Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Yvonne Lees said...

20%
40%
0%
20%

Stayed 23rd January 2016

Horrible, old, tired, poor hotel. We choose this due to a special offer with classic Britain (£40 b&b) & the high rating Trip advisor, what a mistake. This is not a 3 star hotel more like a 1, 2 at a push. I found out later that this hotel has changed hands & is now managed by a Indian/stani family. First impression, no car park, (use Public at sea front), poor looking front doors, reception, old dirty/ broken floor tiles, aprox 5ft high reception counter. The polish receptionist allocated us room 133, which turned out to be in the bowels of the hotel, behind the public bar gents toilets, and not 133 but 33. The room can only be described as poor, old fashion, 3 beds & a black dirty looking PVC fold down couch, stained carpets & a strange smell, the outlook was from ground level non secure old sash wIndows, onto a dull slabbed back court of a house next door. I requested a room change, but the manager was a waste of space, not customer focused, poor English, unfriendly & just totally uninterested. His mumbled response, turned out to be "there were no rooms available" January hmmm! It was basically take it or leave it, no apologise, no eye contact. Due to our late arrival, we decided to stay as at least the bed sheets seemed clean & the bathroom was ok. It gets worse, our room was below a function room, which had a event on with a band, the whole room vibrated with the noise, I really struggled to sleep (scratching all the time), the fire alarm goes off 6.10 am for some time, my husband opened the door only to have what seemed like a homeless person go by, I decided to take as much as I could with me on the way out ( which is also a story) the alarm had been going for at least 20 mins and the only people trying to get out were from the 2 rooms on our floor (homeless couple & us) strange as the hotel was suppose to be full. Eventually some young Scottish guy (the only English 1st language staff) advised us it was a false alarm to go back to bed, only for the alarm to go on & off again for 20 mins an hour later. The breakfast was ok, but was not the saviour for the Trip Advisor marking. To be honest I only wanted out of the place, all I had was toast & tea, my husband ate the breakfast. I hadn't even unpacked. We woke at 9.30, had breakfast & were waiting on the ferry at 10.20. Never again, don't waste your money or time going here.

Richard Houston said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th December 2015

Complete redecoration since our last visit and once again all staff very friendly and helpful.

William Walker said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 20th November 2015

A real 'customer friendly' hotel well worthy of it's 3 star rating. All staff extremely friendly and being a very senior citizen went out of their way to assist me. The Rio Italian restaurant provided an extensive menu and high quality meal. The breakfast in hotel dining room was more basic and limited in choice.

KAREN CUDDIHY said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2015

We had a lovely couple of days in the hotel. Our room had great sea views, was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We booked DBB and the food was lovely and very well presented. We definitely will make a return visit.

matt forsyth said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th November 2015

Wonderful 1 night stay despite the weather. Staff great. Rooms very good size though one had very small shower room/ toilet. Great views. Modern and clean. Food very good both dinner and breakfast. A bit of a hitch going for dinner. We were advised to go at 6.20 as there was a bus party at 6.30. We found bus party had occupied anti-room (we're we were hoping to dine) prior to the dining room proper being opened. Only took 10 minutes or so to clear so not to bad really. Probably no problem had dining room been opened a bit early, if possible

Maria Butcher said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2015

Everything about our stay at the Argyll was positive,from the friendly informed welcome to the spotless comfortable bedroom to the beautifully cooked and presented meals. The bar is very reasonable and the staff were friendly and efficient without being intrusive. It is in a great position for the town and promenade and the lighting on the outside of the building is like a welcome beacon to the traveller, we will be back!!

E Mcmullan said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2015

Lovely stay. Staff very pleasant. Rooms nice and comfortable. Good food both dinner and breakfast.

James Macdonald said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th October 2015

Hotel seemed unaware of "wine in room" part of offer, when we enquired about it. However, it bottle of wine made available at dinner and not charged as an extra.

Steven Dock said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2015

Location great. Food lovely staff very helpful and great view from my room117. Will be back ..

Isobel McArthur said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2015

we booked for a murder mystery weekend at the Argyll Hotel it was fantastic value for money, the entertainment was really good, the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, we were very impressed that they did not rip us of with the prices at the bar as so many hotels do. The rooms where a little dated but very clean and comfortable, I would certainly recommend the Hotel and will go back

Eileen Cairney said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2015

Hotel rooms are fairly small but comfortable and clean. Food was very good and waiting staff very attentive. Only gripe was the poor attitude of the receptionist but the manager took our comments on board and I feel certain he will address them. Our visit was to attend a Murder Mystery at the hotel which was well organised and lots of fun with the actors involving the guests. Would happily return to the hotel and recommend it to friends.

