Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Derwentwater Hotel, Keswick

Portinscale, Keswick, CA12 5RE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Jacqueline Jameson said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd April 2022

Fantastic location. Two nights B&B with dinner on the first night was a great deal. The twin room we got was one that needed upgrading, it was very tired but the beds were comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay again.

Shaun Musgrove said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

Lovely location, just a short walk into Keswick. Lovely views from the rear grounds. Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was nice. The hotel is clean and comfortable but is about due for a bit of a spruce up. But that didn’t stop us having a great weekend and we would happily stay again.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Great location. Ten minute walk to Keswick, and right on the water. The grounds are nice, and we are in the restaurant and it was good. Lots of friendly staff on reception and also in the bar and restaurant we did enjoy our stay and would go back...it seems like the hotel are trying to get some of the issues sorted and the location is so nice that we overlooked some of the minor issues.

A guest said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 19th August 2021

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel I was slightly worried for my stay however my mind was put at ease when me and my partner arrived on Monday evening (around 8pm due to a busy day mountain climbing). Walking through the door we were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly and helpful young lady who gave us all the information we needed about the hotel and headed up to our room - 119. Upon entering the room we could tell it was very clean and looked as though it had recently been decorated, fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a tv, freshly made double bed with clean towels folded presentably ontop, the room looked just like the ones on the pictures. Even better the bathroom consisted of both a bath and shower which was great as I needed a hot bath to soak my sore legs after a long day. We didn’t eat at the hotel as it was late and we were tired but the food looked good and even had a poster to advertise they had a 5* food hygiene rating which is always reassuring. Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay and was perfect for what we needed, great location just down the road from Keswick aswell. The hotel also has a conservatory with great views and a beautiful garden. So for anyone reading these reviews and being hesitant I recommend you make your own mind up and don’t let the views of other sway you. Great job to the derwentwater hotel would 100% stay here again.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2021

We stayed at the Derwentwater Hotel 13-16 Aug 2021 . We had a wonderful weekend. We enjoyed the aesthetics of the hotel and gardens. Hotel location - superb. Staff were polite, friendly and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable whilst being understaffed and so busy. A fantastic group of people lead by excellent management who weren’t afraid to lead by example and work with their team.Food was excellent and our rooms lovely with lake/garden views. Wish we were still there !

Louise Wallace said... Hotel has replied

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 6th December 2020

The staff couldn’t do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The food was ok. The rooms very large with everything we needed. Fir the price we paid it was fabulous. Thank you.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback

Martin Bielby said... Hotel has replied

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 5th December 2020

Lovely friendly Staff, Thinking the place needs some updating Each window in our room had blown ie double glazing units need replacing and room decorating, our friends stayed in a room with no heating and no , they are making a good effort to get the place going again in these difficult times

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback, this has been duly noted

Paul lochrie said... Hotel has replied

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2020

Lovely staff . Big room but the rooms and hotel in general is in desperate need of some TLC. Though this may be in their plan as the dining and bar area's are of a better standard.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback

Ian lowden said... Hotel has replied

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2020

Bit dated and worn but food and staff very good

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback

Lynne Towers said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 23rd October 2020

We had a fantastic weekend, the weather was rubbish but the welcome we got at the hotel was excellent, it's not the most up to date hotel we've stayed in but it was homely and very friendly. We actually booked an extra night at the hotel. We ate at the hotel and the food was good. The views and the ground are amazing. The staff were very good and made our stay even better. I would stay there again and recommend.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback

bryan mann said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

Stayed for 2nights with 3 course meal included meal was really nice all staff really helpful we had room with luvly lake view room was a little dated but okalso the breakfast was cooked to perfection and all fresh locally produced ingredients

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review

Brenda Longhorn said... Hotel has replied

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Our stay was a little bit mixed comments wise. Found the hotel a bit in need of refurbishment. Hotel staff were great but didn't seem to understand the special offer we had booked under.(£25 pp towards evening meal) Evening meal was great, breakfast left a lot to be desired.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback, this has been noted

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th March 2020

Arrived to a friendly welcome from staff. Our room was spacious clean comfortable and warm. Very peaceful setting . Views from conservatory of derwentwater and grounds lovely. We enjoyed afternoon tea there overlooking stunning views. Breakfast had great variety served attentive staff. Evening meals. Fresh produce. Presented beautifully

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th March 2020

We loved it Our room was large, warm, tastefully decorated and clean The shower wasnt up to much so we used the bath instead The hotel provides toiletries, soap, shampoo, body wash and a hair dryer and theres tea and coffee making facilities Yes certain areas could do with a lick of paint but to be fair walls continually get scuffed by suitcases etc, they'd need someone on the job daily Its is a twenty minute walk in to lovely Keswick I'd advise to take a small torch with you if you go along the bria Way short cut at night The staff were truly wonderful, all polite and hard working right up until seeing us off not knowing what their positions would be Thanks again guys Good luck to you all and stay safe

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd March 2020

Location is amazing Dog friendly Nice buffet style breakfast

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2020

Great location, friendly welcome at reception.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2020

Superb location