Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

AUSTIN BARNETT said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th November 2021

There are so many great points regarding Stonefield Castle Hotel. The hotel's ambience created by a mixture of historical features, setting, surroundings, comfort, friendliness, views and delicious food makes this a perfect place to stay. The staff are brilliant - very friendly and attentive. The breakfast menu was superb and mix that in with the views from the conservatory - I cant think it can be topped.

Anne Byrne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th November 2021

We had a very enjoyable stay. The food was great and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The bar has a very good selection of whiskies and gins and has great barman who makes lovely tails. We will definitely be returning next year.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2021

4 of us stayed here for 2 nights on 2nd & 3rd Oct, 2021 the hotel was beautiful & the food was lovely. All the staff were very helpful & couldn’t do enough for us. Would definitely recommend this hotel & we will return.

Karen Stevenson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2021

We enjoyed our stay at Stonefield Castle, all the staff are very welcoming and nothing too much trouble, we arrived much earlier than expected & the receptionist arranged our room to be ready in no time, its a lovely castle set in a stunning location overlooking the loch, maybe needing some updating it would be great if it had leisure facilities, maybe in the future . Overall a very pleasant stay.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2021

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Stonefield Castle hotel. Comfortable room with a lovely loch view, welcoming staff and food first class as usual.

Jill Carruthers said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st July 2021

Enjoyed a lovely break at the Stonefield Castle. Food was excellent and staff very friendly. Room was very comfortable. No air conditioning, but we were on the north side of the building so that wasn't a problem. As noted by other guests, some indoor areas and the exterior of the hotel need TLC. We had great weather so the terrace was lovely. Only sour note was that several members of staff were consistently not wearing their masks properly i.e. over mouth only, removing when speaking etc. and that caused me concern.

John Forrest said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st June 2021

Excellent Hotel, in beautiful surroundings.

Michelle Nield said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2021

This is a beautiful hotel with stunning grounds, scenery and location on the shores of Loch Fyne. The bar has been set very high with a magnificent hotel, professional staff who could not do enough for you, a perfect setting with amazing views over Loch Fyne. There’s even a little island you can walk out to! Very dog friendly. I must admit that I thought that the hotel staff might be a bit pretentious ( we were on a fantastic deal with a bottle of wine and meal)but I could not have been more wrong! Lovely room, choice of wine- and you can drink it with your meal - just a wonderful break!

David Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2021

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Social distancing well managed without to much disruption to service of meals and drinks. All staff were attentive at all times and any requests or queries were dealt with promptly. Excellent bath and shower.

Dorothy Parker said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 5th May 2021

Stonefield Castle provided a great location, excellent food and comfortable room for a day night break. Staff were very helpful. Well worth a visit.

Matthew Holbrook said...

74%
80%
40%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Overall a very positive stay in a lovely location. However the staff were painfully slow. Some examples below: Dinner: approximately 25 minutes after ordering some soft drinks, our waiter admitted he forgot to put the order in. Our main courses hadn’t arrived after 1 hour of ordering. I suspect these were also forgotten about but we were constantly assured ‘your food is coming’. Breakfast: we were seated and both ordered the Scottish breakfast. After 35 minutes, 2 further tables were seated around us and both were served cooked breakfasts, one couple had even started and finished breakfast in the time it took before our food arrived. The food itself was of a Very high standard, and the staff were very polite, but it was extremely slow at meal times.

Shelagh Quinn said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2020

Magnificent position on Loch Fyne and wonderful dining room with picture windows on 3 sides. Staff helpful and provided good service. New bathroom in our room which was very smart. Wonderful building with public rooms retaining their original features.

James Cobb said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 16th October 2020

Very nice apart from breakfast on first day when Eggs Benedict I ordered was delivered to the table cold-twice and I ended up with a bowl of porridge whisk at least was warm

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2020

Excellent Stay, food was superb, will definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Elizabeth said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 13th October 2020

Really enjoyed our stay here at Stonefield Castle. The staff were lovely, always so helpful and obliging. The hotel itself is beautiful and the grounds are stunning...we enjoyed exploring the gardens and the surrounding area. Our room was very small and, although we did miss having chairs and a table, we did have everything we needed. The food at dinner was very good although the breakfasts in the morning were a bit slow, and not always very warm either. All in all, an enjoyable stay and we plan to return.

Graham Hutton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2020

The hotel is in a place of outstanding beauty. The hotel is lovely, although the Covid restrictions made it difficult to enjoy the amenities fully. The staff did their best and were obviously striving to cope with the regulations as best they could. The quality of food at dinner each evening was excellent and delicious. The breakfasts sadly were not so and looked and tasted dried out and on the second morning we had to wait nearly 50 minutes for the cooked breakfast, which was disappointing when it arrived. Apparently the chef had just started that morning! The room was above the kitchen so was noisy both late at night and in the early morning. The shower temperature was erratic, the toilet seat faulty and the extractor fan did not work. However, the bed was very comfortable and the view from the room was fantastic. The service in the restaurant and the bar (well, outside!) was very good and friendly. Disappointing they do not sell tails. Otherwise the beer was good! Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would certainly consider revisiting, hopefully in the post-covid era when we can enjoy all the amenities better.

Diane Emmett said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd September 2020

Fantastic location- grounds of hotel stunning - staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant first night fine - obviously due to Covid it was a reduced menu - slightly disappointed no smoked fish on menu or at breakfast as we were staying near Loch Fyne. Full Scottish breakfast great though. Great deal.

A guest said...

40%
30%
50%
40%

Stayed 27th August 2020

No phone signal inside building (understandable for where it is) WiFi connection was shocking Tv in the room didn't even have a decent signal. After I had to programme the channels. Hallways and rooms not the standard I would expect for 4* Bar was not well staffed.

Neil Johnstone said...

44%
40%
70%
20%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

I am sorry to say the hotel was looking fairly tired, as was our room with cracked tiles in the bathroom and window frames that badly need replaced, although the staff were great. The short rib of beef we were served on the first evening was inedible! Rightly so, the £42 cost of this course was removed from our bill, as both the waiter and the chef agreed. As for the breakfast, it must be the smallest portion I have experienced, half a rasher of bacon, half a slice of black pudding, half a slice of haggis. Moving onto the evening meal on the second night, we both chose chicken and it seems one breast was made to do two. It was very meagre and it made nouvelle cuisine look generous. I simply cannot understand how this place can be awarded 4 stars.

Margo Nimmo said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2020

Loved our stay. The staff were lovely, beautiful location. The breakfast was very good. Also the room was great , no complaints ?

Morag Wilkinson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2020

Beautiful building, amazing grounds, kind, thoughtful staff. Hope to visit again.

Ian Paterson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2020

We'd a very good stay at the Stonefield Hotel, staff very helpful, spotless and modern bedroom, other rooms in the hotel were period influenced and tastefully decorated, food of a high standard..

David Gilchrist said...

67%
80%
40%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Lovely 2 night break away..... reception staff very good, restaurant staff need a lot of training, food good, bar staff good ...... just love this place

Lindsay Eccles said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th February 2020

Fantastic location with wonderful views. Very helpful and friendly staff, good quality food in the restaurant and breakfast. The building oozes charm and history. Dog friendly which is so nice to see (even without a dog) and plenty of walks including their own island within the grounds. A place I will return to again

Kenneth Bullman said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th January 2020

An excellent hotel in a superb remote location. Some people may find the interior is dated but we thought it fitted absolutely with the character of the building. Every meal was wonderful with some of the best food we have tasted. We can not praise the staff highly enough. They were a credit to the hotel and among some of the friendliest people we could wish to meet.