Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

margaret michael said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2016

Lovely hotel great food

Carolyn Butler said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2016

Another great value, comfortable stay at this old country house estate in Dumfries. It's warm, comfortable, inviting, eager to please staff, outstanding food and a roaring open fire. This is not a sy hotel- it's olde worlde charm with good old fashioned customer care. As a dog friendly hotel its second to none- dogs are more than made to feel welcome here with a water and biscuit bowl and dog mat waiting in the room. Special mention to staff in the evenings who are run off their feet but still manage to do s tremendous job. We will be usingourcteturn voucher to come back in April and can't wait.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2016

A pleasant stay in a comfy hotel at a good price.

A guest said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th January 2016

Enjoyable stay, room was a good size and we'll maintained, food was good. Only drawback was not enough staff around. We had to go and find someone to get checked in and also to order dinner on our second night. Staff, however were friendly . Would go back again

A McPate said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2015

Very good value enjoyed our stay immensely very warm atmosphere will definitely be back

Paul Cavanagh said...

14%
0%
40%
0%

Stayed 21st November 2015

Worst hotel I've stayed in, half a toilet roll, no hand soap in bathroom, no shower gel, peeling wallpaper, dirty hand print on bedroom wall, most uncomfortable bed ever slept in, duvet not even big enough to cover both of us. Husband now has a sore back because of the bed. We used a gift voucher given to us a a Xmas present last year and we now feel it was totally wasted on this hotel. Mark on the bedroom wall that looked like someone had been sick, dust everywhere, lamp didn't even have a build so didn't work in the bedroom and the heater wasn't working half the night either so the room was freezing. We couldn't wait to get to bed and get to sleep so that it was soon morning and time to get out of there. We traveled over an hour to get there or we would have walked straight back out and gone home. The staff were lovely which was the only up side of the night. That night was the first myself and my husband had been able to get away this year and it was completely ruined. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

alison buck said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th November 2015

Beautiful house and stunning grounds.staff are very attentive and helpful.our room(7)was the honeymoon room as it was our 1st yr wedding anniversary which was beautiful.many thanks for everything.

Jane Brumpton said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2015

We always love our visits to this hotel, but we prefer the rooms in the original hotel. An upgraded room was unavailable, so we had a basic room in the annexe. It was fine, clean and comfortable, but a little tired looking. The food is always amazing and the staff are always so accommodating, that and the lovely grounds, make us return. It's worth even paying for an upgrade to get the better rooms.

V Sparrow said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2015

My daughter, grandson and I found the hotel to be excellent. In particular, we thought the standard of the meals in the dining room very high. We had initially booked in at Friars Carse and something occurred to prevent that going ahead. We were in no way disappointed with the change to Hetland Hall,although I did miss the lift.

Margaret Hogg said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2015

Very nice Hotel, staff and food very good.

william mccourt said...

50%
20%
50%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2015

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on the 20th October this year (2015). We had paid for a room upgrade which was definitely not worth the money. To be fair, once I had pointed out that they had not charged us for the bottle of wine we'd had at dinner, they immediately wrote this charge off. Every single leather sofa in the hotel (and there are a lot) were worn down to the fabric. If you consider hotels as perhaps chic or shabby chic, then this one is just shabby. Very difficult to get a drink, as the barmaid, when she wasn't acting as receptionist, was serving food in the dining room. On the plus side the food was good.

Marion Grimson said...

77%
40%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2015

Appearance of hotel is tatty. Rooms need to be renovated. Bedding was spotlessly clean and food was excellent. Other issues mean we won't visit this hotel again. We had to request a different room from what we were allocated due to the drab and tired decor. Classic Britain should take more responsibility for ensuring certain standards are met by subscribing hotels.

gerard murray said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2015

very enjoyable stay

Anne Kyle said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2015

Friendly staff but hotel needs to have some refurbishment . Upstairs wooden floor very noisy as is fire door squeaks terribly. Person walking along corridor at six in the morning wakened us !0

Mrs Shelbourn said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2015

Very helpful staff. A run down building that needs a lot of upkeep. The mattresses on the beds were very lumpy. The staff were doing extremely well in spite of the difficulties. Excellent food. Very clean hotel.

William Sykes said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2015

The hotel is old and once was a magnificent building with great history. The staff are top class and the food was good. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back, or recommend to anyone. We stayed in the 'built on' part of the hotel and thought the rooms were fine. The views from the plentiful windows were amazing.

L Wilson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2015

Charming property full of character. Staff are friendly and aim to please, I felt they did a lot of multitasking and needed extra staff to cope at busy times. Food was plentiful and hot. There are areas of the hotel that need some TLC but that didn't detract from our stay.

Margaret Starrs said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2015

Lovley stay...very relaxing

L Bevan said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2015

Some of the hotel needed some attention the room we had defiantly needed attention but the food and service was very good

Francis reilly said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 29th September 2015

hotel clean staff very friendly would stay again

Martin Hooper said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2015

We arrived at about 18.15. The immediate exterior looked good on arrival. Receptionist helpful and friendly. First impressions are important but at the top of the lovely main staircase we were confronted with a large pile of soiled sheets on the floor and a large alcove containing an accumulation of about 2 dozen assorted dirty glasses and other items. At dinner time? The bedroom (in the ugly annexe, which doesn't feature anywhere in the pictures or text on the website)was superficially clean but maybe we shouldn't have looked more closely, eg toilet pan rim soiled, window frames had accumulation of dirt and grime both inside and within the open frame. Outside, the ashtrays on the patio tables weren't emptied or cleaned during our stay, the (apparently) rubbish below our room window appeared to have been there some time and the door hanging off the, we think, swimming pool hut added to the general air of neglect. Nit picking? Not really, we've stayed in several Classic Britain booked hotels in the past and haven't been disappointed before. On a more positive note, the staff we met were friendly and helpful and the food was good, hot and tasty. Can we just suggest a bit more supervision in the housekeeping area and a detached eye to regularly look over the visual aspects of the hotel to spot areas that have been overlooked and need a bit more attention.

Mrs Boslem said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th September 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff beautiful hotel with lots of character

H Horncastle said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2015

We have just had three nights at the Hetland Hall hotel and must say that it is excellent. The staff and food were first class. The only downside to the hotel is the lack of a lift. My wife is partially disabled and 24 steps three or four times a day was too much. If a lift is not practical surely a stair lift could be fitted for the benefit of the disabled when every bedroom but one is upstairs. If a stairlift or passenger lift is fitted we will certainly be back.

Keith Noble said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at Hetland Hall Hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly . would certainly consider another visit.

john wilson said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2015

stayed in the sixties extension which was a bit tired and needs upgrading but was good value.