Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

Elizabeth O'Malley said...

50%
40%
70%
40%

Stayed 8th September 2016

First impressions of Shrigley Hall were amazing the grounds and the hotel building were wonderful. However the room had a few issues with cleanliness and general upkeep, the most disappointing aspect though was going down all dressed up to dinner to celebrate my sister's engagement and double birthday with her fiancé to see that the restaurant looked quite shocking with bare, almost canteen like tables the whole atmosphere was dire!!!! If I had not been staying at the hotel I would have walked out and gone elsewhere. We booked the table for 7.45pm, the service was really slow, for whatever reason we were not served our main course until 9.15pm by which time I was so frustrated I really had lost my appetite .

Elaine Ryan said...

0%
0%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 2nd September 2016

I booked this stay for my Son's birthday, Then I found out he had too wok, So I Cancelled the Reservation hope I haven't been Charged for this ? Please Let me Know.

A guest said...

14%
30%
10%
0%

Stayed 2nd September 2016

Wasn't impressed with the standards for an hotel with their ratings. Paid extra for deluxe and complained about our room which was small with a wall as our view with kitchen trolleys tered on the ground. They had one deluxe left & we moved to that. The meal wasn't worth the money, £12.50 additional for steak. The restaurant service was poor, not once were we asked if the meal was ok and we waited over 10 minutes before shouting for the waitress to order desserts. Dissapointed with the whole experience as this was a birthday treat.

A guest said...

57%
50%
60%
60%

Stayed 26th August 2016

The rooms are a little dated and need a make over.

S Blackston said...

44%
30%
40%
60%

Stayed 26th August 2016

I was very disappointed with the amount of time it took to check in . Staff at desk on arrival were apologetic but a bit slow. The bedrooms were tired and cleanliness of the bathroom wasn't up to much. There were flys/wasps on windowsill because sill had been left open. The hotel is beautiful however what really got me was how dangerous the swimming pool area is , as it's very slippy in shower area , one guest slipped and fell and smashed her head on shower door, no signs to say slippy surface there and around the pool area. Dreadful smell of drains around the middle part of cirference of pool. Whilst staff in both the restaurant . Check out were all excellent , food good, afternoon tea very good, still don't think I would return.

Kathy Oxley said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2016

Had a wonderful stay at Shrigley Hall. Seven of us stayed for 1 niget. We used the spa and each had a treatment, we were all very impressed and satisfied with the spa and treatments. The food was absolutely lovely. The following day we booked afternoon tea which was really nice. We enjoyed our stay so much we've booked to go again.

A guest said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2016

Hi I recently stayed at Shrigley Hall for mine and my boyfriends birthdays. We had a good enjoyable weekend break but felt that our room wasn't at a good standard. The toilet wouldn't flush so we reported it and reception said they would send maintenance up to see but when we returned to the room it still wasn't working properly. They didn't seem to care at reception. Our room wasn't the best, we seem to of been pushed to a corridor out of the way as we didn't see anyone else staying that way the whole weekend we was there. We did enjoy the food and all you can eat breakfast.

Paul Harrison said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2016

My Friend & I treated ourselves to a little works Jolly and booked in for one night. The Hotel is lovely, our twin room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. We arrived early (10.am) and even though we couldin't check into our room we were able to use the spa, which we found spacious and spotless - we would recommend booking in as early as possible though if you require treatments. The only thing we thought was missing was a bit of background relaxing music which we thought would add to the atmospheric ambiance of the old Church. The grounds are amazing and very well kept and in the afternoon after a chat with the staff about the local area we decided to go for a walk to Bollington ( a lovely walk about 30 mins). We had a lovely snack at the Holly Bush Inn and then walked back to the Hotel and a rest at tea-time! We had a bottle of wine in the room, a lovely evening meal, a drink at the bar and them an early night! The whole experience left us thinking we would like to come back again with our partners. Thank you all at Shrigley, you are only a 30 min drive away for us and we will definitely be back.

Paul Harrison said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2016

My Friend & I treated ourselves to a little works Jolly and booked in for one night. The Hotel is lovely, our twin room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. We arrived early (10.am) and even though we couldin't check into our room we were able to use the spa, which we found spacious and spotless - we would recommend booking in as early as possible though if you require treatments. The only thing we thought was missing was a bit of background relaxing music which we thought would add to the atmospheric ambiance of the old Church. The grounds are amazing and very well kept and in the afternoon after a chat with the staff about the local area we decided to go for a walk to Bollington ( a lovely walk about 30 mins). We had a lovely snack at the Holly Bush Inn and then walked back to the Hotel and a rest at tea-time! We had a bottle of wine in the room, a lovely evening meal, a drink at the bar and them an early night! The whole experience left us thinking we would like to come back again with our partners. Thank you all at Shrigley, you are only a 30 min drive away for us and we will definitely be back.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th August 2016

The check-in was an experience I hope will never occur in the future and the deskman should be rated at 1. The hotel was on the back foot from this incident. The dining staff, leisure facility staff and room service was superb and rate a 9. The overflow dining area could be improved by simple pictures on walls to break up the colour scheme and allowing music to be transmitted via speakers. There was insufficient bar staff to cater for both functions and hotel guests on two successive nights, this is where I would give the bar staff the benefit of the doubt but management should be taken to task. At check-out, the prepared bill was £60 higher and was quickly reduced upon questioning.

