Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

mary hamblin said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2016

Would recommend this hotel & stay for the price we paid however our room was shabby needs updating & the cobwebs need to be dealt with. Our room was at the back of the hotel near the function rooms, music was very loud & went on till the early hours of the morning.... Not the relaxing over night stay we had in mind! Food was really good & the staff were friendly & helpful. Not sure we would return as there are so many offers & deals on hotel accommodation so would probably try somewhere else next time.

Jennifer Gorrie said...

54%
80%
0%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2016

A beautiful hotel set in gorgeous surroundings. All was great except for the service in the restaurant! Had to wait for long periods waiting for courses! Hotel manager was great though when complained. Tip:book your restaurant times well in advance or you get stuck with late dining times like us!

gill orme said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2016

1st class from moment we arrived til the minute we left....staff lovely everywhere....very helpful .... Hannah ,in beauty spa was particularly good at her job ....nothing too much trouble ....will visit again

Viv Fernside said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2016

Great room, lovely staff, very helpful. Food great but the 2nd dining room lacked atmosphere.

Helen Backhouse said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 8th August 2016

had a great stay, room, evening meal and leisure facil were great. the only let down was the breakfast - i think it was a busy session as there was no fresh fruit or yogurts left. the staff were very pleasant though.

A guest said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2016

Stayed here a few times now - hotel is looking tired. One of the lamps didn't work in our room and the lighting is almost non-existent. Towels need replacing. Never seem to be enough staff on reception and queued with 6 others to check out! Restaurant staff work hard, were very busy but items sometimes missed. Would only stay with an offer - would never pay full price.

Michele Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2016

Great value for money , beautiful surroundings and lovely building ,great food served by pleasant attentive staff, brilliant selection for breakfast,pool & spa area very nice.

Amanda Plumpton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2016

2nd stay at hotel. Very busy as 2 weddings in. However there was no trouble or disturbance. Food fantastic. Good value for money. Would recommend anyone to take advantage of this offer.

ALISON Potts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2016

Excellent stay staff friendly and helpful xx

pam mannion said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd June 2016

The pool wasFREEZING COLD, the hot tub wasn't hot enough and didn't have enough water in it. The mixer in the shower was broke so water was freezing or boiling. When told the receptionist about the above she was very sympathetic but didn't make any notes so how was the handyman to know?? Lovely hotel completely ruined by lthe rubbish spa facil and shower failure.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2016

Enjoyed stay first night over and full use of hotel, food and service was fantastic. Only reserve I have is the the spa changing rooms require some attention. I did use facil on a spa day a year or so ago and there does not appear to have been any changes in that time, issue with showers mainly looking very tired, on this visit I noticed that the small pool area at the front facing there appeared to be dust/grit in the bottom of the pool, and a lot of surface water on floor nearby.

A guest said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 9th April 2016

really disappointed with reception staff after booking time for dinner were handed key to room told third floor and no more nothing about were to dine or anything about the hotel had to offer. went down to dinner got our name wrong got room number wrong and time wrong the only saving grace was as we were the last to be allocated time slot then it must be ours not great from this hotel chain

A guest said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2016

Was almost overcharged on arrival. First room was like a Victorian bedroom but staff were lovely and moved us after using the spa. Steam room had mould and needs updating. Food lovely and staff lovely.

A guest said...

74%
50%
70%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2016

The hotel was extremely busy. Check-inwas very poor, a very long wait. We were told at 4.45 pm( when check-in was 3pm), "we were lucky our room was ready". Some guests had checked in but even at this late hour their room was not yet ready. The check-in gentleman was very slow, his colleague had checked in three other parties whilst we were waiting! When trying to reserve a table for dinner the times available were 6.15pm or 9.15pm!The leisure facil were overcrowded and the changing rooms very dated and basic. The signage to direct you to your room was inadequate, we were lost, along with many other guests trying to locate our room. However the food was excellent!

Ian Harley said... Hotel has replied

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 23rd January 2016

The hotel was a bit hit and miss. Soup we got for lunch was cold and had to be sent back. Room and facil ok. Ladies changing room at spa was dirty and mouldy. Our bathroom was dirty. Dinner was fine but the restaurant was poorly managed - staff didn't know who had ordered what and we saw several meals sent back. Staff friendly. Very disappointed that a couple we met had got DBB for £25 less than us - the hotel receptionist advised that we should always check direct with hotel!

Hotel reply...

Dear Mr Hartley thank you for taking the time to review Shrigley hall hotel. I am delighted to tell you that refurbishment has already started in our leisure club and will be completed over the next few weeks. I am sorry hat we did not look after you as well as we should at dinner, these comments have been passed to our restaurant manager. Rate will vary from time to time, My Hotel break would normally offer best value. Again my apologies for our shortcomings and we are working hard to continually improve the service and facilities we offer our guests. kind regards

A guest said...

74%
90%
60%
70%

Stayed 7th January 2016

We stayed for two nights. The room was warm and spotlessly clean. The decor was lovely and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, a warm atmosphere around staff and a super friendly manager. Dining in the restaurant was a lovely relaxing experience with an excellent menu choice. Delicious dining at a very reasonable cost. Breakfast was served in the restaurant with a buffet style breakfast for the hearty appetite and a good selection of cereal. The views from the front of the property are outstandingly beautiful with the views over the Cheshire plains. The entrance to the hotel is splendid and instantly makes you relax in the surroundings

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th January 2016

I had read some reviews of this hotel before our stay, and was amazed by the polarised comments from some people, varying from wonderful to horrendous. All I can say after our stay here is 'What on earth do some people want?' The hotel is beautiful, in gorgeous surroundings, the staff are friendly and helpful, the service is excellent and the food perfectly acceptable. Our room (a suite) was fantastic, it was huge and had both a settee and a dining table and chairs, a dressing room and a large bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath. We got a very good deal that included dinner, and everything was just about perfect. My parents also stayed and they too were impressed by the hotel. If you go to this hotel and are not perfectly satisfied by the standard of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff and the good facil then, really, I don't think ANYTHING could satisfy you, not even Buckingham Palace!

Philip Hall said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th November 2012

Bedroom would be ten if trouser press was included, food would have been ten if cooked part of breakfast was more freshly cooked