Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2016

Staff pleasant. efficient and helpful. Rooms OK and food good

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2016

An enjoyable real value for money stay at Shap Hotel: 4 nights x DB&B, including complimentary bottle of wine first night plus cruise on Lake Windermere. Secluded moorland/beck hotel location handy for M6 and Lakes, plus Yorkshire Dales and Eden Valley. Can be busy dinner service, with coach parties, so best to be patient when necessary, but friendly efficient staff always on hand. Food was plentiful - 3 x courses with decent choice of old-fashioned favourites and generous portions. Again, great value. Will happily return!

jacqueline osbourne said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2016

it was a very nice hotel,the food was brilliant,the service was good,very clean and was great value for money.thanks j osbourne

A guest said...

60%
90%
0%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Rang hotel 2 days before stsy and found that even though boking had been sent through it hadnt been actioned by hotel. All sorted before travel. Hotel was excellent. Food was excellent. Bar staff was less than impressive..... paid at bar for a bottle of wine was given wrong one and was over charged. Then on check out found same bottle of wine had been added to room bill. Also you need to book restuarant for evening meal. Quiet secluded location. Would recommend... but check your bill on departure.

A guest said...

60%
90%
0%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Rang hotel 2 days before stsy and found that even though boking had been sent through it hadnt been actioned by hotel. All sorted before travel. Hotel was excellent. Food was excellent. Bar staff was less than impressive..... paid at bar for a bottle of wine was given wrong one and was over charged. Then on check out found same bottle of wine had been added to room bill. Also you need to book restuarant for evening meal. Quiet secluded location. Would recommend... but check your bill on departure.

John Walsh said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Room could have done with a couple more electric sockets as it was a family room and only had one double socket,kids couldn't use there Tech,Food and service was very good,enjoyed our stay but it had a lot older clientele .

Carole Fernie said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2016

Enjoyed a very pleasant 2 night stay over Easter weekend. Food was very good and plentiful. We both ate steak on our first evening in the restaurant it was beautiful. The bar area could do with some background music to create a better atmosphere. Our room was fine but far too warm, which left us feeling very tired. Outside, the red squirrel sanctuary is lovely as are the walks and scenery. Very quiet location in a lovely spot. We will return at some point

Mr Haslam said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2016

Superb accommodation excellent food ,very pleasant staff will definitely visit again

Angela Tonge said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th March 2016

Great stay,great value for money,staff were great,didn't see a red squirrel so will have to have a return visit

neil rodgers said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2016

this is a gem of a place will be back staff brill food brill 10 out of 10

Anthony marshall said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th March 2016

Had a brilliant time at Snap well hotel I've already recommended it to friends & family, can't wait until are next visit.

Andrew Ramshaw said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th March 2016

Good hotel set in some lovely countryside had a really good break . The rooms were more than adequate and the hotel itself was fabulous with friendly helpful staff and fantastic food.

john underwood said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th March 2016

fantastic hotel in superb location,rooms were nice,evening meal good in a wonderful restaurant...overall very good value

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th March 2016

Really good relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

kath mcgreavy said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th March 2016

Excellent hotel ,staff brilliant and you couldn't fault the food plenty of choice and nicely presented. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back myself. Excellent value for money.

kath mcgreavy said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th March 2016

Excellent hotel ,staff brilliant and you couldn't fault the food plenty of choice and nicely presented. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back myself. Excellent value for money.

Andrew Wilson said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th March 2016

First night we were awakened at 4am by the fire alarm going off.. stood about in reception for 20 minutes to be told that it was a faulty detector and to go back to bed. No apology from anyone. The hotel was a bit tired, could do with a complete makeover, however the staff were really friendly and meal times were a pleasure with the service received plus a bottle of wine on first night, The overall cost was really great and we had a lovely 2 nights with a trip on the Lake Windermere as part of the package, I would happily visit this hotel again.

Jennifer Bell said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th March 2016

We had a lovely relaxed stay at this hotel. We were in the Old Bath House as we had our dog - it was warm and cosy with the little beck running along outside our bedroom window. There is a lovely walk through the trees with red squirrels in abundance - a rare treat! We sat beside the log fire in the hotel before our dinner. The food was good but because the hotel was quiet the dining room felt too empty and big - it would have been better part screened off. However breakfast was really good and daylight changed the mood of the room! The hotel is in a quiet remote area and is perfect for a relaxing break. We thoroughly enjoyed our break here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from it all! The only thing I would have seriously changed is the dog friendly Fell Bar which is the only public room available to sit with a dog and have a drink - too remote and and it felt unwelcoming - a room just off the main area would have felt better although I do respect hotel policy.

A guest said...

47%
80%
10%
50%

Stayed 5th March 2016

Dissapointed from arriving as was overcharged more than our total conformation was. The room was comfortable but had broken sleep as the bed had seen better days and could do with renewing. Dinner and service was appalling no order and wrong meals brought to table not just ours but others also staff could be more happy and aproachable. Breakfast was fine due to it being self service. It was also a 1940s theme night which was reflected on the dinner menu had we known we wouldn't of booked. Great location for walking lovely hotel just staff let it down try sending them on a hospitality course

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th February 2016

Really nice Hotel, food excellent ,staff friendly and our room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

John Scown said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th February 2016

Incredible value for money. Lovely peaceful surroundings and grounds. Will defiinately return to this hotel.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2016

Excellent value, food, welcome. Room OK

A Potter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th February 2016

One of the best lovely room food excellent not too y! Staff very nice no rush with anything. Will definitely be back.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel . However it was more isolated than expected.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2016

The staff could not be more attentive and service was excellent. On the Saay night the hotel was buzzing due to a 70's/80's event. The hotel was bursting at the seams with guest and the service was as per the previous evening. We joined in with the event after they had finished their refreshments and had a fantastic evening. The surrounding land is beautiful, using the hotel pamphlet guides for the walks we took the waterfall direction which was enjoyable. The hotel itself is an old building and has many original features with historical photos in the foyer, a fabulous building. I would definitely stay again and would like to explore the building and surrounding countryside more.