Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

New Lanark Mill Hotel, New Lanark

Mill 1, New Lanark, ML119DB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

93%

carole Sutherland said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th January 2020

Very nice well maintained hotel. From reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff the service was top notch. Room was large and spotless. Dinner was very good. Good sized pool with sauna and steam room. Found the jacuzzi very cold. Would definitely stay here again.

A Johnman said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2020

Lovely location.staff and food exellent.Breakfast freshly cooked to order.

Janice Teece said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2020

Been to this hotel numerous times and always enjoy it .The food is always lovely and rooms are nice and big and clean

Laura Shepherd said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 29th December 2019

This is our 3rd stay here now. Overall, we really love this place. It's truly a beautiful setting. We love the room decor & space, oh & views. The lounge area is lovely & comfortable & a nice wee bar. The staff are friendly & do a good job. Our evening meals were excellent. Love the pool area. Was so disappointed to have my treatment cancelled due to the the being unwell. I know it was unavoidable but I was only notified 2 hours before the treatment which was in the afternoon. I'd had booked it 2 months in advance. There were still others getting treatments later that afternoon. I just hope it was people who had pre booked like myself & not just booked on arrival. Those that book on arrival should be first to be cancelled. We will return to this hotel most likely as we do love it. Two negatives I must mention about the food. Firstly, we had an afternoon tea booked on one of our afternoons. We've been to many afternoon teas & this was nothing like previous ones in other establishements. We had to wait 20 minutes over our booking time. Could not understand why our sandwiches were dry on the outside like they'd been sat out a while. Not much filling in them at all. There were no tray bakes just a couple of sponge type cakes which were also dry. On the positive side, the scones were good & there was plenty tea & coffee. Definitely not even worth the voucher we paid due to the dry sandwiches & not good cakes. Second point was at breakfast the first morning. I don't want to sound picky but if food is not served to a high standard then it should not be served at all. This is the second time at this hotel that I have ordered the eggs benedict. I left a review about it last time also with the hope of it being improved, but sadly it has not. When you look at the ingredients in eggs benedict & also how it is supposed to look, the hotels version is nothing like eggs benedict. The ins were very under toasted if toasted at all. The eggs were overdone. The worst though, was there was no hollandaise sauce. When I brought this to the attention of the staff, the chef sent out a very small dish of what can only be described as a very runny pale coloured liquid which was cold. I was disgusted to be honest as any hotel advertising that they do eggs benedict really have to have a chef trained in cooking a proper sauce. Big big let down. Certainly not the waitressing staffs fault. Fault lies with the chef. I must add that the staff in the restaurant whom we met & chatted with over the weekend were really lovely. In particular a big thank you to Blair, Sheila, Katie & Cameron ?

Steven Grubb said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2019

We had a wonderful two night break at the hotel post-Christmas. As always, everything about our stay was perfect from beginning to end! The rooms were spotlessly clean, the staff members were polite, friendly and efficient, the food was delicious and the general ambience was relaxed. All of these aspects, along with the peaceful, tranquil setting and nature in abundance on the doorstep, keep us returning to New Lanark time after time. We are looking forward to our next stay in February!

Alison Norrie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2019

We had a lovely weekend at the New Lanark Mill Hotel. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. We were given a warm welcome by the staff and could not fault the great choice of food. The area around the hotel is lovely to get out and about and we found the Mill tour really interesting. Would definitely recommend to others and hope to return with our kids soon to explore more. Thanks for a fantastic deal and a great experience.

Jenny Luke said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2019

Beautiful hotel lovely food and friendly staff. Unfortunately there was a function on. If we had booked direct with the hotel we would have been informed that the function was on. Unfortunately my hotel breaks don't give contact details of guests to the hotel. Had I known there was a function on I would had chosen an alternative date. The function was very noisy the base from the music boomed through the rooms so no sleep until the end of the function at 12.40 am.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st December 2019

Fantastic stay once again the staff the food the bedrooms and the leisure complex had such a great time booking again in January

Jacqueline Morison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd December 2019

Fabulous time yet again looking forward to going back again in the spring x

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th December 2019

Nice rooms and food was lovely would stay here again...

mary porter said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 10th December 2019

