Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Sandra Fyfe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th June 2014

We arrived on the 10th of June for 3 nights and our room was stunning, our view across the bay was amazing, staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially Mary at reception. For evening dining the restaurant would benefit with table linen. Overall experience was warm friendly and comfortable, 10 out of 10. Many thanks Sandra and Richard Fyfe.

Mary Singh said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th June 2014

Nice clean room. Staff were polite , friendly and helpful. Great location and outlook. Only criticism would be noise in corridors with people going by constantly . Could hear every footstep. Apart from that we had a very pleasant stay.

A Close said...

67%
10%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2014

I made these comments at the time to the hotel. The mattress on the bed had hard lines and lumps which we only discovered when we went to bed. It was obviously well past its best. We had to turn the mattress before we could go to sleep, which made it better, but not perfect. They did change the mattress, but I think they need to replace them as the new one was much the same as the old one. Also, the floorboards in the room above squeaked loudly every time someone moved in the room. The result was that we could only go to sleep when they went to bed and we were up with them in the morning (7.30 one day and 7.00 the next). We were in no rush and would have preferred to sleep longer. We were even wakened by them going to the toilet during the night. I am not a complainer, but I felt this was unacceptable, especially as they were advertising their standard room at

E Bell said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th June 2014

Stayed one night at the Oban Bay Hotel which is a return visit for myself and my husband. We both enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel particularly the service provided by the staff which is professional and very efficient.

Mr Crawford said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2014

the one main thing to improve the rooms would be access to a small fridge which we have had in other crerar hotels.also at breakfast times I think they should look at having a space laid aside for juices,fruit & cereals etc. for residents to help select what they want.but having said this all staff were excellent in helping us to enjoy our stay.

graham nisbet said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2014

General Manager and team = brilliant Stayed one night on busines / all great

D Copeland said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th May 2014

Hotel was acceptable, some public areas were in need of refurbishment. Disappointed that the hot tub was closed, but very nice massage

Elaine Hurles said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2014

great food and service i would rate this a three star plus not a three star

Linda Henderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2014

Spent an excellent weekend at Oban Bay. Food was first class and dining room staff were friendly and extremely efficient. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure guests were satisfied. Receptionists were also very pleasant and helpful and the standard of housekeeping was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Michael Stowasser said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2014

We were very disappointed about service after arrival. We (4 bikers) arrived early and wet due to heavy rain that day. So we asked to get at least one room before 3 p.m. - the published check in time. But our request was refused. When asking 5 min befor 3 o chlock we were told to wait another 10 minutes. After clerk left her job at 3 p.m. it was no problem to enter the rooms.

Josephine Bell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th May 2014

Excellent break. Food was very good, all staff efficient and friendly. Our bedroom was on the second floor of the original building and had two flights of quite steep stairs to it. If (when) we go back I will make sure to ask for a lower floor or a room that can be accessed by lift. Bedroom was a good size, very clean and had everything needed for a short break. Excellent value.

Howard Corfield said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. Again it did not disappoint. The staff were exceptional - friendly, welcoming and very efficient. The food was first class. The room was small but clean and well-equipped. I would stay again.

Linda Macgregor said...

67%
70%
50%
80%

Stayed 16th May 2014

Food was enjoyable with a good choice at breakfast all freshly cooked. Glad we did not use the on-site parking, there are only a few spaces with people having to move cars during a meal.We will choose a different hotel next time we're in Oban.

Mrs Adamson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good food and room.

archibald dickson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th May 2014

Excellent hotel .staff were great.food served was of high standard and amazing.would definitely return to this hotel.

John Hill said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2014

I could not fault this hotel. Very clean and well run. Comfortable public areas and restaurant. The food was the best I have tasted anywhere.Impressively stocked bar with a great selection of Scotch Whisky.The staff we came in contact with were all exceptionally nice and friendly and very efficient. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay and would certainly recommend The Oban Bay Hotel & Spa. I intend adding my comments on Trip Advisor.

graham mcadam said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2014

thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and w ould recommend to all my friends and family only thing was the hotel could be doing with a bit of an upgrade

William Walker said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2014

Excellent long weekend at Oban Bay. The staff, food and service exceptional. Rooms are a bit tired but very comfortable. am sure the hotel owners are aware of this. Needless to say we didn't take our break to sit in our bedroom. We have booked another break here later in the year as we found nice and ambient atmosphere. Prices not cheap but you get what you pay for .... Excellent Service.

Mrs Taylor said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2014

first time with classic britain and in oban we had a great time would go back

julie graham said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 23rd April 2014

Loved our stay and would return.

I Johnston said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th April 2014

we found the hotel and staff to be excellent, providing a lovely break with good food. A most enjoyable stay. Only slight downside would be lack of parking at the hotel, although managed to park a couple of hundreds yards from hotel, luckily did not have too much luggage.

Robert Tollan said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2014

had a really enjoyable stay at hotel

M Bickle said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Excellent value for money,extremely helpful staff,stunning views over oban bay.

Norman Lewis said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2014

We had an excellent weekend at the Oban Bay. The food was superb and the staff very helpful and friendly. I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

J Donaghey said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 15th April 2014

Menu too fancy wine very expensive