Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

George Whittall said...

44%
30%
30%
70%

Stayed 31st December 2018

The hotel was on the cool side and there was no in the morning. The food was good though the breakfast service was slow

mary dunsmuir said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 31st December 2018

Had a wonderful stay here. The staff so friendly,pleasant & courteous. Food was excellent very comfortable room bed was amazing slept like a baby xx

jennifer brodie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2018

Absolutely fabulous 2 nights at Hetland Hall. Our first time at this hotel but have stayed in other RAD Group hotels. Staff very attentive, food excellent although limited choice for breakfast.....only hooked options were from full Scottish breakfast, though what we had was lovely. Had upgraded to the penthouse......wow well worth it! Will definitely be back!

Irene Trotter said...

70%
90%
80%
40%

Stayed 27th December 2018

We recieved a warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel The room was absolutely stunning - the only issue was the bathroom was extremely cold but I think that was because of the draught coming in through the old windows Dinner was lovely and again lovely friendly staff We had a great nights sleep, lovely comfy bed Breakfast was a different matter We arrived at 930am were shown to outlet seat by the waiter who was a bit sharp with us Told to help ourselves to fruit, cereal, juice etc but the bowls were mostly empty Our order for hot food was taken at 950am and was brought to our table at 1020am The bacon, sausage and mushrooms had been deep fried and the black pudding was raw When asked if everything was ok we said no the explanation we were given was that they were short staffed and the waiter was going to speak to the chef When he returned he apologised that the chef had cut corners when preparing out breakfast and that when we were checking out we would be reimbursed We were offered an additional night B&B at lochside by way of apology Greatly received

Susan MCDONALD said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2018

The most gorgeous room i ever stayed in at any hotel. Beautifully furnished and spacious. Waking to see wild deer in field through our bedroom window was stunning. Very attentive a polite staff, lovely food and I look forward to returning.

Alan Keachie said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2018

Hotel staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Would definitely return.

A guest said...

87%
90%
70%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2018

Put a review on TripAdvisor titled disappointed but have not received any reply from the hotel.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 23rd November 2018

Lovely hotel newly refurbished. Very impressed with the decor & size of the room. Great bathroom with really good shower.

linda gow said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2018

What an amazing hotel..Staff fantastic could not do enough for you.Room was to an extremly high standard.Food was first class only complaint with the food was the portions LARGE can this be a complaint.I would without a doubt recommend this hotel to any and everyone.

Tim Binney said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Luxurious room, friendly and efficient staff.

John Sutherland said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, warm and nicely decorated, staff were very helpfull and the meals were great, all in probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in for quite a while.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2018

This was our second stay this year at Hetland Hall and both stays were very enjoyable and we loved the new decor.

elizabeth burns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2018

what a fabulous hotel! Can't believe the price we paid for such luxury. Beautifully renovated, fabulous setting, would be wonderful for a wedding. The staff were very welcoming , the room was superb, everything brand new. The food was delicious with very generous portions. Would highly recommend this hotel. would love to return.

Maureen Connolly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2018

Absolutely stunning hotel set in beautiful grounds. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and decor throughout the hotel was stunning. My room as a single occupant was very large and the bed was huge and comfy. Can't wait to return or try one of their other hotels in the group.

William Hill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2018

Although the hotel was in the process of refurbishment, this did not detract from the experience whatsoever. The rooms were wonderful, modern and well appointed. The dining room was very pleasant and the meals lovely. But as everywhere the thing that makes it stand out is the staff, and they were pleasant, helpful and made you feel very much at home. Top marks all round.

Josephine Hunter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2018

Beautiful hotel with lovely helpful and friendly staff . Hotel is currently being renovated but there is absolutely no impact to residents. It is carefully planned to ensure this . The food is excellent and of a very high quality, the rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable we will definitely be back!

Ronald Whitelaw said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd October 2018

Excellent midweek break. Food, staff and hotel of a very high standard. Well positioned to visit a number of interesting locations. My wife and I will certainly return.

les BALMER said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd October 2018

A fine country house hotel obviously recently modernised. A little work still being done but did not impact at all on our stay. Modern, clean and well appointed bedroom and bathroom. Pleasant bar/lounge and restaurant areas, food excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. This hotel has now set the standards for us to compare others, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2018

Friendly efficient staff, beautiful rooms and excellent food !

Michael Moore said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2018

My partner and I spent one night at Hetland Hall. The hotel itself was undergoing renovations, however these did not impact us in any way. The hotel will look amazing when the renovations are complete. We stayed in a standard room, but it was anything but standard. Well decorated, well furnished, and spotlessly clean. We ate at the hotel restaurant, and found the selection and quality of food to be excellent. Prices were also very reasonable. would definitely recommend

William Hill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2018

What a fabulous hotel this is as good as any five star. The room the food and the staff are all first class and nothing is to much trouble. A special thank you to Kelly on check in??I would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

karen charlton said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2018

Lovely hotel. Staff very friendly from Kelly on reception and Mark on the bar, also gentleman with a beard in the restaurant sorry didn't get his name. The room we were allocated was out of this world, the best hotel room I have stayed in. The hotel was busy with a wedding but this didn't spoil our enjoyment. Food at both dinner and breakfast was very good. Hope to return

ISABEL MCNULTY said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2018

We had a wonderful break at this lvly hotel. Owner Robert and his wife Vivian are bringing this old manor house back to life. We had a beautiful room and we also viewed Honeymoon Suite which was stunning. Food & staff excellent everyone so friendly. We will be back.

Margaret Etherson said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2018

We had a 2 night stay at this hotel .it is advertised as a 3 star this hotel should be advertised as a 5 star we know there are renovations in progress but this does not disturb the guests ,our room was gorgeous the food is second to none the waiter we had at breakfast and lunch in the bar ...Andy...is a very obliging guy ..very cheery and always there to say Hi , ..we met .,by chance ...Robert it turns out he was the owner he had lovely chat with us and definately people friendly guy we will definately go back and have recommended this to our friends ..all staff from reception to cleaning team where very friendly

Margaret Etherson said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2018

We had a 2 night stay at this hotel .it is advertised as a 3 star this hotel should be advertised as a 5 star we know there are renovations in progress but this does not disturb the guests ,our room was gorgeous the food is second to none the waiter we had at breakfast and lunch in the bar ...Andy...is a very obliging guy ..very cheery and always there to say Hi , ..we met .,by chance ...Robert it turns out he was the owner he had lovely chat with us and definately people friendly guy we will definately go back and have recommended this to our friends ..all staff from reception to cleaning team where very friendly