Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th March 2017

We have a wonderful stay. We were welcomed as we arrived and staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well presented, the beds were comfortable. The food was very good. My friend has a gluten and dairy intolerance and the chefs altered the prepared food from the set menu especially for her. The choice on the menu was lovely and we were not left wanting. Will come again.

A guest said...

67%
80%
30%
90%

Stayed 4th March 2017

Positives - the food was very nice, Negatives - the customer service needs improvement and we were not allowed into the pool area on the Saay afternoon as it was too full. Not great when you have booked a spa weekend!

A guest said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd March 2017

On arrival, check in staff were really friendly and welcoming and we were offered a glass of Buck's Fizz. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with amazing views (even on a rainy, dreary day that we arrived!). The reception area, bar and restaurant are all lovely, clean and tidy. The bedrooms are a little old fashioned and could really do with an upgrade. I stayed on a late DB&B deal. The breakfast was lovely and everything there you could wish for. The dinner was also excellent but the menu was very limited unless you wanted to pay a supplement. There were only 3/4 main courses that were included, all the rest had a supplement to pay. My husband had a steak and the supplement was £10!! I didn't mind paying a supplement but thought that was a bit excessive. Overall, I was pleased with our stay and would return.

Lesley Rhodes said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 3rd March 2017

We had a very pleasant stay, food was lovely. The staff were very frienfly. We booked a late deal and this was excdlkent value. Dinner was included and I was very impressed with the choice and quality of the food at dinner and breakfast. Our stay was too short, would love to return, make use of the spa and pool and walk around tge grounds znd village.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2017

Fantastic hotel. Brilliant staff, delicious food!

Iain Hunter said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Well worth a weekend break. From arrival to departure staff were excellent, food really good and relaxing massage too. Would recommend

Iain Hunter said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Well worth a weekend break. From arrival to departure staff were excellent, food really good and relaxing massage too. Would recommend

Gillian Hopper said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2017

Fabulous first stay we will definitely return soon.

Ray Dawson said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2017

Excellent hotel. Great location. Staff friendly and helpful. Food good. Evening meal excellent. Room smelt a little musty but was definitely clean.

David Robinson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2017

We stayed for one night in February 2017 and we were very pleased with our room, service and evening meal, everything was first class, the room was spotless, could not fault anything about the hotel. Will certainly stay again. D Robinson

Amanda Brown said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th February 2017

A lovely hotel with warm and welcoming staff. Will definitely be visiting again.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2017

Excellent stay, wonderful surroundings , hope to return again soon . Just one small negative is that I would have liked a lower window in the room to see outside .

Linda Moran said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th January 2017

Had a fantastic time at the hotel. Everything was perfect. The room, the facil and the neal was excellent.

Nicola Lakin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th January 2017

Loved every minute from start to finish Staff can't do enough to help you So clean very comfortable beds Food was delicious Would definitely recommend and will be returning

Josephine Brown said...

50%
0%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2016

Hotel, restaurant and bar great but room 135 APPALLING. No one should be allocated that room unless only staying for a quick 1 night turn around. Noisy, over a delivery area, next to stairs one side and cleaners cupboard the other and overlooking the staff chatting/smoking area

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2016

There are positive and negatives about Shrigley Hall. The positives are that the staff are lovely, the surroundings picturesque and the food delicious. The negatives are that the rooms are getting a little tired and could do with some updating, one of our rooms had drain flies which despite the staff trying to get rid of continued to plight our stay and the £7.50 price for a ham sandwich, on cheap white bread with practically no ham was frankly ridiculous.

Rebecca Susca said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2016

The hotel is very clean and tidy but could do with a little bit of repair work/decorating here and there. Our room was very clean but the taps didn't work very well in the bathroom and the shower didn't operate properly. The staff made our stay very welcoming though and they are a real asset to the hotel. Everyone was very pleasant and extremely friendly. The service was exceptional!!

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th November 2016

A very comfortable hotel with an excellent Spa.

Mandy Lowe said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2016

I booked the hotel as a surprise for my partner and can honestly say the hotel didn't disappoint we had a lovely stay and all the staff were helpful and polite

Carla judge said...

45%
70%
N/A
20%

Stayed 26th October 2016

Sadly during our break I had to raise several complaints with the manager at Shrigley Hall. Having never raised a complaint at a hotel before I was saddened to have to do so on this occasion as the Hotel has some excellent aspects to it. The setting and grounds are spectacular, the staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We booked 2 rooms at Shrigley Hall for my husband and I and two of our children aged 17 and 14. The trip was to celebrate my husband's birthday so we booked an evening meal in the Hotel restaurant after a lovely day walking up mountains in the Peak district. Our eldest daughter was meeting us there. The earliest time we could book the meal was 8.30pm and we arrived on time and were seated immediately and ordered promptly. The starters arrived in good time and were fine, but then almost an hour passed before the main meal arrived at 10.05pm. There appeared to be only one chef for a very busy restaurant. We were a bit annoyed by the delay but prepared to overlook it and enjoy the meal. Four of us had ordered lamb and were disgusted with what was eventually served! It was a small piece of very fatty meat that was very difficult to cut through and a piece of crumbed lamb that was basically just bone. Obviously we returned the meals and were informed by other guests that we were not the only ones to return the lamb that evening. We were offered Chicken as a replacement and reluctantly accepted wanting to turn the evening around. After a further 15 minute delay my husbands chicken was brought out. He had eaten it before mine and the children's arrived. Tired of the service and becoming frustrated my husband left the restaurant to return to the room. By the time the desserts arrived it was after 11pm so only my youngest daughter ate it. I complained to the duty manager who offered to refund the drinks only. After expressing my disappointment he informed me that he would hand it over to the manager on shift the next day. We returned to the rooms to discover that the children's room had no latch on the window so couldn't be closed and a smell of drains was developing in our room. Despite the comfortable beds I did not sleep, worrying about the open window in the children's room and feeling sick from the stench which was becoming stronger by the minute and was really foul by morning. The same smell had been in the pool area earlier that day. If I had discovered the smell and broken window earlier I would have requested a room change. Upon checkout I discovered that the day time manger was unaware of my complaint in the restaurant until he read the notes on screen and he too failed to see how the slow service and poor quality food had dampened my husbands birthday celebrations as he agreed that £33 worth of drinks free should compensate us. ( we only had so many drinks due to the delay) When I expressed disappointment he offered to refund £20 off each room. I only received an apology for the lack of sleep due to the smell of drains and unsecure windows. I am angered that Shrigley Hall made a profit from us when we were certainly not satisfied by the service offered from a 4* establishment and I am disappointed that they did not take my complaint very seriously.

Andrew Dawson said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2016

Had a wonderful stay, only problem room was too hot

Tanya Ince said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2016

Fantastic stay for our wedding anniversary, lovely hotel and friendly staff. Please see my full review on trip advisor

Amanda Williams said...

57%
80%
80%
10%

Stayed 25th October 2016

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, but poor dining room. No tablecloths, nice cutlery or glasses. Resembled a cheap cafe. Over subscribed for the dining room too. Food had been sat in an oven for too long and whilst could have been nice once, was dry and not very appetising. Such a shame, for such a beautiful hotel.

Anthony Burke said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2016

Staff fantastic, everyone friendly and helpful. Brilliant value for money. Hotel needs a touch up. Bed bases very badly stained, room clean. Lots of noise during the night which affected sleep. Would have had a refund if it'd had been a premium Inn.

Nicola Mafe said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2016

My mum and dad stayed here for my mums 70th birthday treat , they loved it . They said the staff were really friendly , food was amazing, room was lovely and the grounds were stunning . They would definately stay there again ?