Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Catrina Hardie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Had a fantastic stay at the Angus Hotel Blairgowrie last weekend. We got a great deal, 2nights DBB, 3rd night BB all for £99pp. My brother in law and sister in law joined us on Sunday, afternoon tea with a large glass of wine, DBB for £79 fantastic! We got a lovely welcome on arrival, staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a lovely room and the food was really good. We've booked again for a tribute night in November.

Maureen Dymock said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2019

Had a lovely stay at the Angus Hotel, food was really good and choice a breakfast was brilliant. Room was really nice only draw back was our room looked onto the main street and the traffic was really noisey first thing in the morning. Would definitely return to stay but would ask for a river view room the next time.

jane kane said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th August 2019

Receptionist was lovely very bubbly

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th August 2019

Great location, afternoon tea lovely and comfy bed. Coach parties need accommodated on ground floors due to early rise...woken up with doors banging. Would request higher floor next time. Enjoyed my stay overall..would recommend.

Elizabeth Scott said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2019

Had an enjoyable overnight stay good was good staff good large room and spotless clean. Enjoyed our swim before breakfast in morning would recommend

teresa clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

this hotel is great value for money the food was great, rooms spotless and the staff very helpful. also everyone really friendly.

Robert Clarke said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Highly recommend had a great stay lovely staff, use of the pool and sauna was a lovely bonus well be booking again soon

Alex Whyte said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

Room Clean and food good....service quick and friendly. Pity about ongoing ballroom refurbishments and outside area as decking was at front of hotel in car park area.

Nuala WARD said...

74%
100%
100%
20%

Stayed 18th August 2019

Staff very nice. Hotel and pool very dated however our bedroom was lovely. Meals very poor. A la carte meatballs consisted of 6 meatballs no pasts. Soup on second night was inedible stodge lamb curry consisted of lamb rice and a warm brown water. Apple pie and ice cream tastless. Although disappointed in the food the pleasant and helpful staff made our trip very pleasant.

Gillian McGale said...

34%
20%
20%
60%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Disappointing stay even for a 3 star hotel. We had booked to stay for 3 nights but left after 2 as that was as long as I could put up with. The first room we were given overlooked a pub in a side street and even though it was the afternoon the noise was very loud. I was eventually offered to a second room but after going into the room the door handle broke and I was locked inside. This room then became unavailable as there was no one to fit a new look. I settled for the third room even though this was a twin room when the booking was for a double. The overall hotel is very tired and in need of a deep clean and redecoration.

Thomas Fletcher said...

40%
0%
60%
60%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Nightmare!!!! Our room was absolutely stinking!!!! Smelt of dampness. Paid for a superior room - I would hate to see the basic rooms. Smell was so bad that we had to leave a day earlier (we would have left that night (day of arrival) had I not had a beer). All our clothes including jackets and clothes not even worn had to be washed when we got home because the smell was so bad. The bath panel continuously fell off in the bathroom to reveal a great big hole in the wall - I suspect that was where the smell was coming from. Complained to the Operations Manager and told her we were going home the next morning. She did not put up a fight to defend the room. There was a plug in air freshner in the room so they must have knew there was a smell. I also complained about the Superior room. This was not a superior room. I've been in bathrooms abroad that were better than this! Superior room stated upgrated toiletries - we had a hand soap, hand moisturiser and a shower gel. Complimentary bath robes - My wife had a terry towling bath robe that did not fit her and the tie for the waist was velour. Not a matching set! All in all the experience was not pleaseant and as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday it really put a dampner on things. (pardon the pun). When we checked out we only paid for one night and the Operations Manager removed the cost for the Superior room. Fair enough but in hindsight I should not have even paid for one night! I can safely say I will not be back!

Alison Groves groves10 said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th August 2019

Great value for money. We were on and afternoon tea with wine and DBB deal with use of the leisure center. The afternoon tea was amazing, dinner was ok but unremakable the buffet breakfast was nice and hot. The swimming pool was very busy with swimming lessons however we did enjoy the sauna and hot tub. The hotel is a bit tired but bedrooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a good location in the center of town would like to return.

Ann Walker said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Fab few days at Blairgowrie for Anniversary. Very good value for money on our deal. Will be back

Robert Seaton said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Hotel partly refurbished , but lot of building work going on during day, so lot of noise. Bit understaffed in bar . Reception area too small to accommodate large bus parties arriving. Breakfast and dinner good value. Enjoyed our stay but would not rush back again.

