Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Avonbridge Hotel, Hamilton

Carlisle Road, Hamilton, ML3 7DB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

84 %
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th January 2024

We had a very enjoyable stay last weekend with friends. Food was delicious, rooms comfortable and Bar Milano was a nice additional feature within the hotel where we enjoyed a few drinks after dinner & listened to the DJ. No complaints and very good value for money. Would definatley return.

David Mcdonald said...

77 %
70%
60%
100%

Stayed 12th January 2024

Got a great deal and the food was excellent and the pub Bar Milano had a good atmosphere

A guest said...

87 %
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th January 2024

Hotel very good classic room bed was very uncomfortable apart from the bad room was alright

alan docherty said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th December 2023

Enjoyed our night in the hotel.

A guest said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2023

Fabulous stay. Amazing food and great service. The girls at reception were really helpful. Food was delicious. Really cannot fault it. Will definitely be back!

Linda Aitken said...

67 %
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2023

Hotel was warm n welcoming! Room was basic but the 2 single beds were awful worst nights sleep I have had in a hotel. There was also a function on and the noise at 130-2am was awful. Food was good and breakfast was nice buffet but beds would put me off staying again

Andrea Mitchell said...

90 %
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2023

Lovely overnight stay on Saturday 28th October. We had a DBB deal with wine - very good value for money. Dinner menu had good choices although reduced options from the main restaurant menu but still very tasty. Room was clean and tidy. Only issue was we were at the back of the hotel and there was a Halloween party on so it was a bit noisy. Staff were extremely helpful and cheery. Would go back for another stay but request a different room.

A guest said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th September 2023

Lovely hotel food was lovely definitely be back

Beverly dickson said...

84 %
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th September 2023

Great place food top notch big portions . Room was a bit tired and the disco went onto midnight but couldn't complain about the price at all .

Allan Hopkinson said...

84 %
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th September 2023

Enjoyed our over night in this lovely hotel

raymond gordon said...

24 %
0%
30%
40%

Stayed 2nd September 2023

The rooms were dirty. The staff were nice. The food was nice. The menu wasn’t what it was showing online but not a massive problem. The other to couple in the party had rooms that were 100 times worse though. All in it wasn’t great experience but I guess you get what you pay for

Kris Cairns said...

34 %
10%
40%
50%

Stayed 2nd September 2023

Bed was clean room and bathroom was disgusting

A guest said...

60 %
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2023

The hotel was lovely. The staff were lovely. It was a very limited menu for dinner. The room wasn't the cleanest, black mould on silicone around bath, large stain on curtain in bedroom and the carpet had came away from strip between bedroom and bathroom. And it rained heavily and the Rome was obviously damaged as the water was running down window.

A guest said...

84 %
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2023

Every part of the hotel stay was very pleasant ,the room was nice but we never got much rest because the toilet cistern was broken water just kept running all night very annoying in the morning the reception said they would look into it, no real great apology

A guest said... Hotel has replied

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2023

Best deal ever, fantastic hotel. Limited choice of food but huge portions and delicious. Staff were all amazing and helpful. Lovely hotel. Recommended to loads of my friends

Hotel reply...

Best deal ever, fantastic hotel. Limited choice of food but huge portions and delicious. Staff were all amazing and helpful. Lovely hotel. Recommended to loads of my friends

mary mclean said...

84 %
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2023

When we arrived we were given the key to our room which was on the 1st floor and there was no lift which it should on the website, this caused a problem as my husband is visually impaired and I have mobility problems

Raymond Gunderson said...

84 %
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2023

My wife and I had a good two nights stay. Food and staff were very good,professional friendly and smiling. Like some other reviewers I agree that the rooms are a bit dated but not uncomfortable.

Peter Muir said...

75 %
70%
N/A
80%

Stayed 6th August 2023

Friendly staff. Tasty food. Great value.

Jac Mac said...

