Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Tinto Hotel, Biggar

Biggar Road, Biggar, ML126FT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Lynn Screen said... Hotel has replied

64%
50%
60%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2016

For what we paid it was good value. Certainly areas of the hotel could be improved and updated and I understand improvements are ongoing. When we went to the bar for a drink we waited quite some time and eventually had to go and find staff on each occassion. As part of our deal, we had a bottle of wine included and chose to take it to dinner with us only to be told we couldn't actually do that. The waitress explained that we could drink our wine in the lounge outside the restaurant and she could keep it until we finished dinner but we couldn't actually crossover the line into the diner. We found this bizarre... We found the room a bit dated but clean and the bathroom completely taken over by the bath. The shower left a lot to be desired - very hard to control water temperature and no real power to it. Would definitely benefit from electric showers. We enjoyed breakfast. We also would have liked to have left the car and explored Biggar and as it was too far to walk we thought about ordering a taxi but overheard a group of guests being told that she was having great difficulty getting them a taxi as it was during the day and the taxi firm tends to work at night. Surely a taxi firm would be glad of the custom coming from the hotel . This unfortunately would put us off returning to the hotel as you are very much stranded should you have a drink and cannot drive.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to review Tinto Hotel. My apologies for the issue with the wine at dinner, this is not a policy with regards to wine from ourselves, it is for someone whom has brouhgt in their own wine but as this was not the case with yourselves you shoudl have been permitted to take your wine in to the restaurant, I have passed this on to the manager to discuss with staff to ensure this does not happen again. The hotel has no control over loval business such as taxi services whom are very busy at certain times of the day especially during school runs and weekends (with all the local wedding venues). We do try to pre-arrange taxi's when possible for our guests however there is usually a taxi available when called even if a guest is required to wait a bit for them to be available. I am sorry to hear you did not have a fully enjoyable experience but i would hope you would visit us again for a relaxing time away as the location of the hotel is perfect for anyone whom wishes to 'get away from it all'. All the best to you and yours.

Adam Samuels said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2016

What a wonderful hidden gem. This hotel has a lovely feel and atmosphere to it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and will do anything to help you. There are some parts of the hotel which are quite dated but at the end of the day it is a country house hotel. Would definitely go back there again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again for another break. All the best from the Tinto Hotel team.

E Black said... Hotel has replied

64%
20%
70%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2016

We stayed over night on 10th September 2016 Room very basic The view from room was a concrete jungle just a mess some back of hotel area with weeds horrible . Food was good and staff nice

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to review Tinto Hotel, I am sorry to hear you did not have the best stay and the room and it's view were not up to standard. Glad to hear you enjoyed the food and that the staff were nice. We do hope you will return again, please do ask for a room with a nice view.

Robert Logan said... Hotel has replied

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2016

My wife and I had a lovely overnight stay with excellent food, helpful and efficient staff. We will certainly be back and can happily recommend.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for reviewing Tinto Hotel, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed yoru stay. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sarah REYNOLDS said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2016

Another fantastic stay at the Tinto everything about or stay was excellent. The food, the accommodation, the location and especially the staf combined made for a very enjoyable weekend Would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait for my next visit.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the excellent review and for your recommendation. Come back and see us anytime!

Campbell Anderson said... Hotel has replied

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2016

Had a nice relaxing night at tinto house hotel.got a great deal through my hotel breaks .com.the staff in this hotel were very friendly the rooms were basic but clean and the food was amazing with a great choice.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we do hope you will come back for another relaxing break soon. All the best from the Tinto team.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

44%
50%
50%
30%

Stayed 12th August 2016

Would not book this hotel again

Hotel reply...

I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay, could you please contact me regarding the issues you had. sales@tintohouse.com

A guest said... Hotel has replied

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 10th August 2016

Hotel looked beautiful, after walking through into corridor our room was on there was a different smell from the rest, although the room was nice and clean. There was mould around our window which looked out onto kitchens. Bathroom again was clean, however mould/orangey staining around the tiles and grout, which put me off using bath/shower. Breakfast was OK, not the best but beans were of a cheap variety definitely not hp beans, but not the worst breakfast I've had either. Nice choice of cereals, jams, and fruit. At times of eve meals there was a long wait so by time we got food my 2 yr old daughter was rolling around on floor at our table bored and over gry/tired. Then we ordered dessert and waited ages for that to come. Woman serving asked me to watch my daughter, which I obviously had been doing intently and making sure she wasn't in way of staff serving. So felt a bit insulted that she felt she had to state the obvious. I then asked if we could be seated outwith dining area as i knew my daughter was too tired, and if I tried to put her in seat she wd start rebelling or . As the very helpful young man helped us to move I overheard and saw said lady moaning about us to her colleague. I felt so insulted and frustrated, and felt as an older woman this was extremely unprofessional. Tainted my experience and for both our breakfasts after that I asked for us to be sat in the waiting area again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments onto housekeeping. I have emailed you regarding the comments made by a staff member during your dinner, I am truly sorry for your experience, I would like to discuss this with you when you have time. Please do get in touch, sales@tintohouse.com

Fiona Grieve said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2016

A lovely relaxing night away was what we wanted, and this was exactly what we got! Lovely room and lively food. Only negative would be the water pressure making having a shower not so good, maybe need electric power showers?

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the lovely review and for your feedback on the shower. This is an area we are looking at while refurbishing the rooms and will change when we have found the best option. We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2016

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay and the food was excellent . The only thing that lets it down a bit is that the rooms could really do with a refurbishment .