Stuart Poulton said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Wife and I decided on a last minute break. Got a fantastic overnight deal here. Dinner, Bed and Breakfast with Cream Tea and Glass of Wine on Arrival for only £79. It was quite unbelievable. Food was really nice, great choice at breakfast , cream tea was superb. Hotel has a nice warm pool, sauna and hot tub. Okay the hotel is a little tired but it was undergoing refurbishment whilst we were there. Room was a reasonable size and bed comfy enough. Nice selection of shops around the small town of Blairgowrie. Enjoyed our wee break, nice drive up and would definitely make use of the hotel again

Mrs Foster said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2019

As usual first class service from all the staff at the Angus. The lady singer on the Saturday night was first class and we really enjoyed her music. We really like the Angus and have booked again for a three night stay next month. We have been to other 3 star hotels but none can compare with the Angus.

Christopher COWIE said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2019

Stayed here for the afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast, the afternoon tea was apsurelutly lovely apart from the the wine, the evening meal we had the fish & chips which was lovely and filling, breakfast was lovely too but as others have said no potato scones,,, the room we stayed in was room No110 which was right along the end off what seemed endless corridors which narrowed at the end,they were smells in the corridors which smelt like dirty mops,,, room No110 was roomy with a king size bed but slightly out dated furnishings and dodgy bedside table lights, they were tea & coffee and a kettle but no water to make any drinks, the toilet looks like it's just been renewed nice and fresh, tiled with a walk in shower pity the room wasn't to the same standard,,, trying to find the swimming pool and spa was like going on a wild goose chase as they were hotel renovations going on within the hotel and the timings and directions were a bit of a hit and a miss, once we found the swimming pool and spa everything was good apart from the Jacuzzi which seemed to only work around the top edges and not within the Jacuzzi so disappointing,,, on check out we paid Cash for our stay only to receive a phone call from the hotel hours later asking for bank card details for payment to which i told them i have paid in full by cash, very disorganised reception.

Reg Hunter said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2019

Lovely hotel with friendly staff afternoon tea with wine was best I’ve had well done the chefs evening meal was tasty but not presented well to what I would like . Breakfast could do with a revamp , with continental availability Danish pastries and croissants still a great place to stay

Gordon Bray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Well what can i say,just returned from a break at this super hotel....On arrival to book in Megan did everything for us ,WE had booked the wrong rooms she fixed it all out NOTHING was any bother......Rooms were first class.....Meals first class really really good.Breakfast out of this world..........now about the staf member of staff were polite ,friendly....and so so helpful and so nice to talk too... Cant praise this hotel enough keep up the good work......and as my big friend Arny' would say.......(I'll Be Back)...best wishes to all the staff thank you for making our weekend GREAT. :-)

alison mulholland said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Excellent hotel.Good location.

Karen Gammie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Had a good time, staff were all helpful and friendly.

David Law said...

77%
60%
70%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2019

The staff were fantastic, the food excellent, as is the location, downside was a poor outlook from the window and the bed uncomfortable, the maids never appeared until mid afternoon except check out day when they were there at 08.30am, good easy to work flat screen tv. The leisure facilities were excellent with complimentary towels supplied. Would definately recommend this hotel, minor pains.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th July 2019

Hotel staff & food were great. Unfortunately we were put into room 106 when we opened toilet door stench was awful, my husband went to reception lady came up and said room 101 would be free next day so we agreed to put up with it for a night. When we came in next day having spent lovely time in Braemar lady said plumber had been in next room to us and problem was sorted. Within an hour stench was back our part of corridor had this smell too. This was part of our Golden Wedding celebration so did not want to cause more fuss & spoil our break. When checking out we were told there was a leak which seemingly they could not sort.!!!

Carol Anderson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th July 2019

Loved everything about our weekend entertainment break.

A guest said...

77%
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 26th July 2019

We got a really good DBB & afternoon tea with wine deal. The room was small and overlooking a flat roof but was very clean and recently refurbished (lovely modern bathroom). There was two bus excursions arriving when we were going for dinner which made the hotel very busy but reception staff coped well. Lots of waiting staff at dinner who were very attentive given how busy the restaurant was. The only downside was the dinner didn’t meet expectations - almost like a microwave meal :( Afternoon tea was lovely and breakfast was really good too. Shame about dinner (can’t help thinking the buses of visitors put too much pressure on kitchen staff).