Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews

, St Andrews, KY168PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Catherine Mackie said... Hotel has replied

80%
100%
80%
60%

Stayed 1st August 2015

Wonderful 1 night stay here, although disappointed with the food for a 5* hotel. We ate in the Italian restaurant which could have been anywhere. Didn't feel like I was in a hotel never mind a 5* hotel. I think you would have to go out of the hotel building to the clubhouse to get the 5* food which is slightly annoying, especially if the weather is not good. Wouldn't stop me going back but would definitely eat at the clubhouse next time. Not sure if the courtesy bus would take you to and from the clubhouse in inclement weather?

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that you did not have a good dining experience. I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage team as they are currently reviewing the restaurant menus. The clubhouse has also been relaunched with a new menu as St Andrews Bar & Grill which I hope you will try on your next visit. The shuttle does take guests to St Andrews Bar & Grill in bad weather. We hope you will return to stay soon! Kind Regards J Keating General Manager

Alison Reilly said... Hotel has replied

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th July 2015

There was an incident in the restaurant..this was recorded... To date I have had no response!! Enjoyed our stay but not 5 star and improvements need to be made with regards to this incident.

Hotel reply...

My apologies for the incident that occurred and I trust that you have now had a response from one of the team. If you have not heard can you please contact my assistant on Lesley.falconer@fairmont.com with the details to enable us to respond to you personally. Kind Regards J Keating General Manager

janice cosgrove said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2015

wonderful hotel we enjoyed it from start to finish, staff are amazing cant do enough for you, as it was our anniversary they gave us bubbly on two occasions for free, room was amazing.

Hotel reply...

I am delighted that you chose Fairmont St Andrews for your anniversary celebrations and that you had such a fantastic time. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and have passed your comments to the Executive team to discuss within their departments. I hope that we will see you back again very soon. Kind Regards J Keating General Manager

James mcgown said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th June 2015

Well mannered staff spotlessly clean made to feel welcome overall an excellent hotel experience will definatly be back thank you for great stay

Hotel reply...

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, I am delighted that you had such a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards J Keating General Manager

J Graham said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd May 2015

no safe in room - although brochure in room said there was one - reception thought some safes were being updated so our room MAY be one. although DBB rate - near impossible to have decent 3 course meal for allowance. Having to go out in rain and wind in evening to clubhouse for meal although pleasant enough in clubhouse and driven there and back - it is a tad inconvenient when weather unpleasant. Feel residents should get into car park parki had to be valet parked because of total chaos at hotel due to wedding guests. Felt staff should have been controlling parking for wedding. Apart from above another pleasant visit to the Fairmont.

graeme sinclair said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st May 2015

review re 2 night break in may. check in fast and efficient. bedrooms nice. la cucina restaurant - poor. served us our starters before we received a drink.food just ok if overpriced. the clubhouse though was excellent and better represented 5 star. breakfast was fabulous too with the haggis a must try. the sports bar stopped serving very early and one customer was turned away despite being seconds late for last order - poor show. the kittock bar was cosy and classy though service was painfully slow. over 20 minutes to pour my first drink of the weekend. minor annoyances - room service didnt appear till circa 4pm on the saturday then tried to enter at 930am on the sunday. wasnt delivered the wrong newspaper - twice.both bath robes had holes in them, no complimentary bottled water. all in all a nice weekend. nice hotel with a great variety of options. other classic britain deals offer better value i feel. thanks

Stephen Trainer said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st May 2015

Have now stayed at the Fairmont several times but would say allthough still an excellent hotel I do think the bedrooms need freshened up.

Elizabeth Boyd said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 23rd April 2015

Enjoyed my stay very much and the staff were excellent. However I was not impressed that the only restaurant within the hotel was an Italian restaurant. The clubhouse was very good but was a short distance from the hotel and was reached by many steps. The squires restaurant within the hotel was closed because it was now the summer season! However on the hotel website a special winter deal was offered until 30th April. I won't be returning to the fairmont until the restaurant situation is changed.

William Stewart said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Fabulous hotel, very friendly staff, food excellent, wine a bit pricey, but all in all had a fantastic two nights away.

Christina McLelland said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th April 2015

My husband had a wonderful weekend at the Fairmont, and could not have asked for anything to be better.

Douglas Bott said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th April 2015

Friendly staff, helpful and great mini bus service into town. Nice food but expensive. Good spa but again expensive.

Hilary Tennant said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 7th April 2015

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Rooms are well presented and the service is excellent.

Doreen McNicol said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2015

Our third stay and this was as enjoyable as ever.

Helen Kyle said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st March 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay,albeit too short. The setting was absolutely beautiful and we found the staff very helpful and polite.

Mrs Geggie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2015

The bedroom was lovely only one complaint the pillows were like bags of cement otherwise my birthday was an extremely enjoyable occasion and the hotel were very kind and considerate. Breakfast was great with lots of choices and the evening meal was excellent.

Dennis Kerr said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2015

Very nice staff, cleanliness of hotel not good.

Karen Murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st March 2015

Lovely hotel and staff especially Tam the porter.

L Wallace said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th February 2015

Yes we had a lovely stay at the fairmont. We could not fault the staff, service and the lovely hotel. It really was a pleasure to stay here. The staff are all so polite and helpful, nothing is a problem to them they just do it all with ease and understanding. They really are a credit to the hotel.

Barbara Allan said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th February 2015

All staff great customer service

Mr Gillan said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 17th February 2015

this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting i was a bit disappointed in the food the buffet breakfast had a great choice but both days the food was cold

Jennifer Campbell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2015

Wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel. Staff all very friendly. The best breakfast we have ever had in any hotel. Would highly recommend.

Catherine Page said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2015

Definetly go back got a great deal .Could not fault anything

Graeme Fulton said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 31st January 2015

Breakfast service was poor. Dinner was very good.

Mrs Shand said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd January 2015

Excellent

Catherine Muldoon said...

50%
60%
60%
30%

Stayed 20th January 2015

I found the bathroom extremely dated and not of the standard I was expecting from a 5 star hotel. I was disappointed that The Squire hotel was closed therefore the only options for dinner was the Italian restaurant and bar restaurant. The Italian restaurant menu was quite limited and food disappointing. I would not intend staying at this hotel again as I was extremely disappointed especially as I had booked this as a present for my partner and it did not live up the reputation I was expecting from a 5 star hotel in St Andrews. I would book with Classic Britain again as I have been previously successful with other bookings, for hotels of a lesser standard which were fantastic but this hotel in particular was not as it should be and I would not stay there again.