Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, Otley

Yorkgate, Otley, LS213NU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Richard Hoe said... Hotel has replied

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2013

More attention to detail when cleaning bedrooms. Dust and cobwebs found. Bed linen almost spotless with few stains on bed cushions. Febreeze? Bedroom needs updating and fixing properly. A carpenter and tiler would have apolexy! Needs air freshners as window was awkward to open. No toilet brush either. Kettle needed descaling too. Food was quality and nicely presented. Matre de very professional but younger members needed bit more training. Nice to use gym and spa facilities however cleanliness was a major issue. Scum line and dirt in pool. Water murky in hot tub and unclean smell in steam room. Changing rooms might be cleaned properly annually due to dust. All showers weren't very powerful. Location good with walks and views abundant. Need transport to get anywhere with life though. Good for what we payed on a deal but would never pay full asking price. If cleaner, would get another star rating.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, as New Managers we hope that you will see improvements in the hotel since your last visit, We look forward to seeing you again

Robert Douglas said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2013

2nd time of visiting - not disappointed

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest we are delighted you enjoyed your second visit and hope to see you again soon

Sarah East said... Hotel has replied

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 12th February 2013

The outlook of the hotel is lovely and it is set in gorgeous surroundings. The staff were friendly. The standard double was a bit on the small side and the bathroom was dated. The 6 course meal was good but the service was very slow and there were big gaps in between the courses. Gym and spa were good

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest thank you for your comments regarding your stay, we will pass on your comments to Chef and our team regarding the food and their friendliness, we have been working our service standards over the past few months. We look forward to seeing you again very soon

jeffrey rayne said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2013

The staff at the Hotel gave us a lovely warm welcome, in fact every staff member was courteous and helpful and seemed to have "pride in their job". Hotel was comfortable and our room just the right temperature. Our two night break was very good value for money (we stayed in a hotel room overlooking the Spa (which we made full use of). We had taster meal on first evening which was very appetizing and unusual. I especially liked the breakfast choice - cinnamon toast, bacon and maple syrup (delicious). Hotel is set in a lovely peaceful area and we enjoyed our walk down into Otley (staff gave us directions) although it should be pointed out to would be walkers that it is a very steep walk and not for the faint hearted. The hotel could do with being spruced up a little however it has real character and we will definitely return in the near future.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the hotel. All you comments will be passed onto our team about your stay. We will also feed back your comments to our Head Office about the hotel requiring some attention. Once again that you and hopefully we will see you again in the future

Matthew Atkin said... Hotel has replied

77%
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2013

Food and facilities were excellent. Lakeside lodge was nice and enjoyed being outside the hotel. Service was friendly but seemed stretched due to understaffing. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we will pass on your comments to our team. We will also look at the areas you have mentioned that need improvement. We hope to see you again in the future

ian young said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th December 2012

another excellent stay at Chevin. Unfortunately no rooms in the main building, however the lodges have had a very nice makeover. very well furnished and warm and cosy. Food excellent along with very friendly staff. Well Done Chevin !!!

joanne roberts said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th November 2012

We had a lovely stay, as it was my partners birthday the receptionist upgraded us to the Dales suite which had a hot tub which made the stay extra special. The deal we booked included breakfast and 6 course taster menu each night, the food was lovely and what a selection for breakfast.The staff were really friendly and attentive and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends & family.What a great deal for the money we paid

Alison Barrow said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 25th November 2012

We enjoyed our stay. On a cold wet weekend it was warm in all areas of the hotel. Nice room. Booked a romantic break, but had to ask twice for the champagne and chocolates which were included in the break offer. Pleasant spa.

L Fisk said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st November 2012

We had a lovely stay and especially enjoyed our meals in the restaurant.

ruth woodhall said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2012

Thankyou for another lovely stay at Chevin Park. The weather was kind to us this time and we could actually see the lake and surroundings after a very foggy time last year. We asked for a room in the hotel rather than a chalet this year. When we arrived the room we were allocated was dark and small. Kindly and without fuss the receptionist moved us to a very large quiet room which helped us to enjoy our stay much better. We recommended this hotel to our friends last year and they have been and enjoyed their short break also. Please dont alter anything, we like it as it is!!!

