Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Lakeside Hotel & Spa, Newby Bridge

Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge, LA12 8AT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

leslie major said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2022

We had a lovely 3 nights at the hotel. Our room was huge, although slightly disappointed with the view. Classed as “courtyard” view (which sounded nice) but it was the back staff entrance! On DBB rate there is a £44 allowance which allowed 3 courses. Everything we had was lovely and staff attentive. The menu didn’t change while we were there. There are lots of lovely seating areas around, both inside and out, with beautiful views of the lake. We took the boat trip to Bo’ness which was well worth doing. We didn’t do the steam train, although we saw it come in. Heard the aquarium was worth a visit but didn’t do that either. This is a cashless hotel. A service charge is added to your food bill, which, as long as it gets to staff I was happy with. Another charge is a £5 a night room supplement which I didn’t agree with. You can have this removed from your bill on request. We were glad we checked our final bill before departure as we had been overcharged, but this was resolved at reception. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lakeside, and hope to return again.

Leslie Nixon said...

60%
90%
20%
70%

Stayed 7th August 2022

Very good hotel perfect location .Service slow for a cream tea .Coffee arrived after we finished food .No cups .8 mins later cups arrived mmm Even meal very good no issues. Second night meal at 18.30 ordered soup and Spare ribs well done .After 1 hour asked where food was .Told that well done takes this time .One hour 17 mins food finally arrived. Okay but not worth the wait .Spoiled our meal

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st May 2022

Fantastic relaxing hotel spoilt only by a noisy child.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 1st April 2022

I totally respect all the reviews so far but I have to say, our stay went really smoothly. We booked a courtyard view junior suite and the room was excellent for us. Comfy bed for the adults and separate kids room with bunk bed and TV. Lovely free standing bath with waterfall shower, loads of towels and adult bathrobes and slippers for going to the pool and spa. We decided not to have housekeeping after the first full day and they left a considerate note under our door to say that they acknowledged the Do Not Disturb sign and that if we required anything, to call them plus if we wanted the room serviced to contact them before 15:00...and that was a Sunday. Nice touch. The room was clean, warm and didn't have any damp smell or stuffiness about it which was lovely. Housekeeping on day two was efficient and thorough. Quality toiletries using The products. We didn't find the decor dated but granted there's a contrast between our suite and the modern spa/pool area. Perhaps an improvement would be a mini fridge in the room particularly as it's a suite and families might have milk, snacks etc for children that would require a fridge. We expected not to have a view of the lake so the view of the hotel roof didn't bother us - we were only in the room to sleep! Didn't notice any other noise from below, beside or underneath us so a well sound proofed room - which is good for our neighbours considering the volume of our kids! Reception staff were warm and welcoming. We didn't need the valet parking or porter to help with bags. There are two spaces directly outside the hotel and then there's the pay and display car park adjacent to the hotel which we used for 5 mins to unload then load back up the car. The car park voucher you receive does actually allow you to park for free in this car park from 15:30 but not overnight. The car park behind the aquarium where you can leave your car overnight is only a short walk away, no big deal. One staff member was great and showed us where the games room was for the kids. That's an excellent little room with pool, air hockey, table football, cinema room etc. by the way. We had dinner and breakfast in the conservatory for two nights/mornings which was excellent with the lake view and then the other times we are inside the dining room which also felt pleasant. Attentive staff, all orders correct, drinks came before the food, bread rolls served before starters arrived, kids meals came when asked etc. All good for us on this front. Lamb rack (though not sure it warranted an £8 supplement), onion risotto and pork tenderloins were tasty. Steak was a letdown due to them cooking it like a BBQ steak so the meaty taste was replaced by the charcoal aroma. Shame. Cheese soufflé, salmon and Caesar salad starters were good and pano cotta, sticky toffee pudding and strawberry soufflé decent. Overall, good value for money on the DBB deal. Drinks were on the more expensive side but my wife enjoyed her flight of wine which was better value than getting wine by the glass. Children's meals were good - spaghetti and fish n chips in particular. Breakfast was tasty too. The continental selection isn't extensive which was a shame and whilst it's nice to have table service, I think it's better to let guests fill up their own juice - took too long waiting for waiters to come back to refill glasses or so you could have a selection of OJ, gfruit, tomato etc. Just leave them out for self service - including water - I'm sure the waiting staff would find that easier too! The food from the kitchen was decent and the traditional breakfast cooked well. Tried the smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and sourdough but didn't think much of it. Finally, the spa/pool was superb. For a family holiday, this was the selling point for us and didn't let us down. Not many staff to be seen so parents need to keep an eye on their kids. Pool is not deep though but supervision always best policy. Good changing rooms with plenty of towels though it's acceptable to walk to/from in your robe (the same staff member who showed us the games room also showed us the discreet way to access the spa/pool from our room). Quality toiletries using Molten Brown products. Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all in good working order and decent pool temperature. Lots of space with a shallow section for younger ones. A couple of loungers and chairs dotted around the pool. Outdoor seats with heaters and fire were lovely, as well as the indoor seats by the spa reception where you can look out to the lake if you didn't want to sit outside. Loved the modern design of the spa/pool and added some wow factor. I can appreciate couples being disheartened when they have to share the facilities with noisy families. They do have adult only times after 19:00 but it's unfair to impose restrictions on families at other times. In summary, I was expecting a bumpy visit but was glad to avoid this and it turned out to be a really pleasant stay and good value fo

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th March 2022

We've stayed at the Lakeside many times over the years, initially with our 2 children and now as a couple. We stayed in one of the lodges for the first time which was excellent. We could park the car right outside the door. Not sure why people complain about parking behind the aquarium, it's a 2 min walk if that and it's free for your whole stay. Was a bit worried initially when I heard the hotel was under new ownership. Fortunately a lot of the old staff are still there and they try their best to help everyone. I think they were under staffed on our first mornings breakfast service as we had to wait quite a while for service. Not a big deal as the was nothing to rush for. Pool was great even though there were a lot of children in. Evening meals were good. Over all a totally relaxing couple of nights

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2022

An excellent break at this fantastic hotel overlooking Lake Windermere High quality service from wonderful staff with high quality restaurant as well Room view over the Lake was amazing Well done everyone for making our stay so memorable

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th March 2022

Breakfast, dining, spa facilities, location and service all great. Attention to detail in rooms excellent including good quality sheets, biscuits, tea and coffee, tea pot, robes, slippers, bone china, plus superb views all big pluses.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2022

Loved the location ,restaurant was excellent! fabulous menu and top class food . breakfast too was fab . lovely staff .lovely comfortable room with an amazing view . bed was super comfy ! and very peaceful ?? spa is very tired , such a shame I feel as if this was attended to it really could be 5 star . a little bit of paint would even help .

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2022

Spacious rooms (family room with bunkbed), free parking, free to use games room (air hockey, small pool table for kids), foosball, heated Swimming pool, Sauna rooms and Jacuzzi. Onsite Spa available but was fully booked, should book together when booking your hotel. Lakeside Pier & Lakes Aquarium are right at the doorstep. Wonderful staff, always smiling!!!