Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

George Hotel, Chollerford

Chollerford, Chollerford, NE46 4EW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Andrew Sutton said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th March 2022

.

Robert Woods said...

67%
80%
80%
40%

Stayed 20th March 2022

Loved the location next to the river and excellently located for the attractions of Hadrian's Wall. Room was pleasant and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Evening meal in the bar was disappointing - good chips but the fish (small and mainly batter) and burger were both disappointing.

Tony Bihari said...

54%
60%
80%
20%

Stayed 18th March 2022

First impressions were good but then we went into our room. Dated furniture and the bed base was very old. I didn’t dare look at the mattress. The bar only has carlberg, tetleys and Guinness on fraught which was probably the worst kept pint I’ve had. The windows are all rotten in the restaurant and hallways. The windows were being opened all the time in the hallways to the rooms and all you could smell was chip fat burning. The breakfast was uninspiring no mushrooms no tinned tomatoes no black pudding and we waited ten minutes for fried eggs. On the Sunday there was only scrambled eggs and no other choice I asked the kitchen for eggs but I was ignored and ody came out. The evening meal was terrible I had steak and ale pie which was more like gravy pie and listed with roasted potatoes but came with boiled which wasn’t a problem if it was listed that way and a mountain of peas that was ridiculous. No other veg. I’ve read other reviews where they say we are getting the paint brushes out but you can’t paint over rotten windows. This hotel needs a lot of money spent on it. The staff are very polite which is the only good thing but there isn’t enough of them. One of the staff was helping at breakfast then cleaning the rooms totally short staffed to save money. The pool and spa is disgusting the changing rooms are awful and run down and you don’t even get towels to use not clean at all as there was a mucky ring around the pool. No robes either to use. I won’t be back. The crowne inn a 10 minute walk was lovely with a good choice of beer and good food. Show less

Paul Kirkup said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2022

Had a lovely stay, beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, especially Julie on the bar. Definitely be back.

John Wellings said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Excellent in all areas.Nice room ,very good food,good staff and in very scenic position.Absolute bargain.

danny mcguinness said...

90%
90%
90%
N/A

Stayed 12th March 2022

Very Happy with everything,would certenly go back again

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2022

Absolutely lovely. We got a great deal and the spa was a total bonus. We had some lovely walks in the beautiful surroundings and had the spa to ourselves to relax at lunch time. The breakfasts were amazing, everything you could want and more, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We’d definitely return.

Narinjan Singh said...

74%
70%
100%
50%

Stayed 9th March 2022

Nice hotel in pleasant surroundings, room was basic but clean and tidy, could do with a soap dish in the shower cubicle. Food was just ok. Staff were all excellent, very helpful, kind, curtious and polite 10/10 ??

A guest said...

74%
50%
100%
70%

Stayed 7th March 2022

Offering a set menu but some items not available. Did offer alternative though. Need to rethink tea/ coffee service in the morning Beautiful surroundings and so near Hexham

bryan mann said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th March 2022

Good 2 nite deal good price hotel looking bit tired but our room was nice with great view of gardens river and bridge meal on first nite was nice 3 courses and 2 very good breakfasts with plenty selection leisure facilities ok but need updating staff and reception very friendly overall good value for money break

Angela Thornton said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 7th March 2022

Staff were all very friendly. Room was decent size. Bed was very comfy. Lovely view of river and bridge. Leisure changing rooms were cold however Pool was lovely and warm.

A guest said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 6th March 2022

When we arrived at the hotel we were allocated a room. Unfortunately the room had not been cleaned. The bed was not changed, there was a dirty towel on the bathroom floor and the bin had not been emptied. Reception was very apologetic and gave us an upgraded room instead. The spa was very good.

Andrew Dyson said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 28th February 2022

A very pleasant location for the hotel and a room with a lovely view of the bridge and river. Staff very friendly and helpful. Disappointed that there were no biscuits in the room with the tea tray and that we had to get more milk as the room was not serviced the following day. A few stains on the walls and a little redecorating required, had to play t the teaspoons as none had been left. The bed was comfortable enough but the shower was so hot it was bordering on scalding. Attempted to turn the temperature down but it was scalding or nothing. Obviously needs some attention. Food was well presented and a plentiful breakfast although the sausage were a bit lacking. Looked like they were short staffed and several appeared to be doing several jobs at once. Worth a second visit though if we were in the area.

Fred Wonders said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd February 2022

We had a lovely stay at this hotel our room had views over the river & bridge and the countryside beyond. The room was clean and warm with the usual facilities. There was a good choice of starers ,mains & desserts on the bar and restaurants menu and there was a good choice for the buffet breakfast croissants, cereals and full English. The staff were all pleasant and very helpful nothing was a problem. It is a great place for visiting the Roman wall and Kielder water.

Steven Pringle said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2022

Really helpful staff and good customer service skills and excellent experience. Nice Hotel and value for money. Will recommend to family and friends.

Pauline Hannah said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2022

Could not fault this life very place. Good facilities good food and very clean. Staff were excellent and I would recommend this hotel for anyone's needs. Has everything and more.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th March 2020

The George Hotel made us welcome our room a little tired but very clean with all requirements you need in a hotel room the shower was fabulous. Food is all excellent plenty of variety and choice and all piping hot. The staff are all very well trained efficient and work very hard looking after everyone.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th March 2020

Pleasant experience in the countryside very relaxing ! Food nice, staff efficient and polite- nothing a bother to them! Rooms clean and warm. Lounges lovely with open fire to make it very homely! In the summer it will be heaven.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th March 2020

Just had a two night stay at The George Hotel. The view from the room was amazing, as we looked out on the river. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The bed comfortable, the room clean and warm. The food was delicious and well presented. The spa was very relaxing and the jacuzzi and pool lovely and warm, perfect to relax in after busy day sight seeing. Beautiful local walks through the fields, along the river and to nearby Roman ruins.

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 12th February 2020

The setting for the hotel was brilliant for a quiet night away. The room I had was very comfortable and modern. The bar was small but very nice and priced well. All in all a very pleasant stay. The employees were especially friendly and always willing to help and advise where needed. The dining area was a little aged and could do with modernizing but still pleasant.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2020

Liked the venue, it is sent in a beautiful location, ideal for a quite getaway. Rooms were comforable, water was hot - shower facilities good. Enjoyed the breakfast. All Staff we seen were very friendly and approachable.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

The hotel is beautifully situated . Dinner in the restaurant was very tastefull and the staff very competent and hard working.