This was our forth visit to New Lanark and sad to say we found that standards had dropped. We were booked into a disabled room and asked to be moved as it did not have a bath. This was arranged. Whilst unpacking we found a paid of tights and pants in our room, clearly the room had not been checked. At breakfast my husbands cooked breakfast arrived BEFORE he had finished his porridge.My husband queried the price of two drinks he had purchased in the bar only to be told that the prices printed on the bar drinks menu were incorrect. The piped 'music' was absolutely dreadful. What should have been jolly Christmas songs were droned out on a continuous recording and truly dreadful. That desperately need looking at or just don't bother! I doubt now whether we shall return which is a shame after so many years visiting. according to the young barman.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th December 2019

Great value for money stay. Staff were friendly, facilities and services were great and we enjoyed the pool. Although I had asked for a river view room and we were given a village view, it did not spoil our stay. Room was spacious and clean. Several lightbulbs did not work (2 in bedroom, 1 in bathroom), sink in bathroom didn't drain too well, fitted sheets not deep enough for mattress so kept coming off during the night - need a bit more attention to detail? Options for dinner were generous, but unfortunately chef did not seem to follow the description too closely: no dressing on salad, cullen skink had anything but fish in it (compensated by glass of bubbly when we mentioned it). Starters generally a bit disappointing, main courses excellent. We recommend the salmon roulade, very good! Wine was reasonably priced. On checkout we found that someone had added two drinks to our room, but no problem getting those removed from total bill. We would happily return to this hotel.

william smith said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th December 2019

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at New Lanark Mill Hotel . What a lovely location . Our room looked into the River Clyde which was quite spectacular. We enjoyed visiting the Mill too and learning the history . Staff were all so pleasant and helpful . Special mention to Blair who was so engaging and friendly in the dining room . We enjoyed our breakfasts and our evening meals in the restaurant.

David Wood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th December 2019

We return every year and love our stays.Quality & service spot on.Nothing to complain about.

Linda Tazioli said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2019

It was a lovely treat pre Christmas ,the best ever place to relax.a little shopping in the store before .The Mill was decorated to perfection .got two baubles for our tree with pictures of the Mill inside made by children from local school. The Food was excellent.recommend the tails Booked to go back end of January to the Waterhouse for first time

Brian Wilson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th December 2019

Excellent

diana mcdonald said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th November 2019

Actually stayed 2 nights . Kyle on reception was exceptionally pleasant .We had a lovely visit , room was very comfortable with views of the river which was in full flow . New Lanark is without a doubt a magical place and you can almost step back in time. Food good and pleasant staff.

Douglas Millar said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th November 2019

The rooms were huge and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good with excellent variety and portion sizes. Coped very well with 2 of our party requiring gluten free food. Pleasant leisure club which was not busy when we visited.

Robyn Watt said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

Have stayed a few times and love it however this time unfortunately there was a lot of traffic noise outside the window with deliveries coming and going but other than having a disturbed sleep the food and facilities where great as usual!

Janet Lafferty said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2019

Great short stay and excellent value.

Henry Melrose said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2019

very pleased with all aspecys of our stay.room,food facilities all first class,staff cheerful-a very good break.will visit again

Angela McAra said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2019

All the reviews we have read about this Hotel are true. From the moment we entered Reception all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room on the top floor overlooked the river and was very comfortable. Plenty of choice of tea and coffee and lots of milk. Bathroom was very warm with a heated towel rail which was on constantly. We also enjoyed the excellent Leisure facilities. There were plenty of choice of courses at dinner and our only complaint was that the vegetables were too underdone for our taste. We strongly advise everyone to do the tour of the site. Our deal included this in the price,but there is a very interesting history to the whole area. A very relaxing and most enjoyable break. Definitely recommend this Hotel

Jane Pringle said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2019

Just back from 4 nights here. Room was spacious, food was marvellous and leisure facilities great. We got free entry to attractions as on a heritage break and they were very good. On the down side the bathroom door was badly needing oiled and despite mentioning this to reception every day was only fixed on day four. It was so noisy not only were we disturbed so were guests next door. Three nights disturbed sleep took the "shine" off what was an otherwise great break.

Jim Meechan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2019

Lovely hotel view from the room was amazing and so relaxing, staff were very welcoming and attentive, especially Stephen, who made some great tails, which my wife very much enjoyed. Dinner was really nice and choice on menu was varied. Would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone

James Shepherd said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2019

Great place we both luv it