Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Tinto Hotel, Biggar

Biggar Road, Biggar, ML126FT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

patricia mccolm said... Hotel has replied

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th May 2015

great stay.lovely food and friendly staff.will definately return.

Hotel reply...

Good morning, Thank you for your review. Short but sweet and perfectly encapsulates what we aim to achieve in our service provision! We look forward to welcoming you back once again. Robin Thomson General Manager

Inge Jones said... Hotel has replied

84%
100%
90%
60%

Stayed 14th May 2015

We booked the 2 nights B&B with 1 night dinner offer, which was very reasonably priced. Room, service & breakfast were excellent. We were a bit disappointed with the breaded haddock that we choose from the dinner menu. We would choose to stay at Tinto House Hotel again for a short break.

Hotel reply...

Good morning, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to read that you were pleased with many aspects of your stay but that we fell short of expectations with the haddock. I would be keen to know if you raised your concerns during your stay and if anything was done to remedy the situation for you? We do aim to deliver the highest standard at all times but where we do not do that we will always endeavour to redeem the situation given the opportunity. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you return in due course, Best wishes, Robin Thomson General Manager

Moira Gercken said... Hotel has replied

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 13th May 2015

Lovely hotel,upgraded room was fantastic. Food was average, there could have been a bit more of choice for main courses. Nice staff but not always someone on reception at busy times.

Hotel reply...

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Overall I am delighted to see you enjoyed many aspects of your stay but sorry to read we fell short on a few fronts. We do aim to have a team member within the vicinity of our reception at all times (although we are in the process of expanding that team too). Likewise, we are looking at our inclusive dinner options with a view to enhancing the choice on that front. With best wishes, Robin Thomson General Manager

Jainey Young said... Hotel has replied

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 9th May 2015

My husband and I stayed here on an offer break of DBB & btl of wine. It was very good value for money. The main area of the hotel and especially the beautiful stained glass window are very nice. The room was basic and a bit dated but lovely and clean. The bed was comfy with nice quality bedding. The menu was basic but good value for what we paid. Only gripe is we paid extra for the steak which could have been cooked better. Breakfast was really good. All staff were helpful and friendly.

Hotel reply...

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was rather disappointed when I initially saw your scoring but this was alleviated when I read your remarks which I feel give a fair and balanced view. Thank you. I am disappointed that the steak did not justify the supplement as we source our meat from a local quality butcher. I do hope you raised this at the time and gave us the opportunity to remedy the situation by removing said supplement? If not and we are lucky enough to have you return please do let me know and we will offer steak once again which I am sure will be up to standard. With best wishes, Robin Thomson General Manager

Susan Little said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2015

Good Hotel presently being updated. Rooms clean and both public areas and dinning room very comfortable

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to review Tinto House Hotel and for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel comfortable. We do hope to see you again in the future. All the best from the Tinto Team.

Elizabeth Gordon said... Hotel has replied

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2015

This is our 2nd time at this hotel great value for money both tribute nights brilliant staff very friendly great service food excellent main entrance and function rooms gorgeous rooms maybe a wee bit dated but who cares very clean and comfortable would definitely recommend

Hotel reply...

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Naturally I am delighted to read that we delivered great food and service to you. As you rightly point out we have beautiful public areas across the property. The rooms themselves are benefiting from refurbishments but the majority which have not yet been worked on we feel offer great value and a high degree of comfort and cleanliness nonetheless. We look forward to seeing you return - keep an eye on the website and Facebook for all the latest information on our events and tribute nights Best wishes Robin Thomson General Manager

Mrs Innes said... Hotel has replied

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2015

We have just returned from a 2 night break at Tinto Hotel. We had a really lovely stay, the manager was such a pleasant, friendly, helpful young man and made us feel very welcome. Our room (16) was lovely as was the ensuite. The food was very good and the choice was good as well. All the other staff we found to be very friendly. We look forward to a return visit. Wishing all at the Tinto the very best.

Hotel reply...

Good morning Mrs Innes, Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts. I am delighted to see that we met, and at times, exceeded expectations during your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Robin Thomson General Manager

thomas docherty said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2015

stayed at tinto for 2 nights on 21 /22 april 15 refurbished room very nice meals excellent staff very nice and helpfull especialy mhari in the dining room mr mrs t docherty

Hotel reply...

