Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Rebecca Susca said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2016

The hotel is very clean and tidy but could do with a little bit of repair work/decorating here and there. Our room was very clean but the taps didn't work very well in the bathroom and the shower didn't operate properly. The staff made our stay very welcoming though and they are a real asset to the hotel. Everyone was very pleasant and extremely friendly. The service was exceptional!!

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th November 2016

A very comfortable hotel with an excellent Spa.

Mandy Lowe said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2016

I booked the hotel as a surprise for my partner and can honestly say the hotel didn't disappoint we had a lovely stay and all the staff were helpful and polite

Carla judge said...

45%
70%
N/A
20%

Stayed 26th October 2016

Sadly during our break I had to raise several complaints with the manager at Shrigley Hall. Having never raised a complaint at a hotel before I was saddened to have to do so on this occasion as the Hotel has some excellent aspects to it. The setting and grounds are spectacular, the staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We booked 2 rooms at Shrigley Hall for my husband and I and two of our children aged 17 and 14. The trip was to celebrate my husband's birthday so we booked an evening meal in the Hotel restaurant after a lovely day walking up mountains in the Peak district. Our eldest daughter was meeting us there. The earliest time we could book the meal was 8.30pm and we arrived on time and were seated immediately and ordered promptly. The starters arrived in good time and were fine, but then almost an hour passed before the main meal arrived at 10.05pm. There appeared to be only one chef for a very busy restaurant. We were a bit annoyed by the delay but prepared to overlook it and enjoy the meal. Four of us had ordered lamb and were disgusted with what was eventually served! It was a small piece of very fatty meat that was very difficult to cut through and a piece of crumbed lamb that was basically just bone. Obviously we returned the meals and were informed by other guests that we were not the only ones to return the lamb that evening. We were offered Chicken as a replacement and reluctantly accepted wanting to turn the evening around. After a further 15 minute delay my husbands chicken was brought out. He had eaten it before mine and the children's arrived. Tired of the service and becoming frustrated my husband left the restaurant to return to the room. By the time the desserts arrived it was after 11pm so only my youngest daughter ate it. I complained to the duty manager who offered to refund the drinks only. After expressing my disappointment he informed me that he would hand it over to the manager on shift the next day. We returned to the rooms to discover that the children's room had no latch on the window so couldn't be closed and a smell of drains was developing in our room. Despite the comfortable beds I did not sleep, worrying about the open window in the children's room and feeling sick from the stench which was becoming stronger by the minute and was really foul by morning. The same smell had been in the pool area earlier that day. If I had discovered the smell and broken window earlier I would have requested a room change. Upon checkout I discovered that the day time manger was unaware of my complaint in the restaurant until he read the notes on screen and he too failed to see how the slow service and poor quality food had dampened my husbands birthday celebrations as he agreed that £33 worth of drinks free should compensate us. ( we only had so many drinks due to the delay) When I expressed disappointment he offered to refund £20 off each room. I only received an apology for the lack of sleep due to the smell of drains and unsecure windows. I am angered that Shrigley Hall made a profit from us when we were certainly not satisfied by the service offered from a 4* establishment and I am disappointed that they did not take my complaint very seriously.

Andrew Dawson said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2016

Had a wonderful stay, only problem room was too hot

Tanya Ince said...

100%
N/A
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2016

Fantastic stay for our wedding anniversary, lovely hotel and friendly staff. Please see my full review on trip advisor

Amanda Williams said...

57%
80%
80%
10%

Stayed 25th October 2016

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, but poor dining room. No tablecloths, nice cutlery or glasses. Resembled a cheap cafe. Over subscribed for the dining room too. Food had been sat in an oven for too long and whilst could have been nice once, was dry and not very appetising. Such a shame, for such a beautiful hotel.

Anthony Burke said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd October 2016

Staff fantastic, everyone friendly and helpful. Brilliant value for money. Hotel needs a touch up. Bed bases very badly stained, room clean. Lots of noise during the night which affected sleep. Would have had a refund if it'd had been a premium Inn.

Nicola Mafe said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2016

My mum and dad stayed here for my mums 70th birthday treat , they loved it . They said the staff were really friendly , food was amazing, room was lovely and the grounds were stunning . They would definately stay there again ?

B Pullen said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th September 2016

Really enjoyed our stay all staff were lovely especially when our puppy wasn't pleased with being left in the room whilst we had dinner so they set a table up in our own dining room so she was free to play. We even ended up rebooking the deal for a second night.

A guest said...

30%
30%
10%
50%

Stayed 15th September 2016

Very disappointed with service at evening meal and the room.

C Hoxworth said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2016

Nice break, good value - would recommend.

Sara Comer said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2016

Would just like you say we had a wonderful night stay. The whole experience was wonderful and staff couldn't do enough for us. The spa was wonderful too. Stuart on the spa reception was great. Really kund and welcoming. He needs recognising for his customer service. House keeping was really good too. Will definitely making a return in the near future. Overall experience was wonderful. We were a party of 10 ladies on a relaxing break. Thanks for making that possible Shrigley hall and staff. Mrs sara comer

sarah young said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th February 2016

We loved this hotel, the meal was top notch and the hotel and grounds were lovely. the bar was reasonable. great hotel onlyy minus was the pool and changing rooms. We would like to return

Elizabeth O'Malley said...

