Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Ellen Grierson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 2013

excellent hotel very much value for money

jean adele smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2012

The hotel is so tranquil and relaxing,we had a wonderfull stay. The food was fabulous and the staff friendly and welcoming, room with loch view an added bonus.One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Brian Howie said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2012

Fantastic short break. Great food & I have never met friendlier staff anywhere.

Carol Fleming said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2012

Had a lovely stay at Stonefield Castle. The staff couldn't have been friendlier.

Alan Fleming said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 2nd November 2012

Fantastic looking hotel in stunning countryside with great views over Loch Fyne from the dining room. The hotel room we stayed in was adequate for our two night stay albeit a little cold and you could easily hear the guests in neibouring rooms talking which was a little disappointing. Breakfast was fantastic although evening meals were not as good as we would expect from a four star hotel. However the staff were excellent and very attentive which added to an overall enjoyable stay.

Chris Angell said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2012

The hotel staff were excellent, especially the Dining staff. The food was delicious and the breakfasts filling. Our room was rather cold at night due to the radiator being under the window, behind the curtians though I understand there was a power cut on the first night which may have been another cause which couldn't be helped and the staff informed us that this was why the hot water for showers would take a little time to heat up. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and any requests at dinner (like my request for no mushroom sauce with my meal was met with an offer to make a different sauce to acompany it) were met with no fuss at all. All in all not even the wet weather could have dampened our enjoyment of our stay at the castle and its staff. Chris and Shona Angell

Roger Holmes said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th October 2012

the bedrooms need an urgent update. The food in the resturant was generally good but for one night it was cold and uninviting

Christine Bialoglowski-Mark said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2012

Hotel was wonderful, food was excellent. We will revisit this hotel again

M Brough said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 7th October 2012

Our fourth visit. wonderful location, comfy and relaxed atmosphere . Staff friendly and efficient. Food - portions a bit on the small side and not very hot, also there's no excuse for not heating plates properly. We will still return.

Graham Greig said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2012

The castle was exactly what we wanted for a relaxing weekend. The bedrooms were comfortable - we had a suite and were glad to pay the extra, even the bathroom had a view! The manager and staff we very attentive and always greeted you with a smile. The food was well presented with a good choice, I marked as a 9 as the only thing that let it down was the breakfast the day we were leaving, although very good the bacon was a bit overdone. All in all though an excellent place to stay and I will be going back.

graham nisbet said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2012

very good service all round

Kirstin Mrugalla said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th September 2012

thanks for a beautiful stay! helpful friendly staff, beautiful building and surroundings -- real romantic castle feeling

STEVEN WILSON said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2012

as expected excellent location , fantastic views from the dining room , food was faultless , if I was to be critical the only thing was the slightly over priced drinks -

Archie McKellar said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2012

Very restful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

M Jackson said...

57%
80%
80%
10%

Stayed 21st July 2012

the staff very friendly and helpful the hotel was lovely with beautiful grounds and walks the only thing that spoilt the 2night stay was the dinners at night first night alright second night terrible after waiting 45mins inbetween courses i got 6 leaves of baby gem lettuce 2 sad looking sausages 1 potato cut up tsp apple sauce

BRUCE LINDSAY said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 16th July 2012

Bedroom furnishings were fair.Bed was very hard Dinner was good if you liked fish.

Moira Dorward said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th June 2012

Fabulous holiday. Views tremendous and food sumptious. Beautiful locale and the staff just could not have been more helpful. Will certainly return.

James Sherman said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th May 2012

Excellent service and accommodation, wonderful grounds and location, even the weather was excellent. Could not ask for better.

Mr Fargie said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2012

George Christie said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2012

Excellent weekend spent at the Stonefield Castle Hotel 4th and 5th May. Enjoyed the grounds and the ambiance of the hotel. Bedroom comfortable, staff friendly and attentive, the view from the restaurant and food were fabulous.

george fothergill said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st April 2012

room ok, bathroom tired looking, shower head holder broken.staff good,location very good with pleasant walks within the grounds on the lochside. would go back

Mrs Campbell said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 10th April 2012

Some poor dinner and bar service this visit probably due to inexperienced staff.No welcome upon entering the [quiet]bar,helped myself to a menu from the dining room,maitre'd seemed a bit overwhelmed and ordered items were forgotten.Our room 22 had a loud couple next door and we could hear everything!will request a room in the old wing next time as no soundproofing problems experienced there before.fiona at reception very welcomig and efficient as always.

Gayle Peters said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2012

This was our third visit. We would say that the room decor could now be doing with refurbishment. Also we bizarrely had hot water coming from our cold taps and hot water filling the toilet cistern! Staff assured us that running the water through the pipes for long enough would remedy this but this was only a temporary solution. In spite of this we enjoyed our stay very much.