Good evening Mr & Mrs Docherty, Mhairi is a real asset to us and I am delighted to have her as part of my team as we bring in new recruits for what we expect to be an exciting summer and beyond. I am pleased to read you benefitted from our refurbished bedroom offering and enjoyed your meals with us. I look forward to welcoming you back, Best wishes Robin Thomson General Manager

Joyce Smith said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2015

This is a really nice hotel with staff who are very friendly and eager to please. The bedrooms were very clean but are in need of updating which I think is in progress certainly with the bathrooms. The main areas have benefitted from updating. The food was very good.

Hotel reply...

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The property is undergoing a number of improvments witht the restaurant and a number of bedrooms recently completed. The ongoing works are very low key of course and will have no impact on guests during their stay. I am pleased to see that both staff and food were of the high standards expected and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Robin Thomson General manager

kay stringer-forbes said... Hotel has replied

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Rooms are needing updated as is the hot water system, impossible to get shower to adequate temperature either scalding or freezing. But on plus side rooms are being updated and staff are only to happy to please. Service and food were excellent and after rooms are all upgraded and water issues sorted I would happily return.

Hotel reply...

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. First and foremost I am sorry that your shower experience was not ideal. Generally speaking our shower system in all room types operates without any issues but as we do have a plentiful supply of hot water I understand some showers do require careful adjustment to get the optimum temperature. As well as our continued programme of room refurbishments our maintenance team do investigate all issues and I have had them look into the shower mixer in the room you were resident in. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. Should we be fortunate enough to have you return then pleased do contact me so I may take care of arrangements personally Best wishes Robin Thomson General Manager

Jack Simpson said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2015

excellent break

Hotel reply...

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. It may be brief but your figures speak volumes and I'm delighted we scored top marks with you. Best wishes Robin Thomson General Manager

CAROL ANNE BRYSON said... Hotel has replied

54%
70%
40%
50%

Stayed 18th April 2015

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Tinto House Hotel. We were in a refurbished room which was lovely (some bulbs out in the bathroom - this should be checked before guests check in. We were staying for an entertainment break and the entertainment was excellent the couple really made an effort lots of costume changes and fantastic voices. The food wasn't too bad portion size a bit small and the veg was a bit soggy. dessert fab! Staff were mostly lovely. Had a major issue trying to get a drink from the bar. it was un-manned a lot of the time and a queue was built up until I went and sought out a member of staff to serve. (this happened on more than one occasion. It was a lovely day and there were a couple of chairs stuck out on the grass but I do hope a beer garden is part of the upgrade. All in all a very pleasant stay!!

Hotel reply...

Good evening, I must admit that I was disappointed when I first of all saw the marks you have given us but I do feel you have given a very honest and balanced review for which I thank you. The rooms are given a comprehensive check prior to guests arriving and yes, bulbs should be part of this process so it is disappointing that was not picked up on. Likewise, it is unusual for me to respond to less than satisfactory feedback about our food but I have shared your views with the chef as we do take all feedback very seriously. The bar service I must take sole responsibility for - generally we have enough staff to look after our daytime/early evening bar trade. On this occasion the warm weather was lovely but did boost the number of thirsty guests somewhat and we fell short of reasonable expectation. I am delighted to advise that we have taken on an addition 6 staff as we seek to expand the team to ensure we have cover at all times. With 3 acres of garden our existing patio area can get a little lost and guests often move the furniture onto the lawn as it seems to have been the case here. Again, I hope we are anticipating guests needs as we ordered picnic benches a few weeks ago and these are expected soon. Thank you once again for your feedback which is always invaluable in helping us improve and measure our standards. Kind regards Robin Thomson General Manager

Mrs Ramage said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th April 2015

First class break the entertainment was great and we would go there again .

Hotel reply...

Brilliant thank you for the top marks. We are looking forward to having you back again. A big thank you from all of us here at Tinto House Hotel

gavin brown said... Hotel has replied

24%
10%
50%
10%

Stayed 11th April 2015

lunch was lovely but dinner was awful entertainment was great only 1 member of staff during the day setting tables and serving at the bar so very slow service our rooms were on lower floor and looked like the had not been cleaned for a month old and dirty however we spoke to friends who were more than happy with there rooms I had a look at there room and it was like 2 different hotel's all rooms should be of the same standard of cleanliness I have been to the Tinto Hotel for Christmas party nights numerous times but I don't think I will be back after this experience

Hotel reply...