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to review Tinto Hotel, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working on refurbishing all the bedrooms we are sorry one which has already been refurbished was not available for you during your stay.

Lynne Conaghan said... Hotel has replied

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2016

Excellent staff so helpful. Rooms fresh but very tired however hotel undergoing full return to attain four star standard. Food excellent

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the lovely review and the mention of the staff. We do hope you will vist again soon. All the best from teh Tinto team.

donald linton said... Hotel has replied

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2016

Everything was good except show to hot and not able to control electric shower would be lot better

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the feedback, we are working on improving the showers in some rooms which at times can be difficult to use. So sorry you were affected by this. We do hope you will return for another stay at Tinto Hotel. All the the best to you and yours from the Tinto team.

Sarah REYNOLDS said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2016

Had a fabulous two nights. Everything was spot on the food, the staff, the area and our room. Would not hesitate to recommend the Tinto House Hotel and would give it a five star rating.?????

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the fantastic review and the recommendation. Please do come back soon!

Caz Yorkston said... Hotel has replied

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2016

The room was basic but everything else was fantastic ,staff were polite and friendly also knew what they were talking about .But the best thing o was the meals !!!! They were amazing ,they have one awesome chef .Will definitely be back xx

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the great review, we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms which may be finished by your next visit if not please do ask for a refurbished room which will allocate if available. Until we see you again, we all wish you and yours the very best.

Elizabeth Robb said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2016

Nice quiet hotel, great staff. Food in hotel is like pub food, but pub food done very well. Nice choice for breakfast. Room was very contemporary and clean. We will visit again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

wendy wilson said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 31st July 2016

Lovely pleasant stay

Hotel reply...

Thank you, we do hope you will come back for another pleasant stay.

wilma Halliday said...

50%
20%
60%
70%

Stayed 29th July 2016

Girl on reception was very nice, our room wasn't ready but she went away and hurried them up so we got in quickly! First impressions were of a hotel that probably 20 years ago would have been a lovely place, now however all areas are very dated and in need of tlc. Our room was two single beds pushed together cz bedding was clean tho, with duvets and bed runner, extra pillows in wardrobe but one of them was stained. Modern style double wardrobe but prehistoric dressing table/ drawers! Old fashioned sash windows that were rotten with peeling paint and were dirty inside and out! Cobwebs on curtain-rail! Bathroom large and adequate with shower over bath, again tho badly in need of revamp, black mould, rust and discoloured grout all around!! Threadbare towels!! We had dinner on first night which was lovely, plenty of choice! Only thing here was the steak pie was made using FROZEN pastry, clearly with quality of food this shouldn't be!!! Breakfast was lovely with plenty choice,. BUT!! I asked for a "milky coffee" the boy said there's milk on the table, I explained no, I would like one made fully with milk, at which point he lifted the small milk jug and took it away, he appeared 5mins later with a pot of filter coffee to which the said milk had been added!!!!!! I explained once again I would like a coffee made with fully hot milk, ten minutes later, when I had finished my bfast, he returned with another pot of filter coffee to which slightly more milk had been added! By this time I had lost the will to live!!!! Surely my request wasn't that hard! Also felt this hotel was VERY understaffed, you had to go ting someone through the day if you wanted a drink!! tails were listed on the drinks menu but when I asked for one I got told We don't do them??????? All in all we had a pleasant stay here for the price we paid, but luxury it certainly isn't. PS. Needing some entertainment at night, especially a Saay, as there is nothing to do!!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 30th July 2016

My Partner and I really needed a night away from it all and this Hotel done just that, our room was beautiful not to mention clean and the bottle of Red was such a lovely touch too (how did they know we loved a bottle of Red). Our Evening was lovely from the staff being so pleasant and friendly with us to our Evening meal, which was just beautiful and the presentation of it all was such a lovely touch too. Breakfast was decent but not the best.. But all in I'd definitely come back for the right deal.. Thank you

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taing the time to review Tinto Hotel, glad to hear you enjoyed stay. I would very much appreciate your feedback on breakfast so we may work on improving our service and what we offer, please email me on sales@tintohouse.com

R Clark said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2016

The hotel was excellent, our most enjoyable short break in recent years.

Hotel reply...

Fantastic, happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

gerard murray said... Hotel has replied

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 29th July 2016

myself and mywife had a very nice overnight stay at the tinto house hotel .we had a lovely bright corner room .I believe it was room number 16. wewere given a free bottle of wine on arrival and the hotel allowed us to swap it for a nice bottle of rose.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are very happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon.

Margaret Templeton said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2016

Had a nice time here, walking Tinto Hill and weather pleasant. Friendly staff

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the nice review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you back again.

Fiona Harris said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
70%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2016

Nice hotel. Very relaxing. Food lovely and both food/drink are well priced. Would stay again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th November 2014

only spent 1 night here, however I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, we do hope to see you again.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2016

Nice Hotel in pleasant surroundings very handy for an overnight stay on route to Borders. Staff friendly and helpful. Only complaint noisy guests at 1.20am but mentioned it to staff in morning and they apologised and said they had the matter in hand .

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the lovely review, so sorry you were disturbed during the night. We do hope it won't prevent you from coming to stay with us again.

caron dunn said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2016

Absolutely fantastic excellent food and service and staff lovely particularly the girl on reception who made a fuss over our wee chiwawa

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the great review. We hope you will visit again soon.