A guest said...

64%
20%
70%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2016

Hotel was lovely and dinner was amazing. Loved the food. Lovely atmosphere and would definitely stay again. Only issue was that obviously due to the package being a deal, we were given the old rooms. Wall paper coming off walls and was so hot at night with no air conditioning that it was very hard to sleep. Bad night sleep.

mary hamblin said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2016

Would recommend this hotel & stay for the price we paid however our room was shabby needs updating & the cobwebs need to be dealt with. Our room was at the back of the hotel near the function rooms, music was very loud & went on till the early hours of the morning.... Not the relaxing over night stay we had in mind! Food was really good & the staff were friendly & helpful. Not sure we would return as there are so many offers & deals on hotel accommodation so would probably try somewhere else next time.

Jennifer Gorrie said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2016

A beautiful hotel set in gorgeous surroundings. All was great except for the service in the restaurant! Had to wait for long periods waiting for courses! Hotel manager was great though when complained. Tip:book your restaurant times well in advance or you get stuck with late dining times like us!

gill orme said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2016

1st class from moment we arrived til the minute we left....staff lovely everywhere....very helpful .... Hannah ,in beauty spa was particularly good at her job ....nothing too much trouble ....will visit again

Viv Fernside said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2016

Great room, lovely staff, very helpful. Food great but the 2nd dining room lacked atmosphere.

Helen Backhouse said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 8th August 2016

had a great stay, room, evening meal and leisure facil were great. the only let down was the breakfast - i think it was a busy session as there was no fresh fruit or yogurts left. the staff were very pleasant though.

A guest said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2016

Stayed here a few times now - hotel is looking tired. One of the lamps didn't work in our room and the lighting is almost non-existent. Towels need replacing. Never seem to be enough staff on reception and queued with 6 others to check out! Restaurant staff work hard, were very busy but items sometimes missed. Would only stay with an offer - would never pay full price.

Michele Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2016

Great value for money , beautiful surroundings and lovely building ,great food served by pleasant attentive staff, brilliant selection for breakfast,pool & spa area very nice.

Amanda Plumpton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2016

2nd stay at hotel. Very busy as 2 weddings in. However there was no trouble or disturbance. Food fantastic. Good value for money. Would recommend anyone to take advantage of this offer.

ALISON Potts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2016

Excellent stay staff friendly and helpful xx

pam mannion said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd June 2016

The pool wasFREEZING COLD, the hot tub wasn't hot enough and didn't have enough water in it. The mixer in the shower was broke so water was freezing or boiling. When told the receptionist about the above she was very sympathetic but didn't make any notes so how was the handyman to know?? Lovely hotel completely ruined by lthe rubbish spa facil and shower failure.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2016

Enjoyed stay first night over and full use of hotel, food and service was fantastic. Only reserve I have is the the spa changing rooms require some attention. I did use facil on a spa day a year or so ago and there does not appear to have been any changes in that time, issue with showers mainly looking very tired, on this visit I noticed that the small pool area at the front facing there appeared to be dust/grit in the bottom of the pool, and a lot of surface water on floor nearby.

A guest said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 9th April 2016

really disappointed with reception staff after booking time for dinner were handed key to room told third floor and no more nothing about were to dine or anything about the hotel had to offer. went down to dinner got our name wrong got room number wrong and time wrong the only saving grace was as we were the last to be allocated time slot then it must be ours not great from this hotel chain

A guest said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2016

Was almost overcharged on arrival. First room was like a Victorian bedroom but staff were lovely and moved us after using the spa. Steam room had mould and needs updating. Food lovely and staff lovely.

A guest said...

74%
50%
70%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2016

The hotel was extremely busy. Check-inwas very poor, a very long wait. We were told at 4.45 pm( when check-in was 3pm), "we were lucky our room was ready". Some guests had checked in but even at this late hour their room was not yet ready. The check-in gentleman was very slow, his colleague had checked in three other parties whilst we were waiting! When trying to reserve a table for dinner the times available were 6.15pm or 9.15pm!The leisure facil were overcrowded and the changing rooms very dated and basic. The signage to direct you to your room was inadequate, we were lost, along with many other guests trying to locate our room. However the food was excellent!