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us. Our Head Housekeeper has a rather robust set of procedures to ensure that all rooms are of the highest standard and I am sorry to hear that we fell below reasonable expectations. I am pleased you had the opportunity to see other rooms and have viewed these positively underlining that, whilst you regrettably had issues, it was not a prevalent standard across the property. We had a full compliment of staff on during your stay so I will investigate further your lengthy wait for service. With reception, bar and restaurant in close proximity there should always be staff on hand in all areas. I would be keen to ascertain whether we were given the opportunity to remedy any of these situations for you during your stay? With the constant presence on site of a Duty Manager I hope we were given that opportunity as we would always endeavour to rectify any issues immediately in any way we can. With best wishes, Robin Thomson General Manager

James Burns said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2015

The hotel is currently going through a refurbishment programme under new management. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable and the bedroom was a good size and clean and will benefit from the refurb. The overall service was very good and the food was excellent and represented good value for money. I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to review the hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the food to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for another break away. All the best from the Tinto Team

Joan McDonald said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2015

Enjoyed the stay Staff accommodating Nice refurbished bedroom

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to review the hotel. We do hope to see you again for another nice stay. Thanks again from all of us at Tinto

Joe Allen said... Hotel has replied

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 4th April 2015

Staff friendly and very helpful ( thanks for upgrade)

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Tinto, you are very welcome for the upgrade. We would really appreciate your feedback for your mark for the food, could you please email stay@tintohouse.com when you have the time so we may work on improving the lesser aspects of the meals. Thank you in advance. from all the Tinto team.

Sandra Parker said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2015

my friends and I had a fabulous over night stay , the room I was in was spacious except for the bathroom it was small. The staff were very attentive and friendly , the meal we had was delicious , soup , beef stroganoff to die for , and apple pie followed by coffee and mints . All for the grand price of

Hotel reply...

Thank you for the lovely review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you and your friends will come stay with us again. All the best to all of you from the Tinto team.

Michelle Auld said... Hotel has replied

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2015

Second visit this year and impressed with the ongoing changes - even the heating has been fixed ! The refurbished rooms are lovely and the manager and his staff couldnt have been more helpful. A very enjoyable stay - we will be back .....!

Hotel reply...

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for writing such a nice review. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Enjoy the rest of the Easter holidays, hopefully the weather stays nice. All the best to you and yours from the Tinto team.

C Whiteford said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2015

Had a lovely time at the tinto hotel, Brian and the staff were so nice and helpful, the meals and breakfast really nice. Couldn't fault anything, will definitely be back.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Tinto. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please do join us again for another break away. We wish you all the very best for the rest of 2015 From all of us at Tinto

M McLeod said... Hotel has replied

64%
40%
100%
50%

Stayed 3rd April 2015

The hotel has great potential and they were honest about the renovations being made which we were aware off before booking. There were 10 of us on a 2 night tribute break and we had a great time. The staff are all excellent which made our stay very pleasant. Food was average but the weekend was good value for money. I'm sure this hotel will take off big time once the planned renovations are completed.

Hotel reply...

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review about Tinto House. We refurbishing the rooms as you mentioned and the restaurant has now been re-painted to match the upcoming public area refurbishment and menu overhaul. We would love for you and your party to come back later in the year to experience the changes. All the best from the Tinto Team

vincent parker said... Hotel has replied

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2015

Very nice stay staff very attentive

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, can you please email stay@tintohouse.com with you comments on your bedroom. We are refurbishing all rooms at the moment, some have not yet been done so they do have old decor and furniture. We would really like it if you joined us for another stay, you can request a refurbished room or upgrade to a superior room. All the best from the Tinto Team.

Sheena Shand said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2015

Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Currently being upgraded but excellent value.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you to Tinto again in the near or distant future. All the best from the Tinto team

John Archibald said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2015

Just back from a Tribute weekend which was very good . Staff were all friendly and food was very good. Would return for another weekend away

Hotel reply...

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon for another break. Thank you for reviewing the hotel and for your kind words about us. Best wishes from the Tinto Team

Mrs Maclean said... Hotel has replied

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th March 2015

comfortable hotel-ours was a large room at the front of hotel - rooms being updated and other plans in hand - staff were pleasant -

Hotel reply...

We are happy that you liked the hotel and thank you for taking the time to post a review about us. We would love to have you back to stay with us again. All the best from the Tinto team