Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Derwentwater Hotel, Keswick

Portinscale, Keswick, CA12 5RE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

73%

A guest said...

14%
0%
0%
40%

Stayed 17th September 2021

This hotel is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, on our return home and checking the reviews on trip advisor most of the comments are very poor but very true. We upgraded to a superior lake view room 108, we were late getting there about 11pm so it was straight to bed. When we got up in the morning and saw the room in daylight it was beyond beleif. the headboard of the bed was hanging off with thick dust behind it, the curtains and pelmet were coming off, the external walls were damp, the paintwork on the walls had stains all over, the carpets had massive stains on them and the glass in the windows had failed therefore couldnt see out through them. This room was unfit to be let and dirty. On walking through the hotel in the corridors there are holes in the floor only the carpet stopping your feet going through, the balustrade on the stairs held together with crude metal straps, the paper and plaster on the walls coming away, buckets on the floor to catch water where the roof is leaking in places, I could go on and on. we were persuaded not to go home by the female manager with a room change which was not a lot better. The manager is blind to the condition of this hotel and all the negative reviews are true. This hotel should be closed untill it is fully refurbished, it poorly run, falling apart and dirty. I do have pictures of the above. Also I would question why my hotelbreak have this hotel as one of your chosen hotels, do you not vet them ? its advertised as one of your luxury hotels. I am not sure if I trust to book again after this experience. Should you wish to discuss further although not sure you will my email is heddwynhughes@hotmail.co.uk

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Great location. Ten minute walk to Keswick, and right on the water. The grounds are nice, and we are in the restaurant and it was good. Lots of friendly staff on reception and also in the bar and restaurant we did enjoy our stay and would go back...it seems like the hotel are trying to get some of the issues sorted and the location is so nice that we overlooked some of the minor issues.

A guest said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 19th August 2021

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel I was slightly worried for my stay however my mind was put at ease when me and my partner arrived on Monday evening (around 8pm due to a busy day mountain climbing). Walking through the door we were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly and helpful young lady who gave us all the information we needed about the hotel and headed up to our room - 119. Upon entering the room we could tell it was very clean and looked as though it had recently been decorated, fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a tv, freshly made double bed with clean towels folded presentably ontop, the room looked just like the ones on the pictures. Even better the bathroom consisted of both a bath and shower which was great as I needed a hot bath to soak my sore legs after a long day. We didn’t eat at the hotel as it was late and we were tired but the food looked good and even had a poster to advertise they had a 5* food hygiene rating which is always reassuring. Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay and was perfect for what we needed, great location just down the road from Keswick aswell. The hotel also has a conservatory with great views and a beautiful garden. So for anyone reading these reviews and being hesitant I recommend you make your own mind up and don’t let the views of other sway you. Great job to the derwentwater hotel would 100% stay here again.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2021

We stayed at the Derwentwater Hotel 13-16 Aug 2021 . We had a wonderful weekend. We enjoyed the aesthetics of the hotel and gardens. Hotel location - superb. Staff were polite, friendly and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable whilst being understaffed and so busy. A fantastic group of people lead by excellent management who weren’t afraid to lead by example and work with their team.Food was excellent and our rooms lovely with lake/garden views. Wish we were still there !

Carlo Rossini said...

50%
40%
60%
50%

Stayed 20th May 2021

The hotel is in a great location. Why time had not been spent doing some maintenance during lockdown is a mystery. The whole place needed cleaning. Carpets were grubby with paint stains and general detritus. The hotel was chilly as the boiler wasn’t working. The radiator in our room did not come come on until during the night, fortunately the manager had given us an electric one. I saw evidence of at least two places where the roof was leaking. Our room had not been vacuumed, the coffee cups and tray were dirty, there were no toiletries in the bathroom including no soap! On the plus side the front desk staff were nice and the serving staff were helpful although we did wait ninety minutes for our main course at dinner on the Thursday night which puzzled me as there only a few people dining. The cleaning staff should be replaced ASAP. The area is lovely though and we look forward to visiting Keswick again.

Louise Wallace said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 6th December 2020

The staff couldn’t do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The food was ok. The rooms very large with everything we needed. Fir the price we paid it was fabulous. Thank you.

Martin Bielby said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 5th December 2020

Lovely friendly Staff, Thinking the place needs some updating Each window in our room had blown ie double glazing units need replacing and room decorating, our friends stayed in a room with no heating and no , they are making a good effort to get the place going again in these difficult times

Melanie Bortoloni said...

64%
40%
90%
60%

Stayed 1st November 2020

Very tired hotel that is in desperate need of upgrading. Lovely location though and the staff were very nice.

Paul lochrie said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2020

Lovely staff . Big room but the rooms and hotel in general is in desperate need of some TLC. Though this may be in their plan as the dining and bar area's are of a better standard.

Ian lowden said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2020

Bit dated and worn but food and staff very good

Lynne Towers said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 23rd October 2020

We had a fantastic weekend, the weather was rubbish but the welcome we got at the hotel was excellent, it's not the most up to date hotel we've stayed in but it was homely and very friendly. We actually booked an extra night at the hotel. We ate at the hotel and the food was good. The views and the ground are amazing. The staff were very good and made our stay even better. I would stay there again and recommend.

Shaun Morfitt said...

54%
60%
30%
70%

Stayed 16th October 2020

Poor service in dining room, having to ask for things 2-3 times

bryan mann said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

Stayed for 2nights with 3 course meal included meal was really nice all staff really helpful we had room with luvly lake view room was a little dated but okalso the breakfast was cooked to perfection and all fresh locally produced ingredients

A guest said...

44%
10%
80%
40%

Stayed 30th September 2020

In desperate need of a refurb.

Brenda Longhorn said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Our stay was a little bit mixed comments wise. Found the hotel a bit in need of refurbishment. Hotel staff were great but didn't seem to understand the special offer we had booked under.(£25 pp towards evening meal) Evening meal was great, breakfast left a lot to be desired.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Arrived to a friendly welcome from staff. Our room was spacious clean comfortable and warm. Very peaceful setting . Views from conservatory of derwentwater and grounds lovely. We enjoyed afternoon tea there overlooking stunning views. Breakfast had great variety served attentive staff. Evening meals. Fresh produce. Presented beautifully

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th March 2020

We loved it Our room was large, warm, tastefully decorated and clean The shower wasnt up to much so we used the bath instead The hotel provides toiletries, soap, shampoo, body wash and a hair dryer and theres tea and coffee making facilities Yes certain areas could do with a lick of paint but to be fair walls continually get scuffed by suitcases etc, they'd need someone on the job daily Its is a twenty minute walk in to lovely Keswick I'd advise to take a small torch with you if you go along the bria Way short cut at night The staff were truly wonderful, all polite and hard working right up until seeing us off not knowing what their positions would be Thanks again guys Good luck to you all and stay safe

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd March 2020

Location is amazing Dog friendly Nice buffet style breakfast

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2020

Great location, friendly welcome at reception.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2020

Superb location