Alexander McIntyre said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 5th November 2012

I was not aware when booking a room at this hotel, that it was lodge accomodation, and this was not to my liking. The bedroom itself was fine, but was a bit remote and the adjacent door appeared to have been forced at some point in the past. I only had breakfast which again was fine, served quickly, with the bacon a tad overcooked in the oven. The bar was incredibly warm, too much so, and the quality of the lager being served was a little to be desired. The service was good, although the printer broke down as I was checking out and as such did not get a copy of my bill until the Sunday by email which was not a problem for me. Overall, not sure i would stay there again, unless sure of a room in the main block!

MICHAEL FELTHAM said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 5th November 2012

We had to be upgraded as the initial room had several problems, lights not working, radiator/towel rail not working, shower almost impossible to stand under in bath due to sloping ceiling, and when it was on made horrendous noise! New room was executive and very nice though bathroom had slight smell, wobbly toilet seat and again radiator didn't work. Also the use of wood on the walls and ceilings while giving the "log cabin effect" made the rooms quite dark and sometimes it was hard to see into wardrobes. Overall the hotel though in a lovely situation could perhaps do with a bit of work on the rooms to bring them up to scratch.

Denise Cowley said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 27th October 2012

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay, but the service was slow in the bar.

Christopher McNeil said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2012

extreemly helpfull and friendly staff and have already recommended this hotel to friends

graham cuningham said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2012

GREAT PLACE FOR A SHRT BREAK.FEELS LIKE YOUR IN THE STATES OR CANAADA,GREAT LOCATION.

ian young said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2012

another excellent stay at chevon country park hotel. staff are very pleasant, rooms comfortable, food to die for. only 10 minutes from leeds/bradford airport. 20 minutes into Harrogate. highly recommended

Maureen Richards said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2012

As a three star hotel, it was as we expected. Staff were very friendly and we were upgraded to a superior room on request and as per the offer. We felt that the offer price gave us very good value for money. Rooms were clean and freshened up each day.

sashelle hunte said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th September 2012

The staff was really friendly and helpful on checking in. The accommodation was clean and tidy, ive got to say the food was beautiful and would defintely stay there again. Would reccomend to friends and family

Janice Meikle said...

34%
0%
50%
50%

Stayed 27th August 2012

We had booked a 3 night stay at the Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa and ended up leaving after only 1 night. The bathroom of the first room we were allocated had dirt in the toilet and mould in the shower. The bathroom of the second room we were allocated was worse. Also, it was joined on to one of the lodges and the walls were so thin we could hear every noise from next door, even when they were just speaking.. To be fair on the management they did not charge us for the one night we did stay but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Claire Calverley said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st August 2012

A lovely place in super surroundings. The service was excellent, staff were helpful and very pleasant. We would definitely return!

Derek Hughes said...

60%
90%
30%
60%

Stayed 27th July 2012

This could be a decent Hotel if service issues were sorted out. We were told that there were only two water jugs to serve the whole restaurant - absurd. Sounds like an excuse to sell bottled water. Staff members were not that friendly, but were constantly under pressure. Despite assurances from the Hotel manager in response to previous comments on TripAdvisor, it would appear that nothing has been done to address the lack of staff deployed on days when the Hotel has a wedding. We waited 40 minutes between dessert and cheese courses - unacceptable. Food is of good quality, but a little more of it would be welcome.

robert lowe said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2012

Had an enjoyable stay food and service was excellent and would go back only thing that let lodge down was the livingroom furniture was uncomfortable.

Andrew Shaw said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2012

lovely place. Would definitely go again. Service in bar very slow and tables were not cleared of empty glasses all evening. Reception was slow, members of staff were in the back room of reception ignoring the queue of people waiting to be served.