80 %
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2023

Stayed at The Avonbridge Hotel recently on a MyHotelBreak.com deal which was £90 for 2 people to stay and included 3 course dinner, bottle of wine and breakfast and a late check out of 12pm. Has a really enjoyable stay, the rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities, miniature toiletries, additional pillows and covers and adequate wardrobe space. There was also no issues getting the car parked in the hotel car park. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, there was a menu specific to the deal but had several choices of starters, mains and desserts. I opted for minestrone soup, Pollo Milanese and Tmisu which was delicious and washed down with a bottle of rose wine which was part of the deal. We also had a couple of tails that were really nice and priced around £7.50 each. Found all the staff from reception staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping and bar staff to be friendly & helpful. Good service provided overall. We ended the night in Bar Milano were a DJ was playing, it was really busy and there was a really good atmosphere. Had a good, comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast the following morning was a help yourself buffet breakfast which included cereal, fruit, juices, sausages, poached, friend or scrambled eggs, potato scones, bacon, browns, mushrooms, beans and toast. Again very enjoyable. Overall a good value for money enjoyable stay and I would definitely return.

Angela Waddell said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2023

We spent 2 nights at The Avonbridge Hotel and we had a great time. Check-in was quick, however when we entered our room there was another couple in there who said they had just been moved there as there room was not ready yet. Went back to reception and was told that our room would be ready in a couple of minutes, which it was. SInce we were expecting a bottle of wine in our room on arrival we mentioned this and very quickly someone appeared at our door with the wine in ice with glasses - great touch. The ground floor room (4) itself was basic but its all we needed and for the price we paid was great. It had the added bonus of a jacuzzi bath which was was in good working order - loved it. The room was clean, the linen and towels were of good quality. Our view however was a wall, where staff often walked passed. However this did not impede our stay. We were very confused initially that we could not find the light switch for the en-suite, but was told it is sensor activited. I am assuming that this is to save energy, but became inconvenient for us at night, when entering and the bright light came on. Maybe a timer would have been better, so it gives the customer a bit of control. All staff were very attentive and helpful - lots of smiles and happy staff which is nice to see. We were on the DBB package and were not told that this comes with a bottle of wine, when being seated on the first night we were asked which wine we would like, as this wasn't fully explained to us we ordered a glass of wine and a beer, we were charged for these drinks which is fine but if we had been told we were entitled to the wine it would not have cost us anything. Maybe we should have been told this at check-in or specifically told when we were seated at the table, which would solve this issue. We clarified the bottle of wine situation for the second night, which was great. The food from the set menu was really good on both nights, especially the minestrone soup, steak pie, burger and sticky toffee pudding. The meals were well presented and quick service. It is great that you can have your meal in the Bar Milano as well as the main dining area. Breakfast was fine, but was very chaotic despite lots of staff about. Both mornings we had to ask for things, such as a plate, coffee / cold drinks as they had ran out, fruit and hot food were not replenished quick enough. In my opinion there should have been a staff member based at the breakfast station at all times checking and replenishing. Saying that when we asked they were brought as quickly as they could, it was never a problem for them. We arrived 45 mins before the end of breakfast so I would expect most things to still be there and still available. All in all we did have a great trip, and will be back. The food was nice and staff were even nicer, which is a credit to all hotel staff. The value of our stay was amazing, thank you. xx

Isabel Archibaldd said...

67 %
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th July 2023

We stayed for 1 night. First impressions were great, We stayed in room 50. Room was dirty, stain on carpet which looked like coffee, splattered up wall & skirting, carpet didn’t look hoovered, bathroom had mould round shower, dirty towel on back of bathroom door & bin not emptied in the bathroom. Reported to receptionist & she was very nice. She asked me to email the photos I had taken to her & offered 20% off as no other rooms available. She then went & cleaned what she could in the room (as no access to cleaning store) Staff very friendly couldn’t fault them. Food was great. But I won’t be booking again.

Gary N Lisa Stevenson said...

67 %
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 22nd July 2023

Rooms in the hotel part of building very dated and dark .hotel was busy in restaurant and service was slow didn't have enough staff on but food was good .would try again but ask for a room in priory or Kirkland's to see what they were like

A guest said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2023

Enjoy am I overnight stay would recommend the hotel to all

Patricia Kerr said...

87 %
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2023

Very much enjoyed out 2 night stay at the avonbridge, we have stayed before, we booked the deal for for 3 course evening meal and was not disappointed, the food was lovely, as was lunch on the second day, would definetley stay again.

Yvonne Stuart said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd July 2023

From the minute we walked through the door, the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Ate in the bar on the first night as main restaurant wasn't open, food and staff were just lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel.