Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

92%

Patrick Grady said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Excellent value, well-maintained, very pleasant and relaxing stay. Inclusive dinner meal was excellent quality and value. Great range of whiskies and stunning views over the bay. Only slight hitches - first floor room, window could have benefitted from a 'modesty' net curtain and something to hold it open securely; and also perhaps complimentary (or cheap purchase) slippers for walking to/from spa area.

Edward Dorward said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Just back from The Oban Bay Hotel we stayed for three nights and had a fabulous weekend break.The staff at this hotel were all amazing a credit to this hotel chain.Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back soon.

wayne hanna said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Very enjoyable. Would definately recommend to friends and family. Restaurant staff very attentive although each course felt quite rushed on first night when had an early sitting, none the less the food was fantastic. Hope to return again in the future.

Iain Connolly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Another very enjoyable stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. Having booked with Classic Britain several times before everything ran smoothly and I would highly recommend them to others.

David Hughes said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th June 2014

We were allocated a ground floor room which was slightly below ground level facing a brick wall which allowed passing people to look down into our room which had no blind or net curtains. After telling us that nothing was available to change but they may have something next day. Shortly afterwards, a phone call informed us that a cancellation had come in and we could have the cancelled room. The room was a good sized bright, fine view and well stocked. Although only a mini spa, it was good, clean and we made good use of it. The overall break was excellent value once we had changed rooms.

Colin McAllister said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 18th June 2014

Very busy hotel with great views of the bay from lounge. Booked double room and was given a family one with single beds. Told that because hotel was so busy we could not get a double even though this was what we booked. But staff came and joined the two single beds, not ideal but ok. Dinner I felt was just ok with the 6 course taster menu. Seemed very expensive for supplements for a la cart menu. Service at breakfast was also a bit slow and could of been better organised. Check out at reception desk could of been better organised. Only one young lady who was new to the job trying to help everyone out. Due to how busy hotel was this could have been made easier with an experienced member of staff helping out.

Margaret Templeton said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 18th June 2014

Friendly staff and bedroom comfortable

Marlene Welsh said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th June 2014

I'm am sure that you were aware of our situation at the Oban Hotel. Sorry I forgot the name of the lady that took care of us. She tried to make every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Cons were the stairs and hotel parking. We would consider going back there again.

Ann wood said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th June 2014

Just back from a long weekend with friends. We had a fab stay. The hotel staff were second to none and the food was superb. Will definitely be back.

Rosemary Rennie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th June 2014

Second visit and again faultless and this one even more enjoyable. Staff very friendly and nothing a bother. Well be back. Thank you everyone.

Helen Mathieson said...

17%
0%
0%
50%

Stayed 10th June 2014

Booking was made but ended up being put into another accommodation - a bed & breakfast - further along the street. Had to walk back and forth between the two places. Not what I had in mind when I booked the short break for foreign visitors who were with us for a few days. I am unable to comment or rate the categories below as I never saw the bedrooms in the hotel!

Sandra Fyfe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th June 2014

We arrived on the 10th of June for 3 nights and our room was stunning, our view across the bay was amazing, staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially Mary at reception. For evening dining the restaurant would benefit with table linen. Overall experience was warm friendly and comfortable, 10 out of 10. Many thanks Sandra and Richard Fyfe.

Mary Singh said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th June 2014

Nice clean room. Staff were polite , friendly and helpful. Great location and outlook. Only criticism would be noise in corridors with people going by constantly . Could hear every footstep. Apart from that we had a very pleasant stay.

A Close said...

67%
10%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2014

I made these comments at the time to the hotel. The mattress on the bed had hard lines and lumps which we only discovered when we went to bed. It was obviously well past its best. We had to turn the mattress before we could go to sleep, which made it better, but not perfect. They did change the mattress, but I think they need to replace them as the new one was much the same as the old one. Also, the floorboards in the room above squeaked loudly every time someone moved in the room. The result was that we could only go to sleep when they went to bed and we were up with them in the morning (7.30 one day and 7.00 the next). We were in no rush and would have preferred to sleep longer. We were even wakened by them going to the toilet during the night. I am not a complainer, but I felt this was unacceptable, especially as they were advertising their standard room at

E Bell said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th June 2014

Stayed one night at the Oban Bay Hotel which is a return visit for myself and my husband. We both enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel particularly the service provided by the staff which is professional and very efficient.

Mr Crawford said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2014

the one main thing to improve the rooms would be access to a small fridge which we have had in other crerar hotels.also at breakfast times I think they should look at having a space laid aside for juices,fruit & cereals etc. for residents to help select what they want.but having said this all staff were excellent in helping us to enjoy our stay.

graham nisbet said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2014

General Manager and team = brilliant Stayed one night on busines / all great

D Copeland said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th May 2014

Hotel was acceptable, some public areas were in need of refurbishment. Disappointed that the hot tub was closed, but very nice massage

Elaine Hurles said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2014

great food and service i would rate this a three star plus not a three star

Linda Henderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2014

Spent an excellent weekend at Oban Bay. Food was first class and dining room staff were friendly and extremely efficient. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure guests were satisfied. Receptionists were also very pleasant and helpful and the standard of housekeeping was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Michael Stowasser said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2014

We were very disappointed about service after arrival. We (4 bikers) arrived early and wet due to heavy rain that day. So we asked to get at least one room before 3 p.m. - the published check in time. But our request was refused. When asking 5 min befor 3 o chlock we were told to wait another 10 minutes. After clerk left her job at 3 p.m. it was no problem to enter the rooms.

Josephine Bell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th May 2014

Excellent break. Food was very good, all staff efficient and friendly. Our bedroom was on the second floor of the original building and had two flights of quite steep stairs to it. If (when) we go back I will make sure to ask for a lower floor or a room that can be accessed by lift. Bedroom was a good size, very clean and had everything needed for a short break. Excellent value.

Howard Corfield said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. Again it did not disappoint. The staff were exceptional - friendly, welcoming and very efficient. The food was first class. The room was small but clean and well-equipped. I would stay again.

Linda Macgregor said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 16th May 2014

Food was enjoyable with a good choice at breakfast all freshly cooked. Glad we did not use the on-site parking, there are only a few spaces with people having to move cars during a meal.We will choose a different hotel next time we're in Oban.

Mrs Adamson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good food and room.