Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Lesley Sutherland said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th March 2019

My husband and I love staying at this hotel. Nicely situated good views and great food

Linda Miller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent service. Lovely room and great food. Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Duncan Mackay said...

65%
70%
N/A
60%

Stayed 12th March 2019

We recently stayed at this hotel on a B&B deal with dinner on the first night. Reception was nice and staff welcoming. We had a room on the 3rd floor with stunning views overlooking the Championship Golf Course. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with the exception of the bed which we both found to be quite uncomfortable - the pillows and the mattress were quite hard and springs could be felt through the mattress. We had just checked in and were relaxing on the bed enjoying a bottle of champagne when another resident entered our room with a key! He was as perplexed and embarrassed as we were. He said he had left the room in the morning and all his belongings were still in it at that time, so why it was cleared of his belongings by staff and then given to us I don’t know. It was very awkward and unsettling. We had dinner in the hotel that night and the food was good, nothing special but tasty enough. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection. The bar area had a somewhat strange layout with not really enough tables for the space available and number of guests. We chose to eat out and have a drink elsewhere on our second night, whereas had the bar area been more accommodating we would rather have enjoyed a drink there. When checking out we were charged for our evening meal on the first night, even though it was part of our deal, but that was resolved after we questioned it. All those wee niggly things in themselves are not a big deal (apart from a stranger walking into our room - that was a big deal), but when added together they just take some of the shine off the experience. All in all it was a nice break in a great location, but we’re unlikely to return.

G Richmond said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2019

Very enjoyable stay dinner and breakfast very good as was room and service

jane connolly said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Overall hotel was very clean and comfortable, wonderful to have ice machine on every level. Amazing staff especially housekeeping, they were all so cheerful despite heavy turnover of rooms. The Standard room was spacious, well laid out with roomy bathroom with bath and shower, all spotlessly clean. Only drawback with our room (209) was it faced car park not fairways so no view although not a major problem in winter as dark early anyway. We dined at hotel first evening but whole experience was disappointing, very little atmosphere in either dining room or bar are/lounge. We experienced some issues with the food, firstly we dined at 8pm by which time a number of both starter and mains had run out but still offered on menu. We suspected owing to the hotel being at full capacity, much of the food had already run out even though another sitting was at 9pm. Secondly a starter of langoustine and scallop was presented as 2 tiny scallops and an even smaller prawn for £10, this was later deducted from our off bill when we commented on the portions size and lack of langoustine! Lastly other problem was a pork dish described as pork loin which was in fact just a pork chop. Another disappointment was the spa facility which only opened between 9-5pm. This neither permitting a pre-breakfast or early evening swim / relaxing use of steam/sauna prior to dining, very disappointing as the pool and sauna looked very inviting. Unlikely to return.

David Gourdie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Absolutely fantastic! Ticked all the boxes! So good, I'm even going back next week with my good lady for a 2 night stay.

Helen Clapperton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

booked a last minute deal hotel was fab staff lovely + food great will definitely be back

DEREK MASON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Throughly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel, very good leisure facilities swimming pool sauna , steam room & jacuzzi. Very pleasant staff who are always looking to help you to ensure your stay is a good one. Will look forward to returning to this hotel in the not so distant future.

David Donegan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Great Hotel. Could not find fault anywhere.

Lianne Petrie said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Really enjoyed our stay at the carnoustie golf hotel,outstanding food and staff,the only area which needs improvement are the actual rooms,very basic with not much character,pillows and bed not the comfiest.

Hazel Black said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2019

We had a large modern room overlooking the golf course which was well furnished. The bathroom was a good size with a large shower. The room was cleaned to a high standard. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and the food was excellent.

Marfaret Corletto said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 8th February 2019

Nice welcome when arriving room ready early. Room comfy and had a nice relaxing time in Leisure Facilities. Good night away.

James Weir said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2019

Our recent Stay at the Carnoustie Hotel was a real treat. Very relaxing, Cosy Atmosphere and staff always helpful as usual. Food, Service and rooms where lovely and as a regular visitor I know there has been renovations within the hotel and outside area to ensure visitors are getting good value. One negative was the Jacuzzi in the leisure centre has a very dodgy bar which is supposed to support you entering the pool. 2 cones at either side to make you aware NOT to use this way to enter. Also at 1 end of the pool a line of cones to make you aware the tiles are missing!! As a 4 star hotel that held the Open in 2018 this is very disappointing. Surely at not much cost this could have been repaired to make safe these 2 areas.

jason wells said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Hotel was fantastic and well worth the price ?

Mrs Hanlon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Once again, had a great stay. Brilliant b&b deal. Bought overnight breaks for a few relatives as Christmas presents.Great hotel, nice friendly staff. Breakfast is to die for. Good choice. Nice leisure facilities. Jacuzzi is really hot. We'll be back again.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Booked the b and b deal for friend as gift...the hotel was lovely and we ended up eating in the hotel as weather was so cold but that turned out to be fine as food in restaurant was superb. Overall great weekend break...would go back.

Fiona Armour said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly. We got an upgrade when we checked in which was a nice surprise. Great spa facility’s. Would love to go back l.

Barry Goodwin said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2019

Lovely hotel, great food and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again.

Frank Gillone said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 23rd January 2019

Wonderful location, pleasant and helpful staff and a room with a view. A perfect break.

Raymond Warren said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th January 2019

Our room window looked onto the glass roof of the hotel entrance, I asked if there was a chance of a room change and was given another room with a fantastic view of the sea /golf course, the receptionist was really helpful.

Anne-Marie Quinn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th January 2019

Not the first time we have stayed at the Carnoustie golf hotel but first one booked with myhotelbreaks.com. I must say it was a fantastic deal and hotel staff, room and food amazing

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2018

We had an excellent few days at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very good walks outside the hotel along the seashore paths and into town. It is also an excellent base for touring eg. Dundee (V&A) and St.Andrews.

Gordon Carlton said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Great break lovely hotel. Leisure facilities good and for breakfast this was first class only fault was there sausages only one word for them disgusting apart from this excellent break.

ross neilson said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 3rd January 2019

A bit disappointed, been before and great this time not so good .booked double room bed looked a bit tight after a poor nights sleep asked at reception about bed and was told it was a SMALL double . Never heard or this before ! Had to pay £15 for upgrade to get a double bed ?! Very weird Had to return breakfast on first on first day as it was not very warm. Do not think we will use again as it has put us off .

james forbes said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th December 2018

The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient They made our stay enjoyable and I would recommend the hotel to friends and family