Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 26th May 2016

lovely hotel and great for walks. the staff were nice and helpful

John McAuley said...

70%
70%
100%
40%

Stayed 16th May 2016

Absolutely beautiful location.Red squirrel sanctuary amazing! We booked a dog friendly room and got a perfectly adequate room in The Bath House. We were there on a BB basis but tried the bar food on one night of our stay. The chicken Caesar salad was delicious but the portion was small to say the least.My husband's curry was exceptionally bland and tasted like a cheap boil in the bag.His portion was also lacking although the prices were not. The breakfasts were good and plentiful and the staff very pleasant and helpful.I would recommend this hotel especially if you have your furry canine friend with you. Simply stunning!:-)

philip cowell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2016

Great location. Superb food. Lovely room. Really enjoyed our overnight stay. One small criticism, the room was a bit too warm and there was no heating control. Otherwise fantastic, thanks.

Stewart Warburton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2016

Super hotel in great location with super staff. Food is great and good portion sizes.

william young said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th May 2016

Had great mid week break. Food very good. Rooms were a bit on the warm side (could have done with a electric fan) spacious & comfortable. Shower worked ok plenty of hoer. food very good & plentiful. Staff pleasant & attentive. Well worth another visit.

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th May 2016

Friendly welcome. Well looked after by staff and food good in restaurant. Only snag the WIFI just did not work well in the hotel. Will stay again fantastic location in the countryside.

Gavin Stewart said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th May 2016

Excellent Value for Money and staff very friendly.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th May 2016

Fantastic room, incredible views and brilliant food. Friendly staff and gifts on arrival.

Shaun Regan said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 23rd April 2016

We recently stayed at the Shap Well hotel with friends for a quiet and relaxing weekend or so we thought. On checking into our rooms we discovered that the room was extremely dusty , so much so that the welcome book left a visible space on the dressing table on picking it up . Before our evening meal we made use of the games room which is a great addition but is unfortunately full of broken equipment which was very disappointing . Trying to play snooker or pool with broken cues isn't ideal or inviting. We had our evening meal which was pleasant but again there was issues with the quality of our friends meal which had to be sent back. After our meal we sat in the hotel bar for drinks which was very busy due to a wedding and 2 coach parties. At one point we waited over 20 minutes to be served as the bar was understaffed with only one member of staff working, in which he struggled to understand our orders as he didn't seem to speak much English, he also charged a different amount each time which we had to challenge as our drinks were the same every time . A fight broke between the wedding party which made us all very uncomfortable as we were caught in the middle of it , being jostled around and having obscen screamed at us was desperately worrying as we felt under threat of being attacked . Luckily the police arrived but we were treated as if it had been us in wrong by the manager as he closed the bar down and was extremely rude to us customers telling us to leave the area . This left us with no choice but to retire to our rooms . The room was uncomfortably warm by this time even with the windows open , in which we had to leave open all night during sleeping as we didn't feel we could broach this with the hotel staff after the evenings events. The breakfast was good but the service was very slow , having to ask for tea and coffee on several occasions. We certainly wouldn't return or recommend this hotel to anyone

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2016

The floorboards need some attention in room 3, Service and food great

neil rodgers said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2016

brill as usual [return guest]

Edward McGuffie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th April 2016

Excellent hotel,friendly staff,good food and nice rooms - a great stay and we will be back.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd April 2016

great weekend food great room great price great.

debbie austin said...

34%
40%
20%
40%

Stayed 23rd April 2016

Hi With regret we didn't have a very pleasant stay at shap wells hotel . We arrived and parked to be then asked to park around the back then to be greeted by several staff smoking , we then checked in and was greeted by a lovely helpful receptionist Michelle. After all the check in sorted we went to our rooms to be greeted by lots of dust and a considerable amount of uncomfortable heat coming off a large pipe. The chocolates and wine were not in our room as expected , so when we then tried to phone reception to find no dialling tone !! I rang of my mobile to speak to another receptionist who quite frankly didn't have a clue as it was her first day. The wine and chocolates finally sorted we set of to explore and did have a good time in the games room , accept the pool table is faulty but will gladly take the money , also the snooker cues are all broken !!! We then dined and to be honest the food was nice , accept mine where I had to send my steak back . We then went into the bar area where there was a wedding party on , and 2 large coach parties this was ok accept there was no seating for private guests like us . Unfortunately the wedding party became very disruptive and fights broke out resulting in the police being called . The bar was shut and we the private guests yet again suffered !! I must say the night manager was awful and very disrespectful to myself and others. I can only say I'm glad he is not running my hotel . We slept ok but had to sleep with the window open as the room was so hot . The bath tap didn't run cold water and we didn't get the ironing board or iron we asked for although on returning that evening it was in the hall way . Breakfast was ok accept it took almost 10 minutes and 3 asks for tea and coffee . We checked out to a very busy coach party reception and wasn't asked how our stay was. To sum it up , we won't be back or recommending this hotel to anyone , even with the great price . Many thanks Debbie

Kevin Williamson said...

