Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

derek Pickering said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2015

All in all, a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. Will be recommending the place to others.

LYNNE BEAMENT said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2015

Value for money was excellent as was both service and food. A wider choice of dinner menu would be nicer. The room itself was rather small but was clean and functional. The hotel in general could do with redecoration/a fresh up.

CRAIG DONALDSON said...

50%
20%
70%
60%

Stayed 28th August 2015

Room was damp;very old fashion decor;rooms and bathroom smelled musty. We arrived late and didn't have the energy to complain.....however in the morning the shower produced luke warm water....After complaining we used another room to shower which was not ideal. We were meant to get an upgrade via booking with classic Britain but this was not offered. Breakfast was ok.

Lynn Williamson said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 21st August 2015

Nice overnight stay staff very friendly.

David Robinson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th August 2015

Hotel is what we expected needing a bit of refurbishment . We got upgraded to executive room. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Food and service was excellant. Stayed one night would go back.

Donna Coulter said...

47%
10%
60%
70%

Stayed 10th August 2015

VERY disappointed!!!!! The first room we were given smelled awful, the bathroom was damp and old, ughhh. Their was an old couch with the arms all wripped, decor was old and run down!! We were then moved to another room which was slightly better but my daughter had to sleep on a camp bed that you could feel the springs through, she ended up sleeping in the double bed with her Dad and I - so let's say no one got a very good night sleep!!! The food was nice but we will not visit again and would certainly not recommend to anyone to stay! What disappoints me that it was once a beautiful hotel and grounds which has been left to be rundown:(

John Lax said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th August 2015

We stayed at Hetland Hall for 5 nights. We had a large end standard double room in the annex, with windows on 2 sides. The bed was comfortable also large. The towels were new and fluffy, these were changed every day. The breakfast was always hot, quick service. The staff all of them very friendly, we had no complaints what so ever. On leaving our account was over charged, but corrected when pointed out.

jean adele smith said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2015

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, food excellent a great place for a relaxing break.

ROBERT CARGILL said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th July 2015

A fine hotel for a short break or longer. Perhaps a bit dated in places and could do with improved decor and some of the beds well worn! Food was excellent!

T Rankin said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 26th July 2015

It was good for what we paid but it really needs a good clean and a whole lot of money spent on it. Minimal staff, waiting staff covered reception , nobody to answer phone and it was obvious that the staff that was on had to go where needed. Looks like it was a fab hotel in its day.

R Barr said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th July 2015

Had a great time , hotel was brilliant, staff was excellent, only disappointment was room was up the top

Christine Macraild said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2015

I found the staff to be very friendly and could not have been anymore helpful There was a shortage of some breakfast food but this was through no fault of the staff but otherwise I found our stay to be very pleasant

Sandra Andrews said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2015

Our stay was excellent with very comfortable and spacious accommodation, wonderful food choices, and first class service from staff. Well Done all!

Elaine Hurles said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd May 2015

Staff. And food excellent but let down by poor condition n standard of the room in the annexe of hotel

gerry mccanny said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th May 2015

return visit this time for 2 nights, lovely big room although 2 seat settee had seen better days, we were told room due for refurb soon,the food was plentyful of high standard and local produce, staff were friendly and helpful.

Martin Wilson said...

60%
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th May 2015

We spent two nights here food was good and service was good, no long waits to be served and staff very friendly and helpfull. The building itself is in need of updating painting and new windows etc, however the room we had was in a very poor state the living fire on the wall did not work the central heating radiator did not work we complained about this and was given a portable heater, the draws etc in the room were also in a poor condition, to have a shower or bath you had to run the water for at least ten minuets before it came hot. I feel I was let down by Classic Briton on this occasion they should check out this hotel and take it off there list of hotels as it is not up to Clasic Briton standard. Regards Martin Wilson

vanessa shand said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th May 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful . Hotel was in a lovely location Plenty of location to visit. We would definitely visit again also good to know that it is a dog friendly hotel as well.

samantha finnie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd May 2015

Perfect day from when we arrived had a really good time

W Clark said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd April 2015

We had a lovely relaxing 2 nights at Hetland Hall. The staff were so helpful and friendly

L Wilson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th April 2015

Positives - Nice Hotel, wonderful location close to many amenities, staff are very friendly. Bed very comfortable. Grounds are nice and great for dog walks. Negatives - Could do with a revamp in all areas, housekeeping needing to attend to areas in the room especially in the bathroom. Would we return here again YES !! This is our second time at Hetland Hall so speaks for its self.

John Turner said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2015

On the basis of the excellent package provided through classicbritain, we enjoyed all aspects of our visit. Would readily return to the Hetland on a similar deal.

alex graham said...

60%
80%
40%
60%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Beautiful room loved 4 poster bed. Shower complicated and didn't work properly. Staff were pleasant but seemed unready for influx of guests mid afternoon. Had to ask for the free wine. Final Bill had three major errors. Afternoon tea was excellent and good value but too much for one person. A bigger pot of tea and it would have done for two. Dinner menu had a reasonable choice and food was well prepared and presented. Only disappointment was the cold bread and butter pudding. I had high hopes of a freshly cooked breakfast done to order but was let down to find that it was obviously assembled from hot plates and even the freshly cooked poached egg was overdone.

Mr Coulter said...

77%
90%
50%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Had a wonderful stay grate location only bad point was not enough staff who seemed to cover to many tasks but did a fantastic job under the circumstances will make a point in returning

Art Learmonth said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th April 2015

Hotel is getting quite rundown. Needs considerable maintenance.

S Reid said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 30th March 2015

Room basic because our room was in the annex it was very cold wall fire not working thank goodness we had a heater.Main meals good,Breakfast first morning adequate next morning I asked for poached egg, sausage,mushroom which was whatI got 1 egg,1 sausage, and a spoonfull of mushrooms disappointing.With so much choice with Classic Hotels we will book elsewhere.