Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

John MacKenzie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th September 2014

Staff were all so nice, very friendly and helpful, first class!

David Fraser said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th September 2014

Bedrooms were good, bed was a bit hard, staff at reception and at breakfast were really good, all in all a really good stay at this hotel, would definitely go back, views from front sitting room were very nice.

A Colley said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th September 2014

Our 3rd visit to the Oban Bay Hotel. The staff are all excellent, very welcoming and helpful. The food is good and the rooms are clean and comfortable, so we are happy to recommend this hotel to other visitors.

robert welsh said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2014

Very good value for money, with friendly helpful staff, ideally located next to the town with great seaviews. The food at oban bay was very good and would give any michelin star restaurant a run for its money. We will definately be using this hotel again...superb

E Faulds said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2014

A very enjoyable stay with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Staff were always helpful.

June Wilson said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2014

bathroom needs upgraded in room 51 bath/shower mixer is not thermostatically controlled - almost got scalded! other than that a very pleasant stay.

Ian Donald said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2014

A good hotel in an excellent location. Hotel parking is limited but free on-street parking is available nearby. Dinner was outstanding. Imaginative, varied and well presented. Bedroom was good; en suite facilities, hairdryer, coffee/tea, well maintained, with lovely views over the bay. Pleasant sun lounge at the front of the hotel with friendly staff. Have been to the Oban Bay before and will certainly come again.

Steven Young said...

47%
20%
20%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2014

I was given room 10 at the Oban Bay Hotel, which was of very poor quality, the walls in the bedroom where filthy with tea stains down them, the dressing table was filthy,the bathroom was filthy and the bath was coming away from the wall when you stood in it to have a shower. So dissapointed at the level of room quality. I adressed all issues with the General Manager the next morning who appologised stating the the rooms where tired and where due an upgrade , surely this should reflect on the room price. To add more unsatisfaction the manager gave me her business card stating if I came again she would make sure I got a good room to make up for the one I stayed in. Is what customer service is all about now ???? clearly very dissapointed.

Michael Trotter said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2014

Stayed their for our 20th Anniversary. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel also has a lovely feel and the room we stayed in which was a superior room with a sea-facing view was stunning. We used the spa facilities which were great and used the outside hot-tub which was a nice touch. Food was very good on the whole and there wasn't a lot to complain about. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would seriously consider using this hotel again if we go back to Oban.

Elaine Murphy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th August 2014

Very pleasant staff. Nice hotel and good food. The parking is a bit of a lottery even if you have reserved a space, but plenty parking nearby. You will receive a refund of parking fee if you cannot get a space.

yvonne mckenzie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2014

The oban bay and spa hotel gets a ten out of ten the staff were friendly and helpful and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable,the food was superb with a six course menu every night that left you full,the standard of food was second to none,the rooms were very clean,the view was wow,at night sitting looking over the bay was so relaxing,it's a gem of a find

J Noble said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th August 2014

Shower in bathroom very poor. Could not regulate it. Bathrooms need updating. Staff and food could not be faulted.. Unfortunately hot tubnot available during stay.

Hugh Miller said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2014

Oban Bay Hotel stay was very enjoyable. Sea View room and lovely 6 course taster menu. Hotel is a nice size and has cosy bar, conservatory and well appointed reastuarant. Staff also seemed friendly albeit dinner service was perhaps a tad brisk.

Wilma Gilmour said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th August 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. We paid extra for a sea view room and we were glad we did. On the first floor overlooking the bay, wonderful view. Very comfortable bed and room with everything we needed. Dinner and breakfast was excellent and all staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel in general is in need of a little TLC with stuffing sticking out of lounge chairs and walls and woodwork badly needing attention but this in no way affected out 3 night break. First time I have been in Oban and really enjoyed our break and I will certainly return and stay in this hotel if the price is right.

PHILOMENA BRADLEY said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 8th August 2014

Had a lovely time at the hotel , room lovely and clean and staff very friendly , food was good and different, didnt use the spa as the weather not great

jean gibb said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2014

Bedrooms are a bit tired - Staff very good & attentive -

Mrs Johnstone said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2014

Nice hotel lovely views staff very helpful too.Room lovely very clean and spacious.

David Jeffrey said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2014

We had a great stay at the Oban bay spa hotel the staff are really good at their jobs and very attentive,we will definitely be back

julia dickson said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd July 2014

Was disappointed with the family room very small bathroom, shower tiny and door broken also needed a really good clean also being charged for choosing from the young diners menu for a 13 year old but if he had eaten from the adult menu it was included in DBB rate makes no sense especially as having visited crerar hotels for the last 2/3 years this wasnt the case but staff were lovely and very helpful

Elizabeth McKinnon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2014

This is a superb Hotel located on the Oban seafront. The genuinely friendly and efficient staff made our stay a very pleasant one indeed, and we shall certainly return soon.

LESLEY GRAHAM said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2014

What a nice surprise. After reading some horror reviews of this hotel, I found it to be of a high standard. The staff were efficient, courteous attended to all my needs in a professional manner.the food also was of a high standard. My only negative thought is that for the going rates of the hotel it would not be worth the money as the room was so small and the shower was also tiny. But for the deal then , then yes go for it. I was not not disappointed.

BRIAN JAPP said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th July 2014

WE HAD SUCH A RELAXED AND HAPPY STAY AT THIS HOTEL. STAFF WERE PROFESSIONAL AND ATTENTIVE THROUGHOUT. EXCELLENT LOCATION AND ATMOSPHERE FOR EVERY AGE GROUP! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Anne Mcdowall said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Kerry-Anne Irvine said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2014

Clean & comfortable, helpful & pleasant staff, both breakfast & dinner were excellent

Mrs Dorothy Slattery said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st June 2014

We felt the exterior of the hotel,with a letter missing from its name,and artificial grass coming away from the walls,did not create a good first impression. Likewise,the entrance. However,the staff were very pleasant,and the meals very good. I had earlier in the year stayed at a Crerar hotel in Ballater,and hoped the five course dinner would be of the same standard. It was excellent! My friend ,who had not experienced this before,was likewise very impressed. The views from the conservatory were superb,although we felt the interior was a bit "tired". Overall,a very pleasant break.