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd April 2016

It's a lovely hotel. Room good food good. Downside was there was a wedding on all day and that meant there was no where to sit and have a drink after your meal on the night. I felt like you catered to the wedding guest more than the other paying guests. Unfortunatlely at the end of the night some people from the wedding party were fighting. Not the hotels fault in any way but it did put a bit of a downer on our day.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2016

Our second visit to Shap Wells and even better than the first. Our family had adjoining rooms. There was a sofa and two arm chairs in the room so it was sociable for the four of us. The bathrooms are top class with bath mat and handles on the wall for ease of entry to the bath. Rooms spotless as was the whole hotel which was booked to near capacity but we did not feel crowded or had to wait for service. It is so nice to be able to go for a walk from the hotel and of course the red squirrels are fascinating. The food is much improved. Breakfast has everything you could want with selection of fresh fruit. The dinner was good , the turkey home cooked rather than commercial slices you often get. Only criticism is that the portions are too large!

evelyn lyall said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2016

The break was excellent value for money.The hotel was busy but the staff dealt well.The food was good with very generous portions.

staci Fish said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2016

Beautiful place very relaxing and welcoming. Will be coming again

Thomas Houston said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th April 2016

Bedrooms require to be refreshed. Staff were helpful and polite. Food in restaurant was excellent and good value.

Lisa MacDondald said...

60%
70%
30%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2016

Having stayed here previously, we were keen to return. Arrived for a family booking to find a x3 single bedded room (Booking had been made 6+ weeks prior). Hotel receptionist informed us no other room was avail to meet our needs. With discussion with her manager, he agreed to our request for compensation. This was given. Hotel is lovely, a log fire in reception seating area,fine furnishings. Some rooms we're currently being painted during our stay . Location is easily found from M6 and scenery is typical Lakes. Red squirrel's and the birdsong, along with the running stream, made this like an oasis. Staff disappointed us this stay - they did not interact with customers, we didn't feel welcome (although a nice welcome was given at reception on our day of arrival) they appeared tired/demotivated, they talked amongst themselves whilst customers waited to be attended to (bar and dining areas). Bedroom ceiling corners had thick spiders webs, otherwise rooms appeared clean. Beds were comfortable. Hallway dado rails were thick with dust. Food was delicious and well presented. No children's menu, although the kitchen offered smaller portions of adult meals.

Elaine Hayden said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2016

Enjoyed the break. Hotel was clean and comfortable. The dinners was delicious and rpthe menu offered a good choice of options. The breakfast could be improved by being freshly cooked. The deal was good value for money but the bottle of wine and chocolates offered as part of the deal turned out to be minuture wine bottle and two Cadburys cream eggs. This didn't impact in the overall enjoyment of the stay would rather this wasn't offered as part of the deal if this us the best that could be provided.

Maureen Connolly said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2016

Hotel was ok but there were a few issues. I had no mirror on wall where hairdryer was situated and when I enquired was told the rooms were in middle of refurb which was fine but I'm sure it could have issued a free standing or even a hand mirror when it's known that this was happening. There was a used towel on back of bathroom door that hadn't been cleared away. The staff were very polite but i didn't feel welcomed except by the receptionist., waiting and bar staff didn't really engage with guests. The food was really good but no children's menu. There was a carvery on the wed night which was limited in the meat that they offered, it was roast beef or lamb neither of which I eat so I ended up with pieces of mackerel from the starters table and salad items, not the best on a cold night. My small complaints would not stop me from visiting again but would hope for a better experience.

Mr Greenwood said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2016

Had a great time at snap wells,all staff from reception to dining room so friendly and pleasant.food excellent,shall be back!

Ian Hay said...

34%
60%
20%
20%

Stayed 29th March 2016

One of the main reasons I booked this hotel was because it stated that there was WiFi in all areas of the hotel. This would allow me to take this short break with my family, and still respond to my business needs when required, and also keep my 15 year old son amused. The WiFi did not work at all during the 2 days I was there, causing me a considerable inconvenience in being able to carry out my business requirements. I did speak to the staff on reception a couple of times and was told that their internet service had just been upgraded the previous week, but had been problematic since then. Also, the service in the restaurant on the first night was very poor, and the staff appeared to be very inexperienced. On the second night my son decided to order a burger from the bar menu which although included in our deal, would normally have cost £12.95. I would have expected a good quality burger for that price, but unfortunately the burger that was served to him was a sloppy mess, which I suspect was of the cheap frozen food variety.

helen whiteley said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th March 2016

The hotel is well sign posted from the main road and easy to find. We found the hotel to be well staffed and friendly. The food was good, we favoured the a la carte menu over the carvery but that is just personal choice. The hotel itself and rooms are well equipped, the decor, like most hotels, could be updated but it is clean and well kept. For what we paid we feel we had a great deal!