Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Tom McKee said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Smashing stay, in fact booked another night and enjoyed a Scottish themed show on the Sunday which was lovely. Very comfy room and double bed. Reception and Restuarant staf very helpful. Food at tribute night great as much better than expected with such large numbers being served - highly recommended

Liam Barr said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Very well organised, very helpful staff and the food was excellent.

Thomas Booth said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Very nice hotel but rooms were very cold late at night, food and tribute act were very good

Janette Faulkner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2016

We had a brilliant weekend at the Cairndale. The room, food and Adele tribute were great. The staff are lovely nothing was a problem to them. We will definitely be back and recommend this hotel.

Mr Paterson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2012

One word, excellent

LISA ELLERINGTON said...

60%
80%
80%
20%

Stayed 4th March 2016

Writing this review on behalf of my parents. They said the hotel was lovely and their room was very nice. They went to the tribute night (Kolin Grainger act) on the Saay and they said it was good. However the food was awful. Very limited choice on tribute night 4course dinner menu. Inedible fish in an overpowering lime dressing, so my mother asked for a change to the turkey. Think it was left overs from Christmas; dry, tough & cold. Watery Leek and potato soup. Breakfast was nice enough. Food replenished often.

fiona mckinnon said...

74%
100%
100%
20%

Stayed 4th March 2016

On arrival at the hotel we were very disappointed as the hotel had not received any information from myhotelbreak, after a short period of time this was rectified by the sales manager on duty. Once this was sorted out we had a lovely 2 day stay at the hotel. Rooms were immaculate and the pool/gym area was lovely and is open from 7am. We were booked into the 'through the decades' show and although it wasn't very busy the singer was good however his jokes were rubbish. The turkey we had for our dinner prior to the show was inedible which was disappointing as well. This would not put us off staying at this hotel again however we would probably head into dumfries for our dinner.

John Tait said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th February 2016

We enjoyed our stay. Room and service were excellent

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2016

Pleasant stay with good leisure facil. Comfortable rooms and excellent food. Would return again.

L Wilson said...

77%
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 14th February 2016

The Cairndale is a lovely Hotel and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Dumfries. We have stayed here before and enjoyed our stay. The same applies to our most recent stay. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The heating wasn't working in our room but the manager arranged for two convector heaters, so we were lovely and cosy during our stay. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We were both a bit disappointed with the evening meal and understand that there is a new chef, I am a vegetarian and the choice was very limited, on the second night the menu was exactly the same choice for vegetarians, I pointed out that I wasn't too keen to eat ithe same meal again and was then given a choice of a pasta dish. Please can you cater more for vegetarians as its not a fad but for health reasons and we seem to dip out but pay the same as meat eaters.

Doreen Logan said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 12th May 2015

The Hotel needs refurbishment. The food is very basic - e.g. pork chop cabbage and potatoes as a Dinner choice. Hotel was very busy with golf outings. I don't think we would return to this Hotel.

Elaine Powrie said...

40%
50%
50%
20%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Really disappointed in food quality and choice and on every occasion always lukewarm at best. First night comedy show was full of totally unnecessary swearing and a couple of the acts were truly awful. Second night Tribute Entertainment cancelled without explanation or apology with second rate substitute provided.

TERESA O'DONNELL said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th November 2015

excellent hotel and break booked through classic britain

Mark Hodgkinson said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Hotel and staff spot on and food good. Friday comedians other than the last act the rest were very poor. Saturday night the main reason for going was to be a Blue's brothers act, broke down could not get there. (not hear d of the AA) hotel put a lounge singer on who was not up to much, so it ended up a karaoke, personally my kind of Hell. Lovely family room could have done with a larger TV Leisure facilities good

Roberta Doctor said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 20th November 2015

We had another enjoyable weekend here. The staff were very helpful and friendly, with sunny smiles for all. The did as much as possible to make sure we had a comfortable stay.

Pat Gunn said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 15th November 2015

Weenjoyed our visit to this hotel. The staff eere helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and comfortable and the food was good. We would visit again.

Samuel Ball said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2015

TV channels differ from hotel book. Menu limited, although food excellent.

John Balkwill said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2015

No heating in first room and no WI FI On asking about heating and WIFI the solution was to give us a room change. WI FI ok but still a problem with the heating. On our second night, no heating again and we complained on our way to dinner. While we were at dinner they managed to get heat into the radiator but it did not last. The radiator switched off around 9.00p.m. On our final night we had to complain yet again and they supplied a portable heater and the radiator heated up but but turned off around 9.00p.m. We have never experienced anything like this ever and it really got beyond a joke.

VALERIE WALKER said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th November 2015

Our first evening's dinner was eventful, four courses well presented but you definitely needed your own teeth to eat them. We gave up when the blueberry crumble nearly broke our teeth!Must have been another chef the second night, it was very good!

L Wilson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2015

Very nice stay at the Cairndale, staff are lovely and aim to please. Rooms are spotless as are the other areas of the hotel.

robert cameron-winfield said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2015

First time stay at the hotel, found it clean and tidy room spotless, however the bed could be raised up a bit, very low. Bathroom in good order with good shower. Public areas all very clean however bar real lacks a bit of character. Dining room very clean food of a good standard, buffet breakfast one of the better ones we have had. All in all a good 3 star hotel with a very good bunch of staff.

B Smith said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2015

Great weekend break it was my birthday and thought it was a nice touch a birthday card left in the room for our arrive all staff really helpful and friendly will defo be back

Linda Mckie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cairndale hotel. Staff were welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

Michelle Kirkpatrick said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2015

Bedrooms were very clean though beds old & very un comfortable! Which would put me off staying here again. Though Resturants & food was to a very high standard. Overall good hotel!

Anne Chang-Leng said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2015

We had a fabulous stay at the Cairndale. All the staff were very pleasant and made an extra effort to be very patient with our son who has autism. The only improvement I could suggest is if a room sI for 4 people then 4 glasses and cups would help, we only had 3.