Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Columba Hotel, Oban

North Pier, Oban, PA345QD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Mrs Ritchie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2012

Staff were so friendly and helpful. Were able to move us to a sea view room on the second night. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff if you asked them anything. Will definately be back.

Elizabeth Doherty said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 26th October 2012

This is our second stay at the Columba and we were pleased to see all the same staff who couldn't have been more helpful. There was a problem with the water on the second floor and we had no hot water for the first 2 days. However, everything possible was done to resolve the problem, we were offered another room for showering, a complimentary bottle of wine and letter of apology was left in our room and the manager came round all the rooms to check progress. Couldn't imagine this kind of personal service in a larger "chain" type hotel. We will definitely return and will recommend the Columba to anyone coming to Oban.

J Currie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2012

we had a lovely stay at the columba hotel, the staff were lovely and very helpfull and our room was fab it was very comfortable and the sea veiw was amazing :)breakfast had many choices and was very tasty, i would have no hesitation about returning here :)

Frank Henderson said...

60%
70%
80%
30%

Stayed 14th October 2012

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel needs some upgrading re carpets /painting etc Hotel appeared quite shabby - though very clean. Main concern was standard of evening meals - very limited menu for a 3* hotel!, quality,quantity and presentation could be improved. Location good but lack of 'hotel parking' a problem.

Rebecca Nisbet/Ure said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Columba Hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food good. The hotel is in a great position for views and yet in the town centre. The roo we had was excellent. We certainly intend to return.

M Harper said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2012

hotel bedroom was good and staff helpfull however house keeping was poor crockery was not clean (as if too much was in dishwasher ) every time we sat in the dining room, sugar bowls sticky and cruet sets in poor dirty condition just a lack of attention to detail. but generally had a good stay and would go back

john mc nally said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2012

great week-end thank you we will certinly use your services again

graham nisbet said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 13th September 2012

none

Jennifer Caldwell said...

57%
80%
50%
40%

Stayed 14th August 2012

Too few staff members at breakfast While room had been re-furbished other areas in need of attention. Reception staff pleasant and helpful

craig brown said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2012

Nice clean room. Good food. Varied menu.

David Howie said...

77%
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 3rd August 2012

Enjoyed stay in hotel troom and service were good. Food was fine but quite basic and breakfast eggs were as described by another reviewer!!

richard walcome said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th July 2012

Just back from a great weekend break in Oban. First time staying at the Columba but couldnt have been more pleased with the hotel, great food and a great room with a charming view.

frederick guthrie said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2012

First class service all round. Only comment, bed a bit uncomfortable.

Andy Morris said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 20th July 2012

paid extra for a room with a view lovely but the food and organisation was terrible due to having a bus load of 45 at the same time the food was not good onthe first night,had a problem with menu and no lights when we came in at night.would not recomend this hotel wont be back

Janice Rowan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th July 2012

We had a lovely break, staff were really nice, nothing was a problem. We were made very welcome.

Andrew Field said...

54%
0%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2012

On arrival at around 1pm there seemed to be an overbooking situation and I was advised it would be sorted and to come back after 2pm and a room would be available. The room was disapointingly small and I had the feeling that we were given a room that was not quite ready for public use) I have listed some issues below: Bathroom: Two spotlights out. Extracor fan not working. No plug in sink so unable to shave. No toilet roll holder. Shower floor mat dirty (no bath). Hole in back of bathroom door where clothes hook should be. Bedroom: Trouser press as not affixed to the wall and the holes could be seen where it had been. Hole in bottom of bathroom door where it had been forced past the doorstop previously. Light out above the mirror. Masking tape still round fire/smoke alarms from previous decoration. Stained cushions on bed. Only one chair (i'd expect two in a double room although the room was so small it would be difficult to get another one in!) No welcome pack displayed and the hotel folder in the drawer was for the previous owners,McKever. We also paid an extra

Isobel McArthur said...

57%
70%
70%
30%

Stayed 15th May 2012

we found the staff to be very helpfull and friendly, the Hotel was nice except for the lift which could do with a update. The evening meal was not up to the usual standard we would expect from Classic British Hotel.

R Lang said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2012

This is the tenth time we have stayed at the Columba Hotel so I think that says it all, the lounge bar was closed for renovation And we missed siting in the relaxed atmosphere! Breakfast was excellent and all the staff are a credit to the hotel nothing was a bother. We will be back up during the summer so looking forward to staying at the Columba once more.