Brenda sIMPSON said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2015

We have stayed at the Argyll several times before and decided to go there for our Anniversary. We booked the 2 night Romantic break but were taken aback when on arrival the manager could not find the booking. He asked us to wait while he investigated the matter. After about 30 minutes he told us he did have a small third floor room which we could have for the first night and then he would move us into an upgraded room for the second night. As the first night was our anniversary we were a bit disappointed. We had also paid for chocolates and wine as part of the deal but we did not receive them until the following night. The manager was very nice and tried his best but it didn't really make up for the confusion. This deal was also more expensive than the 2 night breaks we have had before so our expectations were higher and we felt a bit let down. The hotel is in an old traditional building but has been refurbished and is generally pleasant. The rooms we have stayed in are clean and comfortable. However, the room we stayed in on our first night this time was built in the roof space and the ceiling was low at one side. The bathroom was still a bit dated and the hair drier was tiny and lacked power. The staff in the hotel are mainly foreign but we have found them to be hard working and very pleasant.The food at breakfast is good and evening meals can be taken in the dining room or in Rio, the hotel's fusion restaurant where you can eat from a limited fixed menu. All in all we like the Argyll and we will go back as the 2 night DBB deal represents good value for money. However, we were not so lucky with our stay this time.

laura porter said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th August 2015

Staff very pleasant . Awful smell of dampness as you enter building , there was a wet patch on walls not sure if this was causing the smell or the mops .bar and restaurant area pleasant , service good. Food reasonable as was price of drinks .Avoid family room 33 , this was large however stained carpets and chair , it certainly was not refurbished . Bins outside windows and on 1st night bottles emptied into them , however when I told reception this noise was keeping my child up it was quickly stopped and not heard again on the further 2 nights we stayed. My parents had a nice room though a bit dusty .

Carol Williams said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2015

Wonderfully positioned three star hotel with clean bright comfortable bedrooms. The food in the Main Restaurant, Bar and the Italian Restaurants are first class. The staff were very efficient and friendly. Nothing was a bother. A great weeekend.

sarah-jane emslie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2015

We were double booked on or secound night and but up in a very smelly b &b this spoiled the holiday for me and my partner. Our room was upgraded for 1st night and comp wine with our meal but this didn't make up for it, lovely hotel, just wished we could have stayed there for two nights instead of 1

Allan Campbell said...

57%
70%
30%
70%

Stayed 24th July 2015

great stay for the gangsters and molls weekend, only fault was the VERY slow service at dinner that had a knock on effect on the entertainment.

Mr Bennett said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd July 2015

Lovely stay.Went for a fery ride across the Firth of Clyde.

Elizabeth Devlin said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th July 2015

We had a lovely stay here staff were superb room large and airy only complaint and it is outwith the hotel remit was the noise from bar across the street I'm sure midweek it would be great but at weekend terribly noisy. Just get room at back...

Elizabeth Harney said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Argyll Hotel. Bedrooms were clean and modern with comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in Hotel Restaurant 1st night and Rio Restaurant 2nd night. Only problem encountered was length of wait for meal in Rio Restaurant but they did cook individual meal on request. Great value for money. Would recommend hotel.

Catherine Evans said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2015

2 nights dinner bed and breakfast for

heather paterson said...

37%
50%
40%
20%

Stayed 15th July 2015

hotel had a great view an was situated well

Elaine Love said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2015

Lovely hotel, excellent service.

Peter Crawford said...

67%
20%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2015

Very disappointed with room it was on third floor and an attic bedroom condensation on windows shower was in the bath and as this was under the eves we could not stand up in it my husband is in his 70year and he found this difficult as he is just out hospital. No point in asking for change of room as there was a function on. This will not stop us from booking with Classic Britain as this is the first bad experience we have had. There was a function on in the dining room on Sunday and the noise and language was over the top.

John Traynor said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Argyll. The staff were excellent in every way, cleanliness was of the highest order and the food was first class, in both the Rio and Argyll restaurants. However, we were extremely disappointed to be allocated a cramped bedroom on the top floor, which was really no more than an attic single with a smallish double bed. To be fair, on pointing out the "best available room" commitment in the online promotion, we were offered the option of a better room for the first night, changing to yet another for the second night - but that seemed too disruptive on such a short stay and we declined. Perhaps more might have been done to accommodate us more satisfactorily? That said, in the light of my opening remarks, we would not hesitate to choose the Argyll again, albeit with more advance vigilance regarding room allocation. Yours sincerely, John Traynor

Mary Brogan said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2015

A very pleasant stay at The Argyle, staff helpful and welcoming. Enjoyed our stay in upgraded room with sea views.