea view which was very nice. The bathroom was smallish and the stairs have an older decor. Overall we were very happy.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2016

Enjoyed our stay however disappointed with the romance package - no wine or chocolates just a seaview and some towels in the shape of a bow!! Service in Rio restaurant not so good however it was a full restaurant.

Margaret Holmes said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2016

1 minor fault which was that the television was mounted on the wall far to high . Every thing else was greatfood staff etc. Would go back again Margaret

K Donaghy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2016

Lovely stay at the Argyll Hotel, Dunoon. Sea view room nicely appointed, warm, great big bath towels and great shower. Great value for money and our dinner in The Rio restaurant was superb. Very contemporary restaurant great service and friendly staff. Had lunch in the bar and again was very good and lovely ladies serving, great prices too. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly and clearly nothing was too much for them. Please read the in house info sheets which are very informative as I later discovered. Having placed a bottle of wine in a sink of cold water to chill I discovered the hotel provide ice and a bucket free of charge on request, I will know better next time.

PAMELA Bell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2016

Fab deal, great location, staff, food and rooms.

A guest said...

34%
60%
20%
20%

Stayed 5th February 2016

My first mistake was not noticing the hotel was a Best Western (BW), if I had noticed this I would never have booked. BW have never been kind to me, my expectations were low and I wasn't proved wrong. The room was OK, it was larg enough and the view was good. The mirror was set to high on the wall and if you sat on the stool you would only see the top of your head. The TV could not have been mounted any higher on the wall. If you had a neck like a gffe you would have been fine but to watch TV from the bed was a wast of time. The room was clean and so was the linen. The dinning room was well located but just as cold as it was out side (Feb), how are you supposed to enjoy a meal when it's freezing, that was just a joke. We asked for a heater it was so cold and the first one didn't work. Breakfast was good apart from no beans, why is there no beans ? BW cater for the working man, we all eat beans with a fry up breakfast, you most certainly not the Hilton. I won't be using BW again, I believe they are over priced and over rated, cheaply run and not worth the money.