Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston

Preston New Road, Preston, PR5 0UJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Sybil Jones said...

60 %
80%
20%
80%

Stayed 21st May 2024

Our first impression was not good. The male receptionist was talking to another member of staff and he continued his conversation whilst he checked us in therefore having virtually no communication with us. We did not feel welcome. Later we decided to change our time of dinner from 7pm to 7.30, this same receptionist told us 7.30 was fully booked but we could do 7.15. This appeared not to be true as there were only 4 tables in use all through our meal. There were no smiles ever from reception when we entered the hotel at any time during our 2 night stay. The rest of the staff were verbally polite but ody went out of their way to be helpful. We shall not be going back.

Caroline Hunter said...

47 %
30%
40%
70%

Stayed 3rd May 2024

The Hotel room was dated, in need of a good clean and some TLC. There was what looked like blood on a pillow, a hole in the duvet cover, there was only one door on the wardrobe, the sink was coming away from the wall, there was a hole in the bathroom door where a hook should be, the armchairs were worn and dirty, dirty marks on the walls and floors and duat you could write your name in on the headboard, very disappointing for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, would not recommend.

Brian Northall said...

84 %
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st March 2024

The offer we experienced was good value but the hotel’s Wi-Fi and TV was poor for a McDonald hotel.

A guest said...

90 %
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2023

A good location. Room basic but spotless. Food : good choice and extremely well prepared. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Good value for money for our two night break

Gordon Brown said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2023

We had a lovely stay despite the weather. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent. The same at breakfast. We couldn't fault it. The bar prices were expensive at £10 for a glass of wine and the room was a bit tired and in need of a refurbishment but overall it was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay

Tok Olateju said...

70 %
40%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd November 2023

Excellent stay. Good DBB for 2 nights. Good size room and bath. Menu excellently put together. Can’t fault our stay

A guest said...

74 %
60%
100%
60%

Stayed 27th October 2023

Sadly disappointed … after a slow 7 hour slog on the M6 we thought we would treat ourselves to something better than a travelodge. I won’t go into details as all Our feedback was taken onboard by management on departure and hopefully they will act but too late for us. Expected more from the MacDonald Hotel group as have had lovely stays at other hotels.

les BALMER said...

84 %
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th August 2023

An old building close to services but with nice views from lounge and restaurant of the River Ribble.Also seating area outside. An enjoyable stay with pleasant staff.

Judith Field said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2023

Very pleased with stay at this hotel from receptionist on arrival Room lovely & clean , Comfy bed ,Amenities ,tea coffee milk ice buckeer jug ,hairdryer even an iron + board if needed Restaurant was fab with views & patio The food as perfectly prepared & cooked to our liking would definitely stay again

David McIntosh said...

77 %
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 27th July 2023

Hotel was very clean rooms were clean we were on dinner bed and breakfast and at dinner you got £25 towards dinner so for that money there wasn’t much choices but what I did have was great drinks that we had was very expensive we only had one drink so I think they need to look at that and breakfast plates were very hot but food was look warm which was disappointing

Lesley Marsden said...

80 %
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 29th June 2023

Overall the hotel was very nice. Was very disappointed with the evening food menu. No a la carte menu and was not informed of how much we would have towards dinner as our booking with yourselves said 3 course table d'hote which was all that was available. Got charged a further £26

Christina Coe said...

67 %
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 20th May 2023

Check in was easy receptionists explained where dining room was and gave us choice of wine which was brought upstairs strsight away, Overnight stay was fine room nice separate bath and shower which I liked furniture needed a good dust, bed was really comfy great nights sleep, got hotel on blue star deal which was 3 course dinner breakfast and bottle of wine, but at dinner was told just £25 each which was dissapointing wasn't an extensive menu to select from, would stay again for a stop over on way to somewhere

Keith Butler said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2022

The beds were comfortable and the rooms adequate. The corridors are in urgent need of redecoration. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was good

Sandra Elliott said...

54 %
50%
70%
40%

Stayed 8th August 2022

Lovely big bed dirty cup with biscuit paper in it only one hand towel and bath towel for two people breakfast was OK

A guest said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2022

Stayed over last week and very surprised with the level of service . Ben the restaurant man . Made me feel very welcome brought my food out in a timely manner . And the food omg tasted so fresh . I went back the next night . Sat in the restaurant with a stunning view of the river

A guest said...

90 %
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st June 2022

Nice clean hotel, staff excellent nothing too much trouble. Best o was Summer on the bar and restaurant. The knowledge and customer service skills were superb. She made the visit to the hotel really enjoyable. Also I must mention a lady who was there training the staff at the hotel. She was an excellent ambassador for the Mcdonald group. The only problem was she supported Manchester United.

A guest said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2022

The rooms were a little dated but they were very clean, the elemis toiletries were a nice touch as well. The staff were super friendly and helpful, even managing to arrange dinner for us when it was busy. The immediate area round the hotel is actually quite nice, we stayed here as a stop off on our travels and it was nice to go a walk along the river.

A guest said...

87 %
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th May 2022

The room itself was a bit old and worn, but was clean and had a good view of the river. We had drinks and a meal and while I'd consider them to be a bit pricey, they weren't madly expensive either. Breakfast was nice and plenty of choice. It was self service, which I'd imagine can get a bit chaotic when it's busy, but at 8 am on a Sunday it was fine. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful

A guest said...

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2022

Fabulous bed and linen. Nice walking around the hotel. Fabulous welcoming receptionist Rosie - a real credit to the company. And the Duty Manager this morning - she was so friendly and helpful. All the staff exceptionally good to be honest. Perfect hotel in a fabulous location enroute back from Scotland. Would highly recommend. Breakfast delicious too. Thank you.

A guest said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st May 2022

The hotel is very conveniently sited for access to the M6. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a pleasant view out over the River Lune. Breakfast was very good.