Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Had a great 2 night stay for murder mystery. All staff were very polite & helpful. They are run off there feet, What a great job they do. The hotel was lovely & set in a stunning place. Murder mystery was great. Actors were fantastic & we loved the treasure trail, thank god it was dry. We were newby's so didn't know what to expect. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was nice, not a bad choice on both nights & breakfast was lovely. Overall we were very happy with the choice & would recommend it.

Alistair Shields said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Very friendly staff and food availability, standard was good. Location central to town and close to Dunoon pier. Room was a reasonable size with great view ( did pay for upgrade). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Katie Hamilton said...

60%
40%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Great value, rooms need updating though.

angela day said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Staff are lovely food was great room was ideal also had requested the room as loved it on my last visit .

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2019

Having stayed at the Argyll hotel before, we knew that it was first class. Although there was a coach in from Stoke the staff were kept very busy but always had time to attend to the other customers. I believe that due to illness they were short staffed but did an excellent job, with everyone very pleasant and helpful. ,

sam mceachran said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Absolutely shocking stay. From start to finish seriously not impressed. From broken toilets to someone (staff) in my room during the night when we were sleeping to constant people in the room when not there, found blood all over the bathroom at one point, evening menu is standard, breakfast staff were horrendous. For the price it’s nowhere near the standard.

Lorraine Naules said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Lovely hotel great location staf very friendly. Room with sea view was very big and toilet also with sea view was huge. Had meals in both argyle and riot and they were superb. Breakfast fabulous and good quality. Julio makes an amazing barraqiuto. Would recommend this hotel.

Carolanne Divine said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Good hotel well worth a visit. Staff very good always helpful although a little bit more communication between themselves would be good. We were very lucky and received a complimentary upgrade to the Tower Room which is outstanding for views with Windows covering 3 walls. Food was always fresh, hot and of good quality worth visiting to just eat. Would return to hotel again if in the area and recommend for anyone.

A guest said...

44%
70%
50%
10%

Stayed 7th June 2019

On Arrival, everything seemed nice and reception staff very friendly. Rooms were basic and fine for a 2 night stay. Corridors were run down and a strange smell in stairs and corridors was off putting. Actors from the murder mystery weekend were great and very friendly. On to the meals, the meals on the Friday night were adequate and edible. The Saturday night service was terrible. One member of staff was very rude. The meals were awful , meals getting sent back due to being cold or not cooked. Based on the food and the service on the Saturday night we would not return.

carol cattanach said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th May 2019

Stay was fine but same menu every night I wouldn’t like to be staying for a week.so I had to get some food off the other menu . Portions were too much for me but great if you are a big eater staff were excellent. But hotel could do with being updated a bit rundown.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Nice staff good food hotel needing TLC but considering its age its a lovely hotel good location

Tom Docherty said...

75%
N/A
80%
70%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Been quite a few times here, always enjoy it, only problem is there is no direct bus to Glasgow so I doubt if we'll be back as often in future.

Linda young said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Arrived at hotel to be told that our reservation was still sitting in an email and they didn't know if they had a room for us. They did have a a room on floor 3 with sloping roofs that you constantly banged your head and it was single beds. Ordered evening meal starter was cold and tasteless, partner never received nana bread even thou we kept asking. Bar closed at 10.30 which for residents was little unfair. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, sat night went to rio restaurant, pasta dish was OK but the frozen processed chicken was disgusting, service was so so. Sunday house keeping knocking but check out was 11am. Staff tried their best but they need to address a lot of issues and do something about the chef.

Elizabeth Haughian said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2019

One of the nicest hotels we have been to . Great value for money. Exceptional customer service from staff .

Michael Cunningham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th March 2019

Really enjoyable break good food cosy room friendly staff - happy to return some day

Lenny Gillespie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

Once again another good weekend at The Argyll Hotel in Dunoon, the staff in the reception, dinning and lounge areas as usual were very pleasant and helpful. The manager "Dave" is everywhere, helping guests and even doing his waiter in the RIO resturant. Both restaurants have good and varied menus, the breakfast really sets you up for the day. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Dunoon and we will be back.

Lorraine Scally said...

24%
70%
0%
0%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Hotel room was lovely. The restaurant on the Friday night left a lot to be desired after requesting no garlic due to allergy out came my soup with garlic bread definitely not acceptable when asked for a dry roll and I’m still waiting.

isabel Connor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th January 2019

Had a lovely time room was excellent and so was the food there was a great choice on the menu excellent value for the money will definitely be back. Thank you x

J Richardson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th December 2018

Had a lovely 2 nights on dinner b and b deal was lovely.

G Barr said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th November 2018

No problems and staff pleasant, dining staff very attentive. Location is obviously very central. Wish I had been told that the nearest public car park (Coal Pier car park) was split in two for charging, one half free, with poor signage.

jane potts said...

50%
40%
70%
40%

Stayed 1st October 2018

Hotel was good apart from requested sea view and was told only if paid £15 premium per night. At breakfast there was only 6 other guest so can't imagine they were short of rooms. Also set menu at dinner was very limited , would have been a problem if staying for more than 2 nights.

Angela Johnson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2018

Fantastic weekend enjoyed every minute excellent value for money great rooms, food , staff

Evelyn Davidson said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2018

Loved the Argyll Hotel. The location was excellent for shops. The staff really friendly and helpful. I would recommend a sea side view. The Rio Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel is fabulous. We had our 3 nights meal there each evening. Will definitely go back. Also loved the free upgrade room from my hotel break.com

Jeanette Calderwood said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2018

Lovely break in sunny Dunoon. Hotel was good . Staff and food excellent ! Very welcoming and very attentive . Great value .

M Ross said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2018

Staff were very friendly and helpful, got an upgrade with sea view free of charge as it was my birthday, we had dinner one night which was lovely and breakfast for 2 mornings, there was plenty to choose from and plates were full, room was clean, bed was comfy and it was quiet, will go back next year again.