Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Ian Meechan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay. The hotel is in a great location with a 5 minute walk along the promenade in to Oban town centre. All the staff were very attentive with a can do attitude. The food was excellent and well presented. Only slight criticism was that the room was very warm and had no AC. We didn't report this as we couldn't see what they could have done to address it. Overall and great stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

Ross Strachan said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th July 2014

Lovely hotel with amazing food. Only upgrade needed is for air conditioning to be installed in bedrooms.

Caroline Thomson said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2014

Hot tub far too small for size of hotel only 2 people at a time could use it. Pillows were like lying your head on 2 concrete slabs. Access to rooms not for anyone with mobility problems. Food very good and presented well. A very enjoyable stay.

Iain Cameron said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2014

Second visit this year and it didn't disappoint. Clean rooms, excellent staff and lovely food.

Mrs Margaret Mcgregor said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th July 2014

The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. This hotel is not suitable for anyone with a mobility difficulty.

Donald Macqueen said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th July 2014

Once again highly delighted with our stay at Ivan Bay Hotel and Spa, food exceptional,staff superb especially Ceasar!

P Mackie said...

44%
60%
30%
40%

Stayed 12th July 2014

Booked sea view but hotel did not have one available. Service at dinner was poor. Also overcharged for room.

Graeme Bramley said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2014

We had a great time, The staff were amazing and the food was first class. We will most definitely be returning.

Mrs Aitchison said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th July 2014

Everything was superb Reception, Staff Food Location loveley hotel.

Lorna Anderson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the hot tub was fab on a lovely hot sunny day.

Loraine Marshall said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th July 2014

Our bedroom faced the back overlooked by windows and so had to keep our curtains shut most of the time making the room dark, very humid and hot. This kept us awake during the night. Couldn't use our fan bedside as sockets were on the opposite wall. However room was clean and bed comfortable. Food excellent.

Norma Stratton said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 4th July 2014

Access from reception to bedroom very awkward. Shower very small and lacking power from shower head.

Aileen Mcquade said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th July 2014

Fantastic say , great alue, food excellent Staff very friendly

Janette Brady said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th June 2014

very good hotel, food excellent staff polite and helpfull must be one of the best hotels in Oban we would definately return

Patrick Grady said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Excellent value, well-maintained, very pleasant and relaxing stay. Inclusive dinner meal was excellent quality and value. Great range of whiskies and stunning views over the bay. Only slight hitches - first floor room, window could have benefitted from a 'modesty' net curtain and something to hold it open securely; and also perhaps complimentary (or cheap purchase) slippers for walking to/from spa area.

Edward Dorward said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Just back from The Oban Bay Hotel we stayed for three nights and had a fabulous weekend break.The staff at this hotel were all amazing a credit to this hotel chain.Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back soon.

wayne hanna said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Very enjoyable. Would definately recommend to friends and family. Restaurant staff very attentive although each course felt quite rushed on first night when had an early sitting, none the less the food was fantastic. Hope to return again in the future.

Iain Connolly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Another very enjoyable stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. Having booked with Classic Britain several times before everything ran smoothly and I would highly recommend them to others.

David Hughes said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th June 2014

We were allocated a ground floor room which was slightly below ground level facing a brick wall which allowed passing people to look down into our room which had no blind or net curtains. After telling us that nothing was available to change but they may have something next day. Shortly afterwards, a phone call informed us that a cancellation had come in and we could have the cancelled room. The room was a good sized bright, fine view and well stocked. Although only a mini spa, it was good, clean and we made good use of it. The overall break was excellent value once we had changed rooms.

Colin McAllister said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 18th June 2014

Very busy hotel with great views of the bay from lounge. Booked double room and was given a family one with single beds. Told that because hotel was so busy we could not get a double even though this was what we booked. But staff came and joined the two single beds, not ideal but ok. Dinner I felt was just ok with the 6 course taster menu. Seemed very expensive for supplements for a la cart menu. Service at breakfast was also a bit slow and could of been better organised. Check out at reception desk could of been better organised. Only one young lady who was new to the job trying to help everyone out. Due to how busy hotel was this could have been made easier with an experienced member of staff helping out.

Margaret Templeton said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 18th June 2014

Friendly staff and bedroom comfortable

Marlene Welsh said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th June 2014

I'm am sure that you were aware of our situation at the Oban Hotel. Sorry I forgot the name of the lady that took care of us. She tried to make every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Cons were the stairs and hotel parking. We would consider going back there again.

Ann wood said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th June 2014

Just back from a long weekend with friends. We had a fab stay. The hotel staff were second to none and the food was superb. Will definitely be back.

Rosemary Rennie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th June 2014

Second visit and again faultless and this one even more enjoyable. Staff very friendly and nothing a bother. Well be back. Thank you everyone.

Helen Mathieson said...

17%
0%
0%
50%

Stayed 10th June 2014

Booking was made but ended up being put into another accommodation - a bed & breakfast - further along the street. Had to walk back and forth between the two places. Not what I had in mind when I booked the short break for foreign visitors who were with us for a few days. I am unable to comment or rate the categories below as I never saw the bedrooms in the hotel!