50%
40%
70%
40%

Stayed 8th September 2016

First impressions of Shrigley Hall were amazing the grounds and the hotel building were wonderful. However the room had a few issues with cleanliness and general upkeep, the most disappointing aspect though was going down all dressed up to dinner to celebrate my sister's engagement and double birthday with her fiancé to see that the restaurant looked quite shocking with bare, almost canteen like tables the whole atmosphere was dire!!!! If I had not been staying at the hotel I would have walked out and gone elsewhere. We booked the table for 7.45pm, the service was really slow, for whatever reason we were not served our main course until 9.15pm by which time I was so frustrated I really had lost my appetite .

Elaine Ryan said...

0%
0%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 2nd September 2016

I booked this stay for my Son's birthday, Then I found out he had too wok, So I Cancelled the Reservation hope I haven't been Charged for this ? Please Let me Know.

A guest said...

14%
30%
10%
0%

Stayed 2nd September 2016

Wasn't impressed with the standards for an hotel with their ratings. Paid extra for deluxe and complained about our room which was small with a wall as our view with kitchen trolleys tered on the ground. They had one deluxe left & we moved to that. The meal wasn't worth the money, £12.50 additional for steak. The restaurant service was poor, not once were we asked if the meal was ok and we waited over 10 minutes before shouting for the waitress to order desserts. Dissapointed with the whole experience as this was a birthday treat.

A guest said...

57%
50%
60%
60%

Stayed 26th August 2016

The rooms are a little dated and need a make over.

S Blackston said...

44%
30%
40%
60%

Stayed 26th August 2016

I was very disappointed with the amount of time it took to check in . Staff at desk on arrival were apologetic but a bit slow. The bedrooms were tired and cleanliness of the bathroom wasn't up to much. There were flys/wasps on windowsill because sill had been left open. The hotel is beautiful however what really got me was how dangerous the swimming pool area is , as it's very slippy in shower area , one guest slipped and fell and smashed her head on shower door, no signs to say slippy surface there and around the pool area. Dreadful smell of drains around the middle part of cirference of pool. Whilst staff in both the restaurant . Check out were all excellent , food good, afternoon tea very good, still don't think I would return.

Kathy Oxley said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2016

Had a wonderful stay at Shrigley Hall. Seven of us stayed for 1 niget. We used the spa and each had a treatment, we were all very impressed and satisfied with the spa and treatments. The food was absolutely lovely. The following day we booked afternoon tea which was really nice. We enjoyed our stay so much we've booked to go again.

A guest said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2016

Hi I recently stayed at Shrigley Hall for mine and my boyfriends birthdays. We had a good enjoyable weekend break but felt that our room wasn't at a good standard. The toilet wouldn't flush so we reported it and reception said they would send maintenance up to see but when we returned to the room it still wasn't working properly. They didn't seem to care at reception. Our room wasn't the best, we seem to of been pushed to a corridor out of the way as we didn't see anyone else staying that way the whole weekend we was there. We did enjoy the food and all you can eat breakfast.

Paul Harrison said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2016

My Friend & I treated ourselves to a little works Jolly and booked in for one night. The Hotel is lovely, our twin room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. We arrived early (10.am) and even though we couldin't check into our room we were able to use the spa, which we found spacious and spotless - we would recommend booking in as early as possible though if you require treatments. The only thing we thought was missing was a bit of background relaxing music which we thought would add to the atmospheric ambiance of the old Church. The grounds are amazing and very well kept and in the afternoon after a chat with the staff about the local area we decided to go for a walk to Bollington ( a lovely walk about 30 mins). We had a lovely snack at the Holly Bush Inn and then walked back to the Hotel and a rest at tea-time! We had a bottle of wine in the room, a lovely evening meal, a drink at the bar and them an early night! The whole experience left us thinking we would like to come back again with our partners. Thank you all at Shrigley, you are only a 30 min drive away for us and we will definitely be back.

Paul Harrison said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2016

My Friend & I treated ourselves to a little works Jolly and booked in for one night. The Hotel is lovely, our twin room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. We arrived early (10.am) and even though we couldin't check into our room we were able to use the spa, which we found spacious and spotless - we would recommend booking in as early as possible though if you require treatments. The only thing we thought was missing was a bit of background relaxing music which we thought would add to the atmospheric ambiance of the old Church. The grounds are amazing and very well kept and in the afternoon after a chat with the staff about the local area we decided to go for a walk to Bollington ( a lovely walk about 30 mins). We had a lovely snack at the Holly Bush Inn and then walked back to the Hotel and a rest at tea-time! We had a bottle of wine in the room, a lovely evening meal, a drink at the bar and them an early night! The whole experience left us thinking we would like to come back again with our partners. Thank you all at Shrigley, you are only a 30 min drive away for us and we will definitely be back.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th August 2016

The check-in was an experience I hope will never occur in the future and the deskman should be rated at 1. The hotel was on the back foot from this incident. The dining staff, leisure facility staff and room service was superb and rate a 9. The overflow dining area could be improved by simple pictures on walls to break up the colour scheme and allowing music to be transmitted via speakers. There was insufficient bar staff to cater for both functions and hotel guests on two successive nights, this is where I would give the bar staff the benefit of the doubt but management should be taken to task. At check-out, the prepared bill was £60 higher and was quickly reduced upon questioning.

A guest said...

64%
20%
70%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2016

Hotel was lovely and dinner was amazing. Loved the food. Lovely atmosphere and would definitely stay again. Only issue was that obviously due to the package being a deal, we were given the old rooms. Wall paper coming off walls and was so hot at night with no air conditioning that it was very hard to sleep. Bad night sleep.