Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

RACHEL PATERSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2019

We had a lovely time but was really upset that I had to pay extra for a room with a walk in shower as I have recently had hip surgery and can’t have a shower over bath, surely this is discrimination against disabled people. I had to upgrade and pay twenty pounds extra per night. My husband and I book a lot with my hotel break so I expected better. The staff were really lovely.

Jim Mcdonald said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2019

This is our 3rd time of staying here and as usual staff very helpful and friendly food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast has always been to a very good quality,Rooms are always spotless and great view from rooms onto course if you have booked one lol,Must say about outside coming into hotel and patio area outside a lot of weeds coming through slabs and potted plants all looking dead not seen it like this before and not a good first impression walking into what is a lovely hotel but will definitely be back soon ?

John mcluckie said...

70%
20%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2019

Beautiful hotel staff very friendly and fun and nothing to much for them, meals (menu has a good variety) from breakfast ? to dinner will return again as we had a great time away plus our room overlooking the golf course which was very nice ?.

Kathleen Shields said...

54%
60%
40%
60%

Stayed 9th July 2019

This is a 4.5* hotel, we were disappointed by the lack of atmosphere in the hotel, the only member of staff that actually had a conversation and tried to Make our stay better was Sarah the receptionist we first met, she quickly tried to amend some setbacks which we had regarding our room lamp not working , faulty handle , wine not in room as stated, she even gave us an upgrade to a better room with a fantastic view of the 18th hole, we felt we could not complain about the shower tray plug was blocked and took ages to empty and the spotlight reading lamp didn’t work as she’d given us the upgrade free which she’d told us would be £20 if we’d requested it , however on check out her colleague tried to charge us £10. We used the spa pool, jacuzzi , steam and sauna , which was brilliant , lovely comfy loungers to lie on with available towels to use! We booked dinner for 8pm , menu looked good waiters and waitresses barely communicated or interacted with the customers and there were a few couples talking to each other but it was quiet and had no atmosphere .even the barman exchanged few words, we felt a bit uncomfortable . Soup for first course was great came with bread, my partner had the beast burger which was amazing , I had the chicken with Mediterranean veg , I was disappointed with it the breast of chicken had a large piece of skin and there was a huge bone and gristle on the chicken the veg was hard and I didn’t like the sauce , no waiter/waitress came to do a check till clearing the plates , she did try to rectify it by taking the meal off the bill but it was a voucher so it was prepaid , I’m the end we got “3 beers and a tea free” dessert came out sticky toffee pudding x 2 mine looked like someone had taken a corner off it fo I sent it back the waitress said the chef said it was where the grease proof paper had been . I was not convinced ! They did replace it and it was delicious. On retiring to Our room which was big , had a comfy bed tea and coffee and biscuits . Next morning breakfast was served till 10oclock we went down at 9.30 am to find we were in a queue, we were told by the manager they were waiting on tables being cleared , there were 6 other parties of people waiting before and after us which we thought was ridiculous, I went to reception to say we wouldn’t be checked out at 11am as they requested as we were in a queue for a table , she said she would speak to someone , about 10 minutes passed and the manager came to say a table was ready , he didn’t give eye contact or conversation apart from sorry for the wait . It wasn’t particularly busy and there were a few staff on including the manager who was clearing tables . There was a continental help yourself table and a waitress brought tea/toast and took the order for breakfast , we didn’t get her name , but she was a bit more interactive with us and asked questions and checked if we were ok. Breakfast was good, we were able to pack up and check out. We did pass on our comments to the receptionist and told her we’d be writing a review. She then tried to charge us for the upgrade as previously mentioned . Don’t think we’ll be going back any time soon !!!!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th July 2019

Hotel was exactly as advertised, staffs were excellent and helpful, and the food was great. Excellent choice for a short break. We recommend this hotel for a short break or a holiday.

Veronica Nolan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Had a lovely stay @ this hotel. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the green. Which was just lovely. The bed was was very comfortable and staff were very helpful! The hotel setting is beautiful and dinner in the hotel and the new golf club restaurant were lovely! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

A guest said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 28th June 2019

We were here over the weekend Everything was fine on Friday lovely room with a lovely view Unfortunately on Saturday there was a wedding on and as usual with only one bar it was taken over with the wedding party Also very noisy in the lounge

David Crawford said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th June 2019

Nice hotel, great room with a balcony, could have done with air conditioning, staff very helpful and friendly, very relaxing time.

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2019

Lovely hotel, only complaint/comment was that as the room overlooked the practice putting grren we were disturbed around 0530 each morning by the grass cutters and rolling machines! Not really within the control of the hotel but worth bearing in mind with the lighter mornings. WiFi seemed a bit 'hit-and-miss' across three devices, which was surprising, but didn't really affect our enjoyment. Spa treatment was also amazing.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2019

Selection of food in restaurant was a bit disappointing. Thought a Table d'hote menu would have been available as well as the a la carte menu.

isabel kennedy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2019

Staff were excellent, food amazing and couldn't fault accommodation. Had a lovely break in a great location.

Donald Ferguson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2019

Good sized rooms for standard. Very clean and fresh. Staff excellent and helpful. Food very good value for money. Would thoroughly recommend. Might be helpful to confirm whether beds are ordinary double or king size - though this applies to many hotels.

Christina Reid said...

80%
100%
90%
50%

Stayed 14th June 2019

We had a lovely time at hotel & we saw all the refurbishment work that had been done. Staff were all very pleasant & helpful. One small thing was our meal on first night. Starters & desserts were very good. Scallops, excellent & the strawberries & sticky toffee pudding superb. Both main course were most disappointing. Lamb was very tough, even with a steak knife & chicken was wet & definitely not roasted. For that reason we ate out the second night. This would not stop us going back but we would be more careful choosing our main course. Can't go wrong with fish & chips.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th June 2019

Excellent hotel we have been a few times and its good value for your money

Linda Mullen said...

60%
80%
80%
20%

Stayed 2nd June 2019

Hotel was nice enough, little bit dated in parts. Room was nice, but very hot and no air con, too windy to have window open all night. Biggest let down was the food, really disappointing. “Artisan” bread was literally 6 slices of ordinary brown and white bread cut in half. Starter was ok, though my husbands duck salad looked like packet duck and not freshly cooked. The batter on my fish was soggy, and the fish very ‘fishy’ which generally means it’s old. The chips were soft and reminded me of school dinners. My husband’s steak was fatty throughout, and the ‘peppercorn’ sauce was more like a standard gravy. Breakfast was not much better, though I’ve had worse. Bacon very fatty, poached eggs a little overdone and tomato not cooked.

Mari Gibson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Great staff & hotel...3rd visit & will certainly be back

Margaret Nicol said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 28th May 2019

This was at least the fourth time we had visited the Hotel and it has lost nothing of its attraction!

Joan McDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd May 2019

Best short break ever! Hotel was fantastic in every aspect. All staff were lovely, friendly & helpful. Great location & beautiful food. Thanks to My Hotel Break. com.

nikki clyde said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2019

Stunning scenery, lovely hotel, staff were very welcoming, leisure facilities were great, food was awesome, will be back very soon. You won’t be disappointed

stewart sharp said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th May 2019

There were used toiletries in the shower on check in, which made us question if it had been cleaned properly. On day 2, room was serviced but used towels were not replaced and used toiletries not replaced. Reception did rectify when reported but not the standard I would have expected.

Lesley Weaver said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Third time and was excellent as usual. Staf lovely. Really felt like I had a holiday.

Margaret Graham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Repeat customers who once again had a very relaxed two night weekend. Staff as always were very hard working and professional. Food very tasty and well presented. Thank you again

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2019

This was our first visit here and I am pleased to say we will be back. The rooms were clean comfortable and were a descent size, the location is great and the food was excellent.

ALAN MUIR said...

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 10th April 2019

Very nice hotel with comfortable & good size rooms. Leisure facilities are very good too. Dinner was well presented & food tasty. Breakfast service bit mixed. Ok first day but second day I got my cooked to order hot breakfast within 2 mins of ordering it - hadn’t even had time to get my cereal! Nice bar area but disappointing selection draft beer - especially no Scottish ones!!

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2019

Good relaxing break. Attentive and friendly staff