Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Janice Henderson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2015

an enjoyable stay

Kay Muir said...

77%
90%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th June 2015

Good value for money. Had read a few bad reports about the hotel but I found the room excellent value for money. Only downside was it was very hot and we struggled to sleep with the very thick duvets and lack of air. Meals were fine although the hot food at breakfast not very hot.

gemma mclellan said...

57%
70%
30%
70%

Stayed 2nd May 2015

Hotel and facilities really good rooms were nice and spacious bathrooms very clean. The leisure facilities were really good and the girl working at the pool was great with kids my 3 year old had a great time in the pool. Unfortunately the staff in the hotel werent as impressive , 2days prior to arrival i called the hotel and asked them if we could attend the tribute act in the function suite in the hotel after dinner which was agreed and a

Lindsay Cordiner said...

84%
100%
90%
60%

Stayed 26th April 2015

Staff welcoming and friendly. Hotel warm and room spacious. Dinner was to be

E McIntosh said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 24th April 2015

Room and bed small. Mattress could do with replacing as it was soft and sagged. Food on Friday evening, steak overdone with the fries being underdone. Menu wine price differed than that charged, menu showed lower price. Entertainment evening was very enjoyable. The staff were attentive.

William Kerr said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2015

quite old fashioned hotel but still nice ,the leisure facilities were good and the staff were excellent ,would go back again ,the entertainment was great

Jacqueline Gillies said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2015

The bedroom although small was very clean and the bed very comfortable, we had a great sleep. The food was very tasty and all the hotel staff were very friendly. Would definately stay again. Very pleased.

Nicola Neill said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2015

As a family we have really enjoyed our stay at the Cairndale hotel. Excellent central location. Family room good size and each of the children had their own beds. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent as were all staff. Leisure pool needs updated and leisure club manager was only member of staff we found yo be unfriendly!! He seems yo be more keen on local gym users than hotel guests. Overall a great stay n would definitely return.

Helen Campbell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay. We had our 6 month old baby with us and the staff were very accommodating and helpful ensuring we had space at dinner and breakfast for her pram. A lovely few days away in a super hotel. Will definitely be back.

kay kelly said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th April 2015

Lovely hotel in good location. Staff all welcoming and helpful. Great to have access to such good swimming and health facilities.Would book in advance next time for any spa treatmemts. Very pleasant stay, enjoyed thoroughly.

DANIELLE ROBERTSON said...

20%
20%
10%
30%

Stayed 8th April 2015

We didn't enjoy our stay at this hotel and would not stay again or recommend to friends. The room was dated and uninspired, in need of decorating. We had to use the sofa bed and the sofa was stained with tea. We had a DBB deal. Prior to dinner we had drinks in the bar. The staff were awkward and inexperienced and took ages to serve. Dinner was a poor experience. When our reservation was taken at check in there was a mistake made. The member of staff at dinner seemed to make more of an issue of this. Also we could hear him telling other diners that there weren't enough menus to go around and felt this was directed at us because there were more people than what the booking had stated. Again the staff seemed inexperienced and nervous. We didn't feel welcomed or encouraged to enjoy the experience and found the atmosphere within the dining room strange. The staff were going through the motions of getting meals out but had no personality or customer service skills. The meal was ok. Breakfast was a better experience. The staff made an effort to serve quickly and ensured we had everything we needed. They were more confident than the dinner staff.

E McKay said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2015

Enjoyable stay,however, bed on small side,disappointed that dinner menu was same choice for the two nights and surprised that dogs were allowed in hotel as were disturbed by barking from next room. Positives were, room size,pleasant staff and excellent breakfasts.

Roger Rainbow said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2015

The special offer made it good value

Lesley McGoohan said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2015

Very pleasant stay. All staff very friendly

moira mcgeoch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2015

very friendly staff 10/10 meals were 10/10 we would recommend this hotel

Carol Duffy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2015

Facilities fab food wonderful will be back

N Roberts said...

70%
30%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2015

Hotel was ok,staff very friendly. We stayed in room 5 bed lumpy view from the room not good overlooked the back of the kitchens. There was a very strong smell of bleach in the room and corridor, so strong that we could Smell it off of our clothes when we left. Location is good dinner was nice and breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and food fresh and staff quick with tea/coffee and toast

peter roberts said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th February 2015

to many mistakes, pre ordered chocolates, did not recieve them, not charged. Radiator in room not working, given convector heater as replacement. Charged extra on check out for dinner, although fixed menu clearly stated those on DBB are entitled to a 3 or 4 course meal and coffee. told at check out that allowance for dinner was

Tracey Hamilton said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 6th February 2015

Lovely warm welcome from all the staff. Was a bit disappointed with selection of menu at dinner. Breakfast made up for the dinner. Pool is lovely, hairdryers a bit old and slow for people with long hair.

Mrs Phillips said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st February 2015

Hotel lovely and facilities/food good. However room (22) was opposite a storage cupboard of sorts and we were awakened each morning at 5.45am by member of staff (with a cough) accessing it. Also room was cold.

Aileen Hart said...

64%
80%
100%
10%

Stayed 30th January 2015

The hotel is in nice central location, clean, comfortable and the staff are pleasant and helpful. The leisure facilities are very good. The four ladies in my party all made use of the spa and had a massage. The therapist was very nice and the treatments offered were excellent. The one disappointment was that only one restaurant was opened and the choice of food on the set dinner menu was very limited. We were able to choose from the menu on the first night and the quality of the food was good. On the second night the set menu was very similar to the previous night's menu so didn't offer much choice. The a la carte menu had little more to offer. We stayed for two nights dinner bed and breakfast but had to eat out on the second night as the set menu was so limited. Eight adults dining out was an expensive additional cost. Unfortunately as I booked a 2 night DBB package there was no opportunity to recoup any costs, although I did try! (I have given a lower rating for food based on the choices available and not the quality of the food)

CHARLES MCGETTIGAN said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd January 2015

Room was excellent- deluxe suite 4 poster suite. Added bonus would be mini bar in room. Bathroom was very cold - perhaps heater in bathroom. Otherwise first class stay with excellent staff and service.

Archibald Stevenson said...

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 29th December 2014

Overall we enjoyed it mainly due to the lovely people we met and will stay in touch with. Our suite was lovely but very cold when we arrived, when I mentioned it to reception she said that they would look at it but never did so we bought a fan heater from Argos to help to keep warm.The food was much better the last time we stayed, but overall the stay was enjoyable due to the people we met. On saying that we would not return to the Cairndale.

lynette lewis said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night Twixmas stay. Overall, the hotel, staff and facilities lived up to our expectations. We would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

D Jackson said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2014

bedroom very cold as heating never came on till 4pm tribute night badly organized after meal where told your name on table for tribute went in no name there only tables left where with no view of the act what a terrible place to have a tribute night when not everyone cant see show and dance floor tiny so how can that number get up and dance ? i think you should think again about holding